Economics: Find Resources

Getting started

Tammikibler, Getting started empire avenue, CC Licence: CC BY-SA 2.0, (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/), Image Source: flickr, https://www.flickr.com/photos/64779557
> What do you know about the topic? What do you need to explore further?

> What type of information do you need? Does it need to be current?

> Understand your topic - use the course readings, an encyclopedia, dictionary, book or reliable websites

> Choose your keywords and any synonyms

> If you need facts and figures - use handbooks or reliable websites

> Decide which parts of your work need references as supporting evidence 

Video icon by no real name given CCLicence Attribution 2.0 Generic, Image source: flickr  http://www.flickr.com/photos/xisha/5502041378/Watch - Think. Plan. Discover. Why Keywords Matter for tips about choosing keywords and searching for information (1 min 30 sec).

At University there is the expectation that you will use scholarly material to support your arguments.

What does that mean?


Watch or read  

Is your information relevant or reliable? Not sure whether to use the information you have found? There are simple ways to evaluate your results.

Watch the video above You be the Judge - learn to evaluate (approx 3 mins). Learn to evaluate websites and other resources to decide if they are appropriate for your needs.

Loading

Top tips

  1. Follow-up on the recommended resources - find and read/view materials referred to in your course information

  2. Go beyond your set readings - in your references, show your knowledge of the broader literature available on the topic, including awareness of a variety of viewpoints/interpretations

  3. Use the most appropriate search tool for what you need to find

  4. Use the terms of others in your searches - what subject terms (also known as 'subject headings' or 'descriptors') appear in Catalogue/database records (and usually under 'refine' on the results page)? Also look at the terms used by authors of relevant publications that you find. Could some of these be useful in future searches?

  5. Try different combinations of search terms

  6. Searching takes time! Don't expect to find all of the information you need for a more in-depth assessment - such as an essay - in one session. Typically you will search, read, and then search again, with new ideas and terms to direct your searches

  7. Always evaluate what you find - is it relevant? Scholarly?

How do I....?

The Library has online resources and guides to help you with common tasks:

Books

The Library Catalogue is the best place to begin your search for relevant books.   Margot Trudell, Keep searching, CC Licence: CC BY-SA 2.0, (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/), Image Source: Flickr, https://www.flickr.com/photos/margottrudell/6483352101/  

The Library continually purchases books to support all disciplines and research areas.

Many of these are available online.

Search the Library Catalogue

Information about borrowing

 

Catalogue search tips:

  • If you know the exact title type it into the search box and select Title from the drop-down list e.g. Behavioural economics and business ethics interrelations and applications (you only need enough of the title to distinguish it from others)
  • If you are searching for a resource with a common title try adding the author's surname to your search
  • Do a keyword search to find information on a particular topic e.g. "managerial economics"
  • Use the Refine Search options to narrow your search e.g. by Format e.g. book
  • Use double quotes for phrases e.g. "south australia"
 

Access many books online through your PC, tablet, smart phone or ereader device.

Search the Library Catalogue for ebooks as well as books.Limiting to ebooks in the catalogue [Image source: UniSA Library]

To find ebooks in the catalogue you need to:

  • Refine Search to Show Only: Full Text Online
  • AND limit to Format Books
  • To access click on the title link and then the online link.

 

Visit the Library's ebook guide for help with

  • Finding, accessing, printing and downloading ebooks.
  • Learn what software is needed by your device
  • Look up our FAQ's

If you would like to browse the shelves for items you can search the collection using call numbers. Economics subjects are classified in the 330-339 range of numbers. 

Loading

Journals and journal articles

 

Wiley Asia Blog, ‘business-management-journals’, CC License: CC BY-NC-ND 2.0 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/), Image source: Flickr (https://www.flickr.com/photos/wiley-asia-blog/7772194822/)

 

Journals enable you to keep up to date with the latest - research, trends, events, conferences, projects, theories...and to gain an historical perspective by accessing material published in previous decades.

Journal articles usually focus on a very specific aspect of a topic, and may be the only source of information on that aspect.

UniSA Library subscribes to thousands of journals on behalf of UniSA students and researchers. Most are available as fulltext online from your desktop, laptop or mobile device.

Catalogue search tips:

  • Search for all Business and Economics eJournals at UniSA (journals held in electronic format) .
  • To find articles on a subject, type in your keywords and then refine by Format > Articles e.g. "price regulation" AND markets
  • To search for articles from a specific journal, try Advanced Search
  • Use double quotes for phrases e.g. "south australia", "planning process"
  • Use an asterisk * to find alternate word endings e.g. manag* finds manager, managers, management, managing, managerial, etc.

Databases are searchable collections that index types of literature such as journal articles, newspaper articles, conference papers, reports, book chapters etc.

 

Here are some key Economics databases to use:

 

For a complete list of Economics databases:

These are a few journals with articles relevant to study and research in Economics. There are many more!

Access full text online by selecting these links.

Search for all Business and Economics eJournals at UniSA (journals held in electronic format) .

Loading

Case studies, Newspapers, Conference Papers

Binuri Ranasinghe, ‘The case study’, CC License: CC BY-NC-ND 2.0 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/), Image source: Flickr (https://www.flickr.com/photos/binuri/5106411271/)  Case studies are written accounts that give detailed information about a person, group, or organisation and their development over a period of time, with a view to making generalizations.

Finding case studies in books

You can search for case studies using the Library catalogue:

  • add the phrase "case studies" to your search
  • limit by format/content type eg book or eBook 

Try these Library catalogue searches below to find case studies within books and eBooks.

Case study journals

The Journal of Business Case Studies is an open access journal which allows you to search for case studies across a range of topics, including economics. All case studies are fully downloadable as pdfs.

 

Finding case studies in databases

You can search for case studies in the following databases:

You can also add the phrase "case studies" to your database search in other databases to find case study articles.

Try the following searches in the Business Source Complete database to find case study articles or chapters:

  • "emerging economies" AND "case studies"

To find newspaper articles  at the Library databases listed under the News subject heading.

These databases contain both Australian and international content and in[James Yu, ‘Newspaper’, CC BY-NC-SA 2.0 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/2.0/), image source: flickr (https://www.flickr.com/photos/jamesyu/61784469/)] clude:

 

Want to find Economics related Australian newspaper articles?

Use the NewsBank Newspaper database to search for specific Australian articles by selecting the Australia's Newspapers link and search for the article by Headline (change from the default option of All Text), using double quotes around your phrase.

What are they and why use them? ="Cydcor Offices, Cydcor Conference, CC Licence: CC BY-SA 2.0, (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/), Image Source: flickr, https://www.flickr.com/photos/cydcor/9323706488" src="//s3.amazonaws.com/libapps/accounts/24089/images/Cycdor_Conference.jpg"

Conference papers: the written version of presentations given at conferences or meetings of professional/scholarly bodies and organisations.

Conference proceedings: a collection of these papers from a specific conference/meeting, generally reviewed by peers and collected together by the editors before being made available.

Conference papers can be a great way to find up to date information, research trends and innovations on a specific topic. Researchers often present their research findings first at conferences. This can allow you to get a better understanding of the findings from the Researcher themselves.  

Where to find them

You can find conference papers and proceedings in a variety of locations. The Library subscribes to many databases which contain conference papers as well as journal articles, so look for proceedings or papers where you search for other items on your topic.  
Many of the professional bodies and organisations carry the proceedings of their conferences, and these papers may or may not be indexed in more general databases. There are some databases specifically holding proceedings,  including:

Loading