Marketing: MARK 1015 Professional Development in Marketing - SP2 2017

Essentials

Reflect and plan


Map [tzunghaor, 'treasure map', CC License: CC0 1.0 http://creativecommons.org/publicdomain/zero/1.0/, Image Source: Open Clip Art Library http://www.openclipart.org/detail/120607/treasure-map-by-tzunghao]"

The library resources can help you to complete your first assessment task for Professional Development in Marketing by providing industry and company background information that not only includes the types of products and services they offer, the markets they operate in, but also provides details of their place in society as an employer, innovator (patents, new products etc.), environmental or social impacts.

REMEMBER always check your Course Outline for information about marking criteria, and formatting and referencing requirements. 

 
Planning your search can save time by helping you to find appropriate, relevant material more quickly.
  • What do you already know about your topic? What do you need to explore further
  • Do you need a particular type of information? For example: first-person account or historical overview, policy documents or peer-reviewed articles on the most current research, an early theorist's original writings...? 
  • Define key terms using a subject-specific reference such as a dictionary or encylopedia
  • What relevant theories apply to your topic?
  • A general overview of the topic or an aspect of the topic can be a good starting point - use your readings and reference/introductory books
  • Have tutors, lecturers or other students recommended author names/publication titles?
  • Which parts of your argument need references as supporting evidence?
What are the main concepts and keywords?

The search terms you use can make a big difference to what you findClarke, B, ‘Keys 1’ CC Licence Attribution 2.0 Generic (CC BY 2.0) http://www.flickr.com/photos/37753256@N08/3466560105/ Image Source Flickr

  • What are the key concepts/ideas in your topic? The key concepts will help you to decide which 'keywords' to use when searching
  • What alternative terms and synonyms might help to find relevant material? Consider:
    • campaign - advertising, public relations, marketing
    • media release - press release
    • marketing communications - public relations, communication in marketing, communication, writing, written communication
    • ethical practice - ethics, moral principles

Find the 'right' information


Video icon by no real name given CCLicence Attribution 2.0 Generic, Image source: flickr  http://www.flickr.com/photos/xisha/5502041378/

Do you need scholarly information? Is what you have located relevant and reliable? Are you uncertain whether to use the information you have found?

These guides will help in locating scholarly information and evaluating what you find.

Save and organise your references


Save time by capturing the details of your references.

This will help you to:

  • find resources again
  • put together your bibliographies with the required details
  • create a personal 'library' of references to use throughout your studies and professional practice

Most search tools - including the Library Catalogue, Google Scholar, and databases such as Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts allow you to easily save the details of references of interest. No need to write these down or copy and paste - create your own 'library' of references with a few clicks!Watch the Library video 'Manage your references: tools to help you' [Image source: UniSA Library]

There are tools that will help you do this. Use EndNote or RefWorks to organise your references and create bibliographies.

Before using these tools, you will need to learn the basics of the referencing style (e.g. Harvard UniSA, APA) that you have been asked to use.

Need advice on writing or presenting?

Not sure how to organise your ideas?


Study Help [Image source: UniSA]

Assignments - how to approach different types of assignments e.g. essays, reports, case studies, literature reviews

The Library collection also includes many resources on academic writing and study skills - example search

Unsure when it's appropriate to cite, how to paraphrase, or determine what is 'common knowledge'?

Take a look at this interactive tutorial from Eastern Michigan University Library:

'Understanding Plagiarism' [Eastern Michigan University Library interactive tutorial, CC BY-NC-SA 3.0 http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/deed.en_US]

Loading

How to find ...

Finding Books or Ebooks using the Library Catalogue

You can limit your results to books by ticking the Books in the Format box. This will limit your search results to books in both hard copy and eBook format.

Search example:

"marketing communications" AND skills

 

Limit to eBooks by selecting 'Full Text Online' in the Show Only box.

To download an eBook:

  • you must download the free software Adobe Digital Editions
    onto your personal computer
  • if you are using an Apple device (iPhone, iPod Touch, iPad) you will also need to download Bluefire Reader software, which is also available for free
  • downloaded ebooks can only be downloaded on your personal computer. For more information visit the FAQs page in our Ebook guide

Finding Journal articles using the Library Catalogue

You can refine your search results to limit them to journal articles only by ticking Articles in the Format box.

Search examples:

Personal Brand AND Career Success

 

TIP: Still have too many results? Try refining your search even further using one of the other refine options such as Date or Subject.  

