Management: BUSS 2054: Principles of Logistics & Supply Chain Management - Assignment 2 - SP2 2017 OS

Assessment 2

Assessment question

Assignment #2 - Formal report (1700 words)

Read the given case study Heaslip, G, 2012 "Humanitarian aid supply chains" which is available as an ereading from your Learnonline course site.

Alternatively, you can find the case study on pages 99-106 in the below book.

Unicefukraine, 2015,  'humanitarian aid in Donetsk', https://www.flickr.com/unicefual/16081691204/, shared CC 2.0

Critically review the case study and answer the following four questions...

  • Describe the challenges of Humanitarian logistics within the context of logistics and supply chain management,
  • Describe and discuss the roles of logistics management in supply chain and operations management in this case study context and in general practice,
  • Discuss the essential trade-offs in meeting the performance goals while minimising total costs in this case study context and in general practice,
  • Explain and discuss the role of logistics management or logisticians in Humanitarian logistics in providing value to humanitarian organisations.

And..

  • Provide recommendations on how these challenges faced by humanitarian organisations can be resolved

All the answers and explanations need to be supported by academic references. It is expected that you will use as a minimum, six academic references including three journal articles and other references to present your analysis and report.

The argument should be presented in report format.

stop** please check your course outline for full assessment details**

Finding resources using the catalogue

A good place to start searching for your academic references is the Library Catalogue.

The Library Catalogue is a search tool that enables you to find relevant information on any topic from the Library’s collection of print and electronic books,  journals and theses, together with journal and newspaper articles from numerous academic databases. You can access the Catalogue from the Library homepage.

Library catalogue search

Catalogue search tips:

  • You can limit your search results to articles only, if you would like to. To do this, search for your keywords and then refine by Format > Articles
  • You can further limit your results to peer reviewed articles by refining by Format > Peer Reviewed
  • You can also limit your results by Date
  • Use double quotes for phrases e.g. "supply chain management"
  • Use an asterix * to find alternate word endings e.g. manag* finds manage, manager, managers, managing, management, managerial, etc.

Sample searches:

     "humanitarian logistics" AND challenges

     "logistics management" AND "supply chain"

      humanitarian AND "logistics management"

      logisticians AND humanitarian

      performance AND "humanitarian logistics"

Finding resources using databases and Google Scholar

[placbo, ‘Strobist: off camera flash through fibre optics’, CC BY-NC-SA 2.0 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/2.0/), image source: flickr (https://www.flickr.com/photos/placbo/2401047587/)]

 

Databases help you to find publications (e.g. journal and newspaper articles, conference papers, book chapters) by a particular author, from a specific publication or on a topic.

They can provide either the full text to a publication or the reference and abstract only. You can access databases from the Library homepage. Choose the Databases link underneath the catalogue search box to see the full listing of database titles.

See the individual database tabs in this box for help with finding resources for your report - these are the best databases for this assignment.

Business Source Complete is a large international database which includes many premium peer-reviewed, business related journals and indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals, dating back as far as 1886.

Content covers the areas of management (including arts and cultural management, human resource management and sport and recreation management), marketing, economics, finance, accounting, international business and tourism. It's also a good source of company information.

Just enter your keywords into the search box to start searching.

This is an example of a search, showing how to combine concepts. Each box contains a different concept, with keywords describing similar concepts grouped in the same box, joined by OR.

You can limit your search to retrieve only peer-reviewed articles by ticking the Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals option. You can also limit your search by date range if you would like to.

Limit your search in Business Source Complete

For more help with searching Business Source Complete, please see these short videos.

Emerald Insight is an international database which indexes books and peer-reviewed journals across all areas of business. It also includes case studies, literature reviews, book reviews, conference information, interviews, profiles and 'How to...' guides.

Type your keywords into the advanced search box.

All articles indexed in Emerald are peer-reviewed, so you do not need to limit your search results to retrieve them.

You can limit your results by date, if you would like to.

Don't be fooled by the name - ScienceDirect is an excellent source of information on business and management. And, as an added bonus, all articles are peer-reviewed!

Type your search terms into the advanced search box to locate information.

You can limit your search to information related to Business, Management and Accounting selecting them from the subject area box. You can also limit your results by year.

You may also find suitable academic references for your topic using an internet search engine such as Google Scholar. Google Scholar searches only within academic or scholarly sites, rather than over the whole internet like a regular Google Search. For more information on using Google Scholar, have a look at our Beyond Google for your Research Guide.

By accessing Google Scholar from within the library website, you will be able link directly to articles that the Library has access to by clicking on the Full-text at UniSA link.

To use the advanced search option, select the down arrow in the search box. You can use many of the same search strategies you use to search the catalogue and databases to search the web.

Google Scholar advanced search

Here is an example of a search using in Google Scholar:

 
Articles with a Fulltext at UniSA link next to them are freely available to you through the Library - select this link to open a copy of the article you are interested in.
 
 
Many institutions make their research openly available to everyone, regardless of whether or not you are a student there. If you see a PDF link to a paper you should be able to access it, even if it doesn't have a Full-text at UniSA link next to it.
Loading

Textbook and supplementary reading

Textbook

Supplementary reading

Useful websites

  • Brambles is a supply-chain logistics company operating in more than 60 countries, primarily through the CHEP and IFCO brands.
  • CEVA Logistics is one of the world’s leading non-asset- based supply chain management companies, they design and implement industry-leading solutions in both freight management and contract logistics.
  • TNT offers express road and air delivery services in Europe, the Middle East and Africa, Asia-Pacific and the Americas.
  • TOLL comprises a network of businesses that work individually and collectively to deliver optimal logistics solutions across all industry sectors.
  • BHP Billiton a leading global resources company. Their purpose is to create long-term shareholder value through the discovery, acquisition, development and marketing of natural resources.
  • Dexion case studies show a firsthand view of how they have tailored solutions to help businesses turn planned benefits into real ones.
  • LINFOX is Australia’s largest privately owned logistics company that is rapidly expanding throughout Asia and New Zealand.
  • LINFOX case studies

And many more you can find by searching ...

Loading

Online Resources

Check out the video

Think.Plan.Discover.Why Keywords Matter

Scholarly Sources Explained video

Learn why to use scholarly sources and how to find them

Learn more watch

You be the judge: learn to evaluate video

Academic resources

Need academic information? Not sure what that means or how to find it? 


Watch or read  

Once you have found information for your assignments it is important to think about whether or not the information is of good quality and useful for your topic. To do this you will need to evaluate it before you use it in your academic work.

Watch this short video (approx 3 mins) to learn how to evaluate websites and other resources to decide if they are appropriate for your needs.

The Critical analysis of information sources guide by Macquarie University also contains really useful information about evaluating the information you've found for your assignment.

Loading

Keywords

[StudioTempura, ‘the Key’, CC BY-NC-ND 2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/deed.en), Source: Flickr (http://www.flickr.com/photos/zero101/4529212951/)]

WHAT do I want to find out? What are the
main concepts and keywords?

To find information for your assignment topic you will need to identify some relevant keywords. You will then be able to use these keywords to search information resources such as the catalogue, databases and the internet.

Some keywords you may like to consider:

  • humanitarian logistics, business logistics, distribution logistics
  • logistics management, logistics, logistics management system
  • supply chain management, supply chain, supply chain network design, real-time supply chain
  • operations management, production management
  • performance goals
  • humanitarian organisations, humanitarian organizations, NGOs, Non Government Organisations.

These are only some of the keywords or phrases you could use - there are many others you could use to identify the concepts you are looking for information about. What other terms can you think of?

[Jacqui Brown, ‘Keys’, CC BY-SA 2.0 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/), image source: flickr (https://www.flickr.com/photos/120600995@N07/14028600474)]

 

Once you've identified your keywords, you'll need to combine them together to find information on your topic.

Have a look at the guide below which will show you how to connect and combine your keywords to enable you to search the catalogue and databases effectively.

Loading

Help with Report writing and Case studies

Study help

For help with writing reports and understanding case studies see the following resources created by the Student Engagement Unit found from within the Study Help guide.

Visit the Study Help guide if you need more help with improving your academic skills and referencing.