Assignment #2 - Formal report (1700 words)
Read the given case study Schwarting et al, 2011 'The Transformative Hospital Supply Chain Balancing Costs with Quality', which is available from your Learnonline course site as an ereading.
Critically review it and other relevant materials and answer the following four (4) questions:
All the answers and explanations need to be supported by academic references. It is expected that you will use, as a minimum, eight (8) academic references including four (4) peer refereed journal articles to present your analysis and report.
The argument should be presented in report format.
** please check your course outline for full assessment details**
Need academic information? Not sure what that means or how to find it?
Watch or read
Once you have found information for your assignments it is important to think about whether or not the information is of good quality and useful for your topic. To do this you will need to evaluate it before you use it in your academic work.
Watch this short video (approx 3 mins) to learn how to evaluate websites and other resources to decide if they are appropriate for your needs.
The Critical analysis of information sources guide by Macquarie University also contains really useful information about evaluating the information you've found for your assignment.
WHAT do I want to find out? What are the
main concepts and keywords?
To find information for your assignment topic you will need to identify some relevant keywords. You will then be able to use these keywords to search information resources such as the catalogue, databases and the internet.
Some keywords you may like to consider:
These are only some of the keywords or phrases you could use - there are many others you could use to identify the concepts you are looking for information about. What other terms can you think of?
Once you've identified your keywords, you'll need to combine them together to find information on your topic.
Have a look at the guide below which will show you how to connect and combine your keywords to enable you to search the catalogue and databases effectively.
A good place to start searching for your academic references is the Library Catalogue.
The Library Catalogue is a search tool that enables you to find relevant information on any topic from the Library’s collection of print and electronic books, journals and theses, together with journal and newspaper articles from numerous academic databases. You can access the Catalogue from the Library homepage.
Catalogue search tips:
Databases help you to find publications (e.g. journal and newspaper articles, conference papers, book chapters) by a particular author, from a specific publication or on a topic.
They can provide either the full text to a publication or the reference and abstract only. You can access databases from the Library homepage. Choose the A-Z Databases link underneath the catalogue search box to see the full listing of database titles.
See the individual database tabs in this box for help with finding resources for your report - these are the best databases for this assignment.
Business Source Complete is a large international database which includes many premium peer-reviewed, business related journals and indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals, dating back as far as 1886.
Content covers the areas of management (including arts and cultural management, human resource management and sport and recreation management), marketing, economics, finance, accounting, international business and tourism. It's also a good source of company information.
Just enter your keywords into the search box to start searching.
This is an example of a search, showing how to combine concepts. Each box contains a different concept, with keywords describing similar concepts grouped in the same box, joined by OR.
You can limit your search to retrieve only peer-reviewed articles by ticking the Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals option. You can also limit your search by date range if you would like to.
For more help with searching Business Source Complete, please see these short videos.
Emerald Insight is an international database which indexes books and peer-reviewed journals across all areas of business. It also includes case studies, literature reviews, book reviews, conference information, interviews, profiles and 'How to...' guides.
Type your keywords into the advanced search box.
All articles indexed in Emerald are peer-reviewed, so you do not need to limit your search results to retrieve them.
You can limit your results by date, if you would like to.
For more help with searching Emerald Insight, watch these short videos.
Don't be fooled by the name - ScienceDirect is an excellent source of information on business and management. And, as an added bonus, all articles are peer-reviewed!
Type your search terms into the advanced search box to locate information.
You can limit your search to information related to Business, Management and Accounting selecting them from the subject area box. You can also limit your results by year.
You may also find suitable academic references for your topic using an internet search engine such as Google Scholar. Google Scholar searches only within academic or scholarly sites, rather than over the whole internet like a regular Google Search. For more information on using Google Scholar, have a look at our Beyond Google for your Research Guide.
By accessing Google Scholar from within the library website, you will be able link directly to articles that the Library has access to by clicking on the Full-text at UniSA link.
To use the advanced search option, select the down arrow in the search box. You can use many of the same search strategies you use to search the catalogue and databases to search the web.
Here is an example of a search using in Google Scholar: