The Library Catalogue can be a good place to start. Use the Catalogue to search across much of the material in the Library's collection.
Depending on what you need to find, and how comprehensive you need to be in your search, you may also need to use specialised databases.
Planning your search can save time by helping you to find appropriate, relevant material more quickly.
The search terms you use can make a big difference to what you find
Defining key terms and reading brief overviews of key aspects (e.g. theories) with which you are unfamiliar will help you to locate appropriate resources and put together your response to an assessment.
The Library has many reference and introductory works. The following are examples.
The collection includes works published in many countries (especially the US, UK and Australia) and various centuries/decades - and which may differ in policy, legislation, culture and other factors. Make sure that the work you are using is appropriate.
Do you need scholarly information? Is what you have located relevant and reliable? Are you uncertain whether to use the information you have found?
These guides will help in locating scholarly information and evaluating what you find.
Save time by capturing the details of your references.
This will help you to:
Most search tools - including the Library Catalogue, Google Scholar, and databases such as Sociological Abstracts allow you to easily save the details of references of interest. No need to write these down or copy and paste - create your own 'library' of references with a few clicks!
Before using these tools, you will need to learn the basics of the referencing style (e.g. Harvard UniSA, APA) that you have been asked to use.
Need advice on writing or presenting? Not sure how to organise your ideas?
The Library collection also includes many resources on academic writing and study skills - example search
The series is being developed with new tutorials released on an ongoing basis. Those currently available include: