A scholarly source, or academic source, is written by a qualified author who is an expert in their field. They are usually published in books or journals, rather than on websites. A scholarly source will likely have a reference list or bibliography at the end of it.
How can you tell if a source is scholarly?
Books: A scholarly book or eBook might be from an academic publisher or a University press. You can also find out information about the author and look for their qualifications.
Journals: Many academic journals are peer reviewed. This means that the article has been evaluated by experts on the subject before it was approved for publication.
For more information, read the Finding peer reviewed journal articles guide.
|Watch - Scholarly Sources Explained (approx 3 mins) - Learn why scholarly sources are important to use and how you can identify them.|
Before you start searching in the Library Catalogue think about:
> What do you know about the topic? What do you need to explore further?
> What type of information do you need? Does it need to be current?
> Choose your keywords and any synonyms
> Decide which parts of your work need references as supporting evidence
1. Make a list of keywords, search for phrases using "quotation marks"
2. Combine these keywords using OR, AND or NOT.
OR: Combines keywords on the same concept
AND: Combines different concepts
NOT: Excludes words that complicate the search, use with caution
Watch the video below You be the Judge - learn to evaluate (approx 3 mins). Learn to evaluate websites and other resources to decide if they are appropriate for your needs.
To find eBooks in the Library catalogue you need to:
You will then be able to see book chapters and electronic books in your search results. To access click on the title link and then the online link.
Visit the Library's eBook guide for help finding, accessing, printing and downloading eBooks.
Use the Library catalogue to search for books
Use the call number to browse the shelves for books on the same subject. Most of the Tourism books are located at the City West or Mawson Lakes under the following call numbers.
Hospitality industry – management
Couldn't find the book you were looking for?
The Library continues to purchase books and ebooks for the collection. If the Library does not hold the book you need, you can:
You can borrow from other Universities including the University of Adelaide and Flinders University. For more information click on the link below:
Finding a journal article using the library catalogue:
Finding a journal article using databases:
You can search databases to find quality journal articles on your topic. To find which databases are best suited to your subject area, go to the Key Resources box, also on this page of the guide.
In databases, you can use truncations and wildcards to broaden your search.
Searching for travel* will show results
for travelling, travellers, etc.
The icon will appear in the databases when the article is not available in full text in that database. Find it will try to find full text in one of our other databases. For more information see:
There are several ways that you can find case studies:
Here are some examples of a search for case studies in the Library catalogue:
"sustainable tourism" AND "case studies" in eBooks
The Journal of Business Case Studies is an open access journal which allows you to search for case studies across a range of topics, including tourism, hospitality and event management. All case studies are fully downloadable as pdfs.
Searching for Case Studies in databases:
Add the phrase "case studies" to your search to find case study articles.
Try the following searches in the Hospitality and Tourism Complete database to find case study articles or chapters:
You can also search for case studies in Business Source Complete use double quotes around any phrases
In the Emerald Insight database, go to Advanced Search and select the Case Studies tab at the top to search for case studies.
Using SAGE Business Cases you can search 1000+ case studies covering a wide variety of topics related to business, including hospitality management
Finding newspaper articles
For information and links on finding newspaper articles from both Australia and around the world, have a look at the News Media Subject Guide.
Library Catalogue results automatically exclude newspaper articles, but you can add them back in to your results after searching.
Catalogue search example:
This search has been limited using the following steps:
The databases listed below contain both Australian and international content: