Social Work and Human Services: WELF 1014 Human Service Provision

Key steps

Hands and puzzle pieces [CC0 Public Domain http://creativecommons.org/publicdomain/zero/1.0/deed.en, Pixabay http://pixabay.com/en/pieces-of-the-puzzle-mix-hands-592798/]

Human Service Provision - Essay Plan, Annotated Bibliography and Essay

| Work out what information you need |

| Decide where and how to search for that information |

| Evaluate what you find for relevance and reliability |

| Record and organise what you find |

Your assessments

Requirements and expectations

When undertaking an essay assessment such as this it is expected that:

  • you will follow-up on the recommended resources - find and read/view materials referred to in your course information
  • you will go beyond your set readings - in your references, show your knowledge of the broader literature available on the topic, including awareness of a variety of viewpoints/interpretations
  • references will be academic (scholarly)

Essay topics

Topic 1

With reference to either the Charity Organisation Societies or the Settlement Movement (Chenoweth & McAuliffe, 2015, p.34), discuss the relevance of their underpinning ideas to the development of human services in Australia.

Topic 2

'Given the history of European colonisation of Australia, many Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are wary of white institutions and social welfare' (Chenoweth & McAuliffe, 2015, p. 268). Identify and discuss one or two policies or pieces of legislation that may have impacted on Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people and how the effects can be seen today.

Loading

Topic 1 - Foundations of Australian human services

origins social work
social service history
welfare history
charity organisation society
welfare australia history
settlement houses
poverty welfare australia
social reform social work
undeserving poor
community social work settlement movement

Catalogue tips

  • keep searches simple
  • search for the key ideas - do not enter the whole essay question in the search box or include instruction words such as 'discuss'

Tip: follow the references

If you find a relevant publication, look at the cited or recommended references. Do any of these look relevant? If so, search in the Library Catalogue.

For example:

Finding a publication from a reference list - example [Image source: UniSA Library]

Loading

Essentials

Use the Catalogue to search across much of the material in the Library's collection.

Depending on what you need to find, and how comprehensive you need to be in your search, you may also need to use specialised databases. The Informit collection of databases will help find publications focused on Australian society.

Reflect and planMap [tzunghaor, 'treasure map', CC License: CC0 1.0 http://creativecommons.org/publicdomain/zero/1.0/, Image Source: Open Clip Art Library http://www.openclipart.org/detail/120607/treasure-map-by-tzunghao]"

Planning your search can save time by helping you to find appropriate, relevant material more quickly.

  • What do you already know about your topic? What do you need to explore further
  • Define key terms using a subject-specific reference such as a dictionary
  • What relevant theories apply to your topic?
  • A general overview of the topic or an aspect of the topic can be a good starting point - use your readings and reference/introductory books
  • Have tutors, lecturers or other students recommended author names/publication titles?
  • Which parts of your argument need references as supporting evidence?

The search terms you use can make a big difference to what you find

  • What are the key concepts/ideas in your topic? The key concepts will help you to decide which 'keywords' to use when searching
  • What alternative terms and synonyms might help to find relevant material? Consider:
    • alternative spellings
    • professional and discipline-specific vocabulary
    • how different people might refer to the same idea (e.g. poor OR poverty)
    • changes in language over time (e.g. Aborigines - Aboriginal)

Defining key terms and reading brief overviews of key aspects (e.g. theories) with which you are unfamiliar will help you to locate appropriate resources and put together your response to an assessment.

The Library has many reference and introductory works. These are examples.

Be cautious with works published overseas (e.g. UK or US) as these may contain historical, policy, or legislative references not applicable to the Australian environment.

Are you uncertain whether to use the information you have found?

These guides will help in locating scholarly information and evaluating what you find.

Save and organise your references


Save time by capturing the details of your references.

This will help you to:

  • find resources again
  • put together your bibliographies with the required details
  • create a personal 'library' of references to use throughout your studies and professional practice

Most search tools - including the Library Catalogue, Google Scholar, and databases allow you to easily save the details of references of interest. No need to write these down or copy and paste - create your own 'library' of references with a few clicks!Watch the Library video 'Manage your references: tools to help you' [Image source: UniSA Library]

There are tools that will help you do this. Use EndNote or RefWorks to organise your references and create bibliographies.

Before using these tools, you will need to learn the basics of the referencing style (e.g. Harvard UniSA, APA) that you have been asked to use.

Need advice on writing or presenting? Not sure how to organise your ideas

Study Help [Image source: UniSA]

  • Assignments - how to approach different types of assignments e.g. essays, reports, case studies, literature reviews
  • Discipline-specific resources for the Division of Education, Arts and Social Sciences
  • Referencing forum - a place for all UniSA students to discuss referencing, share questions and answers, and ask for advice from Learning Advisers
Loading

Topic 2 - ATSI people - impact of policies and legislation

welfare history australia aboriginal
social work indigenous australia
stolen generation*
policy australia aboriginal
land rights australia
government aboriginal australia
human services aboriginal australia
aboriginal australians social conditions

Catalogue tips

  • you can add an asterisk to word stems to find plurals and other alternate word endings e.g. govern* finds governs, governance, government, etc.

Example Catalogue Subject list [Image source: UniSA Library]

Tip: use the terms of others

Are there terms in Catalogue/database records or the publications you find that you could use in searching?

Example: after searching the Catalogue for aboriginal australians policies Refine Search > Subject > More

 

You may also find the Indigenous cultures and Australian society Subject Guide useful

Loading