Computer Science: INFS 5090 Critical Analysis 2

Information Privacy Assurance INFS 5090 SP2 2017

[Bablu Badmash, 'The Internet of things gains traction in commercial enterprise', CC Licence: CC BY-NC-SA 2.0, Image source: Flickr]

Assignment Question

 

**Please consult your Course Outline and Online Course Site for full assignment details**

 

Plan before you search

 

[Wilgengebroed, 'The internet of things', CC Licence: CC BY-NC 2.0, Image source: flickr]Once you have your search strategy you can use it to search for information in the:

Begin by watching this short video: Think. Plan. Discover. Why keywords matter (1 min. 30 secs)

 

Before you start searching identify the main concepts/topic words - the keywords you use to search for information. For example:

Recently, the Internet of Things (IoT) has been gaining attention from researchers.

Analyse the IoT from the perspective of TWO of the privacy theories.


Then think of similar keywords or phrases (synonyms) you could use when searching. For example:

"Paper" Royalty free image source: Deathtostockphoto

Once you have your keywords use the connectors AND and OR to form search strategies. 
These are used in the
Library Catalogue and A-Z Databases to help you find relevant results.

The following is one example of a search strategy:

   "Internet of Things" OR IoT
   AND
   "Privacy Theory" OR "Privacy Theories"

Library Catalogue search example:

  • singular or plural words eg. policy / policies
     
  • words with alternative spellings eg. organiSation, organiZation
     
  • words that mean similar things/synonyms eg. academic, tertiary, higher education
     
  • Words that have commonly used abbreviations eg. www, world wide web
  • Use the truncation symbol * to find other forms of words e.g. librar* finds library, libraries, librarians

    Select the option AB Abstract to search within the Abstract only. This will help focus your search further.

    Limit your search to a particular date range

    Refine your results by Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
     
  • How to find a full text article using Find It  Find It is a software program that searches for the full text of publications across UniSA subscription databases. This short guide explains how to use this feature.
     
  • How to save time searching databases with truncation, wildcards and phrases  Different databases use a range of truncation and wildcard symbols and phrase searching features. This guide  explains the symbols used by each database to enable you to search them effectively
     
Loading

Is it useful? Evaluate!

Once you have found information for your assignments it is important to think about whether or not the information is of a good quality and useful.

Video icon by no real name given CCLicence Attribution 2.0 Generic, Image source: flickr  http://www.flickr.com/photos/xisha/5502041378/
For help watch or refer to:

Database Searching

Some databases to start searching:

Multidisciplinary databases may also be useful:

Global Serials Directory

When you select one of the database titles above you will be linked to information about the database, including subjects it covers. Select the link under Online to search the database.

Tip - some databases have a feature that limits your search results to conference proceedings only (e.g. Compendex, Inspec, IEEE Xplore).

Refer to the Find articles and conference papers page in this Subject Guide for further databases and search tips.

Tip: Narrow results by Format (e.g. book/ebook, journal article), Date and a relevant Subject.


ScienceDirect search example:

ScienceDirect search example

         Too many results? Use a date range, search within results or refine your search further using the
         Refine Results menu. Need help finding the full text? See this Library guide.


The IEEEXplore database contains many full text conference proceedings and ALL conferences in IEEEXplore are
peer reviewed. To find conference papers only you can either:
Browse by Conference Publications or do an Advanced Search and limit your search to Content Types - Conferences.

IEEEXplore advanced search example:

IEEXplore search example

Use the truncation symbol * to find the stems of words e.g secur* finds secure, security.

Loading

Referencing help

Visit the Referencing Website or the Referencing Forum (Student Engagement Unit). There is information about referencing and plagiarism.

 

Software to help you - EndNote and RefWorks are the two bibliographic management software products available for UniSA staff and students.

Need more help?