Finding Academic Journal articles using the Library Catalogue

To find academic articles, you can refine your search results further by ticking Peer Reviewed in the Show Only box. This will only find articles which were published in scholarly journals and will exclude trade publications, magazines, etc.

Search examples:

Graduate AND Marketer AND Professional Identity

 

Finding Journal articles using Databases

Search databases to find quality journal articles on your topic. The databases listed under Marketing and Advertising will be particularly useful. View the finding articles page of this Subject Guide for more information.

NOTE: Most of the databases can be accessed from outside the UniSA computer network by entering your UNINET User name and Password. Some databases and journals require different passwords. These can be accessed from the specific Database page.

Remember, different databases contain different articles and types of information (although there can be some overlap), so if you don't find what you need in one database, try another one.

Search Examples:

using the Advanced search option

WARC Search Example

Business Source Complete Search Example

TIPS:

  • use double quotes to search for words as a phrase.
  • you can search for wordstems with different endings by using the truncation symbol* - for example, prepar* will find, prepare, prepared, preparing, preparation, etc. Refer to the Truncation, Wildcards and Phrase Searching guide if using truncation or wildcards as they vary depending on which database you are searching.

Emerald Insight Search Example

TIP: change the field from the default All fields to Abstract to have your search terms listed in the abstract field (many authors list the key terms which describe and summarise their articles in the abstract) - this will help to increase the relevance of the articles you retrieve.

 

For more help and tips on searching specific databases, have a look at the help screens within the individual databases - they really are helpful! 

Loading

Finding ...

Marketing Industry Publications can be a useful source of credible information and keep you in touch with the current trends in marketing and advertising and industry news.

These resources may be of use to you.

Accessible via UniSA Library subscription:

Accessible via internet (non-UniSA subscription):

To find Industry Publications in the Library Catalogue you need to:

Enter the name of the required journal into the search box and select Journal Title;

Select Campaign journal catalogue link from the list of results and then the EBSCO Online link;

If you select Search within this publication it will find only the journal Campaign.

For a more targeted search, select New Search;

Enter journal name and select SO Publication Name from the drop down menu.

Combine this with your search term or terms, for example, Pepsi;

These results will include those from different editions of Campaign such as Campaign and Campaign Asia-Pacific.

Loading

How to find ...

Company websites

Try Google Images to access company logos if needed for your presentation.

Use the Advanced Search option to filter your results to images that are copyright free to use or share

To access the Google Advanced Image Search page

Finding Newspaper articles using the Library Catalogue

Please note: Library Catalogue results automatically exclude newspaper articles, but you can add them back in to your results after searching.

Choose Additional resources: newspaper articles to include them in your search results. Tip: you need to do this after  searching. 

Search example:

(advertising OR "public relations" OR "marketing communications") AND skills

Finding newspaper articles about an organisation

You can access Australia's newspapers and others to find newsworthy stories about each organisation.

These databases contain both Australian and international content:

NewsBank Newspapers Search Examples

Select - Australia's Newspapers

 Select - The Advertiser

Example 1

Newsbank Search Example

 

Example 2

Newsbank Search Example

Loading

Google Scholar

Searches only within academic or scholarly sites, rather than over the whole internet. By accessing Google Scholar from the Library homepage (listed under the A-Z Databases link under the search box then G for Google Scholar) you may be able to link directly to articles by clicking on the Full-text at UniSA link. This link only becomes available if you link to Google Scholar via the Library, that way we know you are a UniSA student and are entitled to access our licensed resources.

The best way to search Google Scholar is by using the advanced search option (select the down arrow in the search box to change to this option).

Google Scholar Search Example

Finding company, industry and market information

The Company and Industry Information Guide will help you search the web, our databases and the Library catalogue for

annual reports

company and industry information

financial information

legislation and regulation

media coverage

private and public company information

TIP! As a first step search in Google to find an organisation's web page

Databases for information on Australian companies, organisations or industries:

Databases for information on international companies,organisations or industries:

Loading

More help

If you need more help try one of these options:"Open Clip Art, 'Help Button', CC Licence: No Copyright, Image Source: openclipart.org"

  • Contact Ask the Library (via Chat, email or phone)
  • If you are studying outside of Adelaide, living remotely or have difficulty in using the Library in person the Off Campus Library Service can help
  • Have a look at our How to guides and video
  • Contact the Student Engagement Unit (formerly the UniSA Learning and Teaching Unit) for help with referencing, writing reports and essays and plagiarism
  • Use the Help, Tips or Hints screens within the Library Catalogue and the databases