Marketing: MARK 5245 Strategic Marketing

Analysis and recommendations

PESTLE analysis

 

A PESTLE (or PEST) analysis examines factors affecting the Political, Economic, Social, and Technological, Legal and Environmental landscape around your industry or company.

Try these sites for more information on conducting PESTLE analysis:

Porter's five forces model

 

The Porter's Five Forces model helps marketers to look at the ‘balance of power’ in a market between different types of organisations, and to analyse the attractiveness and potential profitability of an industry sector. It helps to review the strengths of a market position, based on five key forces.

For more help with Porter's Five Forces, have a look at these sites:

SWOT analysis
 
SWOT analysis is a model that analyzes an organization’s strengths, weaknesses, opportunities and threats to create the foundation of a marketing strategy.
 
Have a look at these sites for help with conducting a SWOT analysis:
Paula Naugle, ‘001_365_01.01.2013’, CC BY-NC-SA 2.0 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/2.0/), image source: flickr (https://www.flickr.com/photos/plnaugle/8334714234)

 

SMART is an acronym for the 5 steps of setting specific, measurable, achievable, relevant, and time-based goals.

For more help with SMART objectives, have a look at these sites:

Loading

Keywords

[StudioTempura, ‘the Key’, CC BY-NC-ND 2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/deed.en), Source: Flickr (http://www.flickr.com/photos/zero101/4529212951/)]

WHAT do I want to find out? What are the main concepts and keywords?

To find information for your assignment topic you will need to identify some relevant keywords. You will then be able to use these keywords to search information resources such as the catalogue, databases and the internet.

What you need to consider:

  • What do I want to find out?
  • What keywords/phrases can I use to help me find information?
  • Always check your course outline as it details the requirements for each assignment plus assignment details and marking criteria.

For more help with keywords, watch this short (2 mins) video.

Viewminder , ‘Once They Unlocked So Many Doors’, CC BY-NC-ND 2.0 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/), image source: flickr (https://www.flickr.com/photos/light_seeker/5349830135)

 

Here are some keywords you might like to consider:

  • brands, branding, brand name products, product management
  • market analysis, market segmentation, marketing management, marketing research, marketing strategy
  • customer analysis, customer profile
  • marketing mix, 4 P's, product, price, place, promotion
  • Porter's 5 forces
  • PESTLE analysis, PEST analysis, political, economic, social, technological, legal, environmental
  • SWOT analysis, strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, threats

These are only some of the keywords or phrases you could use, there are many others you could use to identify the concepts you are looking for information about. Can you think of any others?

Jacqui Brown, ‘Keys’, CC BY-SA 2.0 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/), image source: flickr (https://www.flickr.com/photos/120600995@N07/14028600474)

 

Once you've identified your keywords, you'll need to combine them together to find information on your topic.

Have a look at this guide, which will show you how to connect and combine your keywords to enable you to search the catalogue and databases effectively.

Loading

Finding industry statistics

Bartmani, ‘Himalaya Parc statistics, CC BY-NC 2.0 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/2.0/), image source: flickr (https://www.flickr.com/photos/8349201@N04/503039124/)

 

Governmental sites are an excellent source of industry statistics. Try these sites to help you to find the statistics you need:

Evaluating your resources

Once you have found information for your assignments it is important to think about whether or not the information is of a good quality and useful. To do this you will need to evaluate it before you use it in your academic work.

Watch this short video (approx 3 mins) to learn how to evaluate websites and other resources to decide if they are appropriate for your needs.

For further help, check out some of the following:

Finding resources using the Library catalogue

You can find academic references by searching the Library Catalogue.

The Library Catalogue is a search tool that enables you to find relevant information on any topic from the Library’s collection of print and electronic books,  journals and theses, together with journal and newspaper articles from numerous academic databases. You can access the Catalogue from the Library homepage.

Library catalogue search

Catalogue search tips:

  • Use double quotes for phrases e.g. "marketing mix"
  • Use an asterix * to find alternate word endings e.g. market* finds market, markets, marketing, marketer, marketers etc.

You can limit your search results to find just journal articles. Here's an example of a catalogue search.

"marketing mix" AND "four p's"

You can refine your search results to limit them to journal articles only by ticking Articles in the Refine Search box.

Limit your search to journal articles

 

To find academic articles, you can refine your search results further by ticking Peer Reviewed. This will only find articles which were published in scholarly journals and will exclude trade publications, magazines, etc.

Limit your search results to peer-reviewed articles

 

You could also try searching in these key marketing journals:

TIP: Still have too many results? Try limiting your search even further by using one of the other refine options such as Date or Subject.     

You can limit your search results to find just books (both print and ebooks). Here's an example of a catalogue search.

"marketing mix" AND porter's

You can limit your results to books only by ticking the Books option under Refine Search.

Limit your search to books and ebooks

Ebooks

You can either view ebooks online, or download them to read them later.  To find ebooks in the Library Catalogue conduct your search, then select the Refine Search to Show Only: Full Text Online option and limit to Format Books.

If you would like to download ebooks you'll need to install either an app or ereader, depending of what type of device you're using. Don't worry - they're free and it's easy to do!

You can find information on the software you need and links to the download sites in the Library's ebook guide.

 

TIP: Find too many books? Try limiting your search even further by using one of the other refine options such as Date or Subject.   

Loading

Finding resources using databases

placbo, ‘Strobist: off camera flash through fibre optics’, CC BY-NC-SA 2.0 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/2.0/), image source: flickr (https://www.flickr.com/photos/placbo/2401047587/)

 

So many databases. HOW do you choose the right databases to search in to find information?

Databases help you to find publications (e.g. journal and newspaper articles, conference papers, book chapters) by a particular author, from a specific publication or on a topic.

