Visual Arts: Specific artists

Tips for finding information on specific artists includes artists' books.

Sources

Finding information about other artists is crucial in visual arts, for many reasons including: inspiration, contextualisation of your own work and understanding of art movements.

Information might take a variety of forms including images of works, exhibition reviews, interviews or catalogue essays.

Possible sources for material on artists include:

Example... Material by and about Patricia Piccinini

Join us as we search for anything that might be out there by or about one artist!

Many of these sources will be useful when searching for other artists.

Explore... Patricia Piccinini [Image source: UniSA Library]

Search tips

  • Is the person known under any other names? e.g. Brenda Croft, Brenda L Croft
  • Could a book on a particular group/theme/movement/style contain a section on this artist?
  • Are there multiple people with the same name? You may find clearly irrelevant references when searching search tools like the Catalogue. If this happens, try combining the artists' name with other terms such as their medium, geographical location, exhibitions, works, awards etc.
  • The Catalogue does not include all journal records. Try searching other visual arts databases such as: ARTbibliographies Modern

enchiladaplate, 'what every consumer should know',

The Library holds several hundred artists' books in the collection, including works by

  • Ed Ruscha
  • Gilbert & George
  • John Cage
  • Roni Horn
  • Susan Hiller

'Breakfast Special' by Jake Tilson

'Oh, the Grand Old Duke of York' by Gilbert & George (edited by Hans Ulrich Obrist)

While many are available on the main shelves, others have been placed in the Special Collection - usually because of the potential for damage or loss of parts.

To find artists' books and books about them - Type "artists' books" into the Library Catalogue. Refine by collection and select City West Special Collection to find Artists' books in the UniSA Special Collection

The Library also has many resources to assist in creating artists books.

Try searching using terms such as

 

A few works from the collection:


Loading ...

Exhibition catalogues

Gerhard Richter: Arbeiten auf Papier = Works on paper [cover image] Search in the catalogue for exhibitions and your artist e.g. "gerhard richter" exhibitions and limit to 'Format:Books'

An exhibition catalogue might contain:

  • Essays about the artist's work
  • Images of the artist's work
  • Artist's statement
  • Biography including awards and exhibition history

Find more search tips on finding exhibition catalogues here.