Education: EDUC 1077: Learning and cognition

Assignment 1 - Essay Parts 1 & 2

Finding resources for Assessment 1 - Essay. (Part 1 & 2)

The essay is broken into two parts. Each essay part will address the following areas for your selected theory/topic.Define and briefly explain the key concepts of your chosen theory/topic which are significant to understanding children’s/young people’s learning and development

  • Explain how these concepts support the development and learning of children/young people
  • Critically reflect on how these concepts will inform your developing educational pedagogy (how you teach)
  • Outline the strengths and limitations that have been identified for your chosen theory/topic.

Choose from the following theory options:
1. Piaget’s Cognitive Development Theory
2. Vygotsky’s Socio-cultural Theory
3. Behaviourism
4. Bandura’s Social Cognitive Theory
5. Attachment Theory
6. Bronfenbrenner's Bio-ecological Systems Theory
7. Information Processing Theory

Unpacking the question.

  • Decide on the the theory you want to research. (If you are uncertain do some general searching around educational learning theories to discover which of them appeal to you most.) 
  • What are the key aspects of the theories?
  • What is your understanding of these theories? 
  • How do these theories apply to educational practice?
  • How will understanding these theories influence the decisions you make about the way you will teach and manage a classroom?
  • Consider these theories in relationship to your specialisation  (Early childhood, Primary, Middle School, Secondary) 
  • Define and briefly explain the key concepts of your chosen theory/topic which are significant to understanding children’s/young people’s learning and development
  • Explain how these concepts support the development and learning of children/young people
  • Critically reflect on how these concepts will inform your developing educational pedagogy (how you teach)
  • Outline the strengths and limitations that have been identified for your chosen theory/topic.
Loading

Keywords and Phrases

  • human development, child development, psychology, lifespan, cognition, cognitive styles, educational psychology, learning theories
  • Zone of Proximal Development, macrosystem, modeling, social cognition, executive function, working memory or imitation
  • constructivism, ecological systems theory, Piaget's theory, sociocultural approaches, social learning theory, Vygotsky, Bandura, social cognitive theory,
  • attachment theory, attachment behaviour, attachment
  • Bronfenbrenner, Bio-ecological Systems Theory,
  • primary, elementary, children, school
  • secondary, high school, middle school, junior high school, early childhood, preschool
  • "Theory Practice Relationship" "theory and practice"

Here are some, what other keywords can you think of?

Study Help

L3: Student Hub

Study Help Resources include

  • Essay writing: An online workshop to help you understand the task, the structure and the content of an essay.
  • Academic skills: Further advice on writing, presenting and Academic Integrity

Tips for getting started

The research process has a number of stages.  The four this guide focuses on are:

Plan | Search l  Evaluate  |  Record

Most people ignore planning and jump straight into searching, yet planning is essential for effective searching.  As part of the planning process consider:

  • What do you already know about the topic?  What do you need to explore further?
  • What types of information do you need?  Does it need to be current can you use websites?
  • Which theories will you focus on?
  • Which parts of your argument need references as supporting evidence?
  • Identify key concepts in your topic.  These will help you decide which keywords to use when searching.  Think of synonyms (related keywords) you could also use when searching.
  • Use the course readings, handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries or reliable websites to understand the key concepts.

Video icon by no real name given CCLicence Attribution 2.0 Generic, Image source: flickr  http://www.flickr.com/photos/xisha/5502041378/Watch - Think. Plan. Discover. Why Keywords Matter for tips about choosing keywords and searching for information (1 min 30 sec).

Need scholarly information? Not sure what that means or how to find it? 


Watch or read 

Although you may use the following resources to provide you with background information or an overview of your topic, avoid referring to them in your essay.

  • Course lecture and seminar notes
  • TV programs
  • Anecdotal comments or conversations
  • YouTube, Facebook

Is your information relevant or reliable?  Not sure whether to use the information you have found?   There are some simple ways to evaluate your results.


Watch   You be the Judge: learn to evaluate

You will find a range of material which need to be assessed to see if it is actually useful to include.  The following criteria will help you make decisions about the material that you are trying to assess.

The CRAAP Test was developed by the Meriam Library at California State University to help you evaluate the information you find. This information has been adapted from the Evaluating Information - Applying the CRAAP Test by California State University 

Jason Grant 'Roadmap to referencing', January 2013 [Image source: UniSA Library]

Need help referencing? Follow the roadmap!

What do you do with all those references you have found?  The Library has two bibliographic management tools that you can use to keep your references in order and all in the one location. 

The Library supports two Referencing tools:

Watch Manage your references - tools that can help you, decide which tool is best for you and then get started. 

Loading

Searching

To find journal articles you can either search the Library Catalogue or relevant Library Databases.

Catalogue search examples:

Results are limited to Show Only "Peer Reviewed".  As 'peer review' usually applies only to journal articles, limiting further by Format Journal article is not necessary


Database search examples:

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, ERIC, and Education Research CompleteYou can search these databases simultaneously through the platform EBSCOhost.

EBSCOhost search

Below are several key databases for your research in education.  Check the complete list of databases with Education content for more.

Beyond Google for your research will provide further help and tips with searching.

Google Scholar is another great resource for you. Always access Google Scholar through the Library pages so you will be directed to the full text document if we have it.

[Andrew Fitzsimon, "Thumbnail", Image Source: Open Clip Art Library http://www.openclipart.org/detail/25565, CC0 1.0 http://creativecommons.org/publicdomain/zero/1.0/]You will find books along with articles by searching the Library Catalogue. You can refine your search using the limiters in the left hand column.

For example:

"cognitive theory" learning  - conduct the search. From the Refine options on the left hand side select Book under the heading Format.

Want help with managing ebooks?   Go to the Ebook Guide for help with downloading, printing and more.

Footprints [Image source: Open Clip Art Library, http://openclipart.org/detail/34681/architetto----tante-orma-sulla-neve-by-anonymous, CC0 1.0, http://creativecommons.org/publicdomain/zero/1.0/]

Tips for finding relevant journal articles!

   >> What are the most frequently used databases you are directed to when you do a catalogue search?
        Could you try searching in one of these databases?

   >>What subjects are appearing under the Search Terms menu in your Catalogue results?
        Could some of these terms be useful in further searches?

   >>If you have found a useful article, look at:
            - any author supplied keywords / subjects given.
            - any useful terms found in the Abstract or full text which you could use 
               to improve your search.
            - who the author has cited. Check the reference list!

[Horia Varlan, 'Question mark made of puzzle pieces', CC Licence: CC BY 2.0, (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/), Image source: flickr (http://www.flickr.com/photos/horiavarlan/4273168957/)]

 

Remember to look at the Help screens within the Library Catalogue and the Library's Databases for search tips and help!

 

Loading

Peer Assisted Study Sessions (PASS)

PASS image - Image source: UniSAThe Peer Assisted Study Sessions (PASS) program is:

  • run by students who have excelled in particular courses
  • assist with your understanding of course content
  • relaxed and informal environment
  • FREE! - no need to book check the timetable and attend any session!
Sessions for EDUC1077: Learning and Cognition held at Magill, Mawson Lakes and online.
 
Click on the link below to view the timetable