Education: Teaching resources

Teaching Resources

Teaching Resources

See the amazing selection of resources available for lesson planning and teaching

Big Ants

Reading kits

Primary Connections

Covering a range of Science subjects

Magnets

Playing with magnets

Magnifying Glass

What do you see?

Mix and Match

Use a film, big book and puzzle to prepare a class.

Puppets

Puppets are a great way to communicate

Teaching Resource Collection (TRC)

The physical Teaching Resource Collection is located on two campuses:

  • Level 2 in the Mawson Lakes Library at the western end of the old building (near the toilets). TRC Shelving {UniSA Library image]
  • North wing of the Magill Library (when you enter the library keep walking straight ahead)

Resources from the TRC may be requested and collected at another campus.  Registered Off Campus Library Service (OCLS) users can request TRC items in the same way as they request books and other materials.

Don't forget - we have a growing collection of online resources.

The Teaching Resource Collection (TRC) provides examples of materials used by teachers in their active teaching.

Students can use materials from the collection to plan and prepare for field placements within schools. Books with lesson plans and ideas are also available.  It gives a realistic idea of how these resources can enhance teaching and learning.

TRC materials can be borrowed by any members of UniSA Library, including alumni members.

If you see or use a resource while you are on placement we want to know. Email Library-EASS-Team@unisa.edu.au with the details of the resource(s) and the Library will endeavour to add it to the Teaching Resource Collection.

Loading

What is in the Collection?

Need a jigsaw?  Road signs? Counters? Picture books? Science equipment?  Puppets? Mineral samples? A cubby house construction kit? Lesson ideas? These and more are held in the TRC at Magill and Mawson Lakes.

[Ark-multilayer puzzle courtesy UniSA Library]

 

Here's a sample of what you will find:

Loading

See the latest videos held by the Library in the field of mathematics.  More and more of our videos are streamed for online viewing, others are held in the collection in DVD format.

It is also worth browsing the shelves - look for math materials in the 510 Dewey range.

Loading

Global Education Kit "History: Small Objects, Big Stories"  Image Source: UniSA

The Global Education Project was a government funded national project.  Funding for this service has ceased and many of the resources held by the Global Education Centre Adelaide are now available through the UniSA Library.  The website is available for a short time and contains online resources around Global Issues. 

 

Resources include kits based around a topic such as Water, History, Food and Health.  Kits are shelved separately from the other TRC resources and are filed by year level: Early Years, Primary, Middle and Secondary. 

 

ARTS:LIVE (Logo used with permission www.artslive.com.au)Arts:Live is is an engaging, interactive teaching and learning platform for the arts curriculum

ARTS:LIVE offers pre-service teachers access to highly practical, theory-based education resources across all Australian Curriculum art forms of music, media arts, dance, drama, and visual arts. 

How do you access Arts:Live?

  1. The first time you access Arts:Live you need to go through the UniSA Database page. Arts:Live
  2. Select the Online link: Available via Arts:Live
  3. You will be prompted to authenticate using your UniSA username and password
  4. You need to register (create an account). It is important that you use your UniSA email address to do this. You can make up your own password.
  5. Once you have done this, you will no longer need to go through the University for future access.

Story Box Library is like an online ‘reading room’. It’s a place where the wonderful world of Australian Children’s Literature is on permanent exhibit.Story Box Library Logo, Used by Permission. Image Source: Story Box Library (https://storyboxlibrary-com-au.access.library.unisa.edu.au/assets/Uploads/SBL-logo-hires.jpg)

The main intention? To deliver the precious experience that sharing a book entails.

Story Box Library provides a vibrant, interactive experience via a diverse range of everyday Australian storytellers - sportspeople, musicians, grandparents, teenagers, comedians, actors, with varying accents and from different cultures - each sharing past and present book titles. The result is meaningful, entertaining readings that focus on both teller and tale.

Loading

Finding resources to support your teaching

If your placement is outside the Adelaide metropolitan area then you may be eligible for Off Campus Library Services which includes free return postage.  Get in touch with Ask the Library by email, chat or telephone (1300 137659 local call cost from a fixed line) to enquire about this.

RECOMMEND A RESOURCE:  if you see or use a great resource while on your placement please let the Library know so we can try to add it to the collection for other students to use.  Send your suggestion to: Library-EASS-Team@unisa.edu.au.

Don't forget to look at the online resources available to you.

There are also a range of resources available to help prepare for Professional Placement.  If you would like to talk to a Learning Advisor about these resources or you have concerns about communicating with teaching mentors please make an appointment through Campus Central.

Search the Library Catalogue. 

1. Enter a keyword for the topic you wish to find and add the phrase "study and teaching"

Most teaching resources will have a subject added that includes the broad teaching level.  For instance:"Study and teaching (Early childhood)", "Study and teaching (Primary)", "Study and teaching (Secondary)"

Try one of the following searches and see how these might appear in the subject headings:
magnets "study and teaching"       science "study and teaching" (secondary)

2. Refine your search using one of the following options:

  • Show only:  Library Collection
  • Show only: fulltext online

3. Refine your search using one or more of the following options: (choose More if this option does not appear in the immediate list) 

  • Format /
    • Other -  includes kits (multi-part resources), three dimensional toys, games and other non-book items.
    • Media - physical DVDs and CDs or streamed film and audio files.
  • Subject / 
    • Picture books or other area of interest - choose More to see a full list (or try "Big book" as a search term)
    • Other useful Subject search terms are Picture books, Juvenile literature, Juvenile fiction
  • Collection /
    • Magill Teaching Resource Collecton or / Mawson Lakes Teaching Resource Collection 
    • The prefix TRC appears in front of the Dewey number of items in the physical collection. 

Note: subject searches may also retrieve older materials from the History of Primary Education (HOPE) Collection (identified by a call number with the prefix HOPE). If you do not want these older materials in your search results, you can either sort your results by date to see the most recent items, or can use the Collection limit to exclude them.

Loading

Recommended web site

Online resources

Loading

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander resources

Loading

Interactive Whiteboards

Interactive whiteboard at Magill Library [Image Source UniSA Library]

The Library has one bookable room equipped with SMART boards: 

  • Mawson Lakes Library (C2-13)
  • Magill (A2-12)

Try looking in the Library catalogue for resources to use with an interactive whiteboard e.g. whiteboard "study and teaching"