Marketing: Research

Need help starting your research?

JakeandLindsey Sherbert 2010, Start, CC BY 2.0: https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/, Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/jakeandlindsay/5524669257

You could:

 

Finding theses and other research outputs

Measuring the quality of a journal article

How do you measure the quality of a journal article?

There are several ways in which you can measure the quality of a journal article. This includes:

  • viewing the article's citation counts on Scopus, Web of Science or Google Scholar
  • checking if the journal article is peer reviewed by using a list or the databases
  • viewing lists of journal rankings

The Scopus and Web of Science citation databases provide access to multidisciplinary information from high impact research journals. These databases allow you to:

  • search for information on a topic and view an article's citation count
  • use an existing reference/article to:analyse search results
    • navigate backward in time to find the research that underpinned an author's work
    • navigate forward in time to discover the impact of research
    • find related papers
  • personalise preferences and settings
  • set up search alerts and citation alerts

How to find peer reviewed journal articles

Peer reviewed journals only publish articles that have been reviewed and critiqued by a panel of subject experts. As such they are considered to be more prestigious than other academic journals. You can find peer reviewed articles by looking in lists or on databases.

Lists

Use the Ulrichsweb: Global Serials Directory or the Cabell's Business Directories to check if your journal is peer reviewed.

Databases

Do a search on a database for your particular topic. Limit your results to scholarly or peer reviewed. You will then see a list of peer reviewed journals in your subject area. You may wish to sort your results by journal name (sometimes known as source) to make your results  easier to view.

TIP: Look at the UniSA Library's How to find peer reviewed journal articles guide.

The articles in academic journals are by authors who have an in-depth knowledge and expertise in a discipline, and who are recognized as experts in their field. Academic articles may also be called refereed, peer reviewed or scholarly. Some aspects of an academic journal article are:

  • name and affiliation of the author is listed
  • article includes an extensive reference list
  • academic articles are generally more current than books

You may wish to look at the following site to see the components of a scholarly article. 

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article An interactive guide from NCSU libraries. Shared under the Creative Commons Attribution - Noncommercial - Share Alike 3.0 United States License.

Journal ranking

Another measure is to look at the lists of ranked journals produced by professional or research bodies. Two such lists are those produced by the Australian Business Deans Council (ABDC) and the Excellence in Research for Australia (ERA) lists produced by the Australian Research Council (ARC).

More information

Explore...research methodology

Research [Image: suttonhoo, 2006, research, http://www.flickr.com/photos/suttonhoo22/305806118/, CC BY-NC-SA 2.0, http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/2.0/deed.en, source: flickr] Access SAGE Research Methods Online (SRMO)

A research tool that will assist you to design research projects and understand the methods behind them. Browse or search across books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, journal articles and videos.

Example book titles:

  • Statistics for marketing and consumer research
  • Blending qualitative and quantitative research methods in theses and dissertations
  • SAGE handbook of online research methods
  • Completing your qualitative dissertation: a roadmap from beginning to end
  • Doing your dissertation in business and management
  • Qualitative methods in business research
  • Getting your PhD
  • Succeeding with your Doctorate

3 Minute Thesis Competition (3MT)

Being able to discuss your research with people not in your field is an important skill for all researchers to learn. Starting in 2008 the Three Minute Thesis Competition (3MT) was created by the University of Queensland (UQ). It gives competitors the chance to sum up their research and engage the audience all in just 3 minutes.

Heats are run in Divisions, Schools and the Centre for Regional Engagement with winners of each going on to compete to be the University of South Australia winner. The overall winner for the University goes on to compete against competitors from other Universities.

Click here to watch the presentations from the Division of Business Final. The winner for the Division of Business was Zachary Anesbury click on the image below to see his presentation at the University Final: