Finance: BANK 5014: Financial Theory and Financial Markets

Assessment Details

Research [Image: suttonhoo, 2006, research, http://www.flickr.com/photos/suttonhoo22/305806118/, CC BY-NC-SA 2.0, http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/2.0/deed.en, source: flickr]

 

 

 

 

 

Assessment 1

Assume you are working for a bulge-bracket investment firm and you have been just approached by a wealthy client. The client, Mr. John, has a significant savings of $10 million as of 31st March 2016.
Mr. John is closely following the crude oil prices and would like to make money from the volatility of the oil prices. Specifically, he thinks that a steep fall of crude oil prices in the recent years may have opened investment opportunities. However, Mr. John is not sure which financial market within Australia is likely to give him the best return without taking huge risk.

Mr. John would like to consult your team on your views, analysis and suggestion on whether he should invest in money market, bond market or equity market and for how long.
As a team, you need to draft a report and make appropriate recommendations to Mr. John, i.e., whether you expect money market, bond market, or equity market to outperform. You also need to provide your indicative investment horizon period.

Due Date: 22 May 2016

Word count: 2,000 words (excluding appendix, references, tables and figures).

 

 

 

IMPORTANT: Refer to the information on the Course site for complete assessment details

Loading

Key Sources

There are key sources you should consult to assist you to find information for your research. These key sources include the following:

  • Reserve Bank of Australia - The Reserve Bank of Australia (RBA) is Australia's central bank and derives its functions and powers from the Reserve Bank Act 1959. Its duty is to contribute to the stability of the currency, full employment, and the economic prosperity and welfare of the Australian people. The website contains information around monetary policy, market operations and financial services. Each section of the website includes resources which may include publications, statistics, speeches and media releases
     
  • OECD Data - allows users to find, compare and share the latest OECD data including charts, maps, tables and related publications. Statistics on OECD member countries are also provided
     
  • OECD ilibrary - database subscribed to by the UniSA Library. Includes access to OECD textual publications, publications of the International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), and the International Transport Forum (ITF) in PDF or HTML form. OECD iLibrary includes 17 thematic book collections, 14 journals, 24 working paper series, and 22 OECD statistical databases
     
  • OPEC - OPEC is a permanent intergovernmental organization of 13 oil-exporting developing nations that coordinates and unifies the petroleum policies of its member countries. The Data/Graphs and Publications sections may be useful
     
  • World Bank Data - The World Bank's Open Data initiative is intended to provide all users with access to World Bank data. The data catalog is a listing of available World Bank datasets, including databases, pre-formatted tables, reports, and other resources. Other sections of the World Bank website including Research and Publications may also be useful

 

Literature review: overview

Image source: unsplash.com

Jesson, Matheson and Lacey (2011, p. 165 - Doing your literature review: traditional and systematic techniques) provide the following definitions:

Traditional narrative literature review - 'A research method which involves reviewing published and unpublished material. It usually begins with a rationale for the review and is written in a narrative style'

A few of the key initial steps in conducting a literature review include:

  • developing your research statement or question
  • defining any parameters or criteria
  • choosing appropriate search tools
  • searching with appropriate keywords and subject headings (descriptors)
  • selecting relevant material

The Student Engagement Unit (formerly the Learning and Teaching Unit LTU)  has produced a guide which provides a quick introduction on how to produce a traditional review. This is a useful resource and includes how to begin, write and structure a literature review.

You might find other Library help about Literature Reviews are useful