They can provide either the full text to a publication or the reference and abstract only. You can access databases from the Library homepage. Choose the A-Z Databases link underneath the catalogue search box to see the full listing of database titles.

See the individual database tabs in this box for help with finding resources - these are the best databases for this assignment.

Business Source Complete is a large international database which includes many premium peer-reviewed, business related journals and indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals, dating back as far as 1886.

Content covers the areas of management (including arts and cultural management, human resource management and sport and recreation management), marketing, economics, finance, accounting, international business and tourism. It's also an excellent source of company information including industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.

Just enter your keywords into the search box to start searching.

Business Source Complete search

You can limit your search to retrieve only peer-reviewed articles by ticking the Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals option. You can also limit your search by date range if you would like to.

Limit your search in Business Source Complete

 

To search for company reports, select More then Company Profiles from the top menu bar.

 

Select company profiles from the drop down menu

You can then search for the company you are interested in. Both MarketLine and Medtrack reports are available from Business Source Complete.

Search company profiles in Business Source Complete

 

For more help with searching Business Source Complete, please see these short videos.

IBISWorld contains a profile of each of the top 2000 Australian companies, including information about operating and legal structures, financials, personnel, industries of involvement and service providers. Many company types are included, including Public Listed and Non-Listed, Private, Foreign Owned, Partnerships, Trusts and Government Business Units.

It also contains detailed reports analysing selected Australian industry sectors. For each sector the report includes key statistics, market, industry segmentation, industry conditions & performance, industry participants, key factors, future trends.

Some international company and industry information is alsos available.

 

You can browse available reports by using the tabs at the top of the screen:

IBISWorld browse tabs

 

You can also search for the company of industry you are interested in by using the search box:

IBISWorld search box

 

Please note that you need to enter a unique username and password to access IBISWorld content - this is available from the Library's IBISWorld database access page.

Passport GMID is a global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, surveys and breaking news on industries, countries and consumers worldwide.

There are a number of ways you can search Passport GMID to find information.

If you are looking for statistics, you can use the Search Statistics search box. Choose an industry and industry category from drop-down menus and then select Go to find results matching your choices.

 

Statistics search in Passport GMID
 
If you are looking for analysis, you can use the Find Analysis search box. Choose an industry and geographical location from drop-down menus and then select Go to find results matching your choices.
 
Analysis search in Passport GMID
 
If you're interested in both statistics and analysis, you can search across the entire database by using the text search box in the top right hand side of the screen.
 
Text search in Passport GMID
 
For more help with searching Passport GMID, watch this short video:
There are other databases you could search in to find information. These include:
 
Provides access to Australia's most in-depth business and analysis tool covering over 50,000 of Australia's leading private and public companies. The data includes income statements, balance sheets, cash flow statements and profitability ratios. Company360 provides access to financial information and analysis, competitor intelligence, company and  executive profiles and bio's and more.
 
Emerald: insight
An excellent source of management and business information. Subjects covered include management, HRM, and marketing and, as an added bonus, all content in Emerald is peer-reviewed.
 
Provides business information and sales intelligence on millions of companies worldwide, including sales leads, company reports, and company research. D&B Hoovers includes information on many Australian companies, so it's a good source of Australian data.
 
WARC 
WARC (World Advertising Research Centre) contains the full text of significant case studies, journal articles and research papers in the areas of advertising, marketing, branding, media and marketing research.
Loading

Finding company, industry and market information

Juhan Sonin, ‘Book Report’, CC BY 2.0 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/), image source: flickr (https://www.flickr.com/photos/juhansonin/5135576565/in/photostream/)

 

Have a look at our online guide to finding Company and industry information.

This guide will help you search the web, our databases and the Library catalogue for company and industry information, financial information, annual reports, legislation and regulation, media coverage and information on public/private companies.

 

Finding information using Google Scholar

You may also find suitable academic references for your topic using an internet search engine such as Google Scholar. Google Scholar searches only within academic or scholarly sites, rather than over the whole internet like a regular Google Search. For more information on using Google Scholar, have a look at our Beyond Google for your Research Guide.

By accessing Google Scholar from within the library website, you will be able link directly to articles that the Library has access to by clicking on the Full-text at UniSA link.

To use the advanced search option, select the down arrow in the search box. You can use many of the same search strategies you use to search the catalogue and databases to search the web.

.

Google Scholar advanced search

 

For a few hints on how to search Google most effectively, have a look at the Google cheat sheet

Here is an example of a search using in Google Scholar:

Google Scholar advanced search
 
Articles with a Fulltext at UniSA link next to them are freely available to you through the Library - select this link to open a copy of the article you are interested in.
 
Google Scholar search results
 
Many institutions make their research openly available to everyone, regardless of whether or not you are a student there. If you see a PDF link to a paper you may be able to access it, even if it doesn't have a Full-text at UniSA link next to it.

Referencing help

Jason Grant 'Roadmap to referencing', January 2013 [Image source: UniSA Library]

 

Need help referencing? Follow the roadmap!

It is very important to that you acknowledge and reference all the information sources you use in your assignments. The referencing style used for MARK 5025: Marketing Management is Harvard UniSA.

You can find additional help with referencing at these sites:

More help

[vtdainfo, ‘Help Me. VTda.info’, CC BY 2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/deed.en), source: flickr (http://www.flickr.com/photos/vtda/4226036906/)]

Need more help?  Try one of these options

~ Explore our Marketing subject guide

~ Email or chat to a librarian at Ask the Library

~ If you are on campus visit us at the Service Desk

~ If you are studying externally, living remotely or have difficulty in using the Library in person the Off Campus Library Service can help

~ Have a look at our Workshops and Videos and Study Skills pages

~ Look at our How to guides

~ Use the Help, Tips or Hints screens within the Library Catalogue and the databases