Tourism, Hospitality and Event Management: Research

Need help starting your research?

Image source: www.unsplash.com

You could:

Research Centres

Image source: University of South Australia

Publications from the Centre for Tourism and Leisure Management

Loading

Explore research methodology

A research tool that will assist you to design research projects and understand the methods behind them. Browse or search across books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, journal articles and videos.

Example Book Titles:
  • Advances in mixed method research
  • Blending qualitative and quantitative research methods in theses and dissertations
  • Completing your qualitative dissertation: a roadmap from beginning to end
  • Getting the most out of the research experience
  • Getting your PhD
  • Organizing and managing your research
  • Researching leisure, sport and tourism
  • SAGE handbook of online research methods
  • Succeeding with your Doctorate

Measuring the quality of a journal article

There are several ways in which you can measure the quality of a journal article. This includes:

  • viewing the article's citation counts on Scopus, Web of Science or Google Scholar
  • checking if the journal article is peer reviewed by using a list or the databases
  • viewing lists of journal rankings

How to find peer reviewed journal articles

Peer reviewed journals only publish articles that have been reviewed and critiqued by a panel of subject experts. You can find peer reviewed articles by looking in lists or on databases.

Lists: use the Ulrichsweb: Global Serials Directory or the Cabell's Business Directories to check if your journal is peer reviewed.

Databases: do a search on a database for your particular topic. Limit your results to scholarly or peer reviewed. You will then see a list of peer reviewed journals in your subject area. You may wish to sort your results by journal name (sometimes known as source) to make your results  easier to view.

TIP: Look at the UniSA Library's How to find peer reviewed journal articles guide.

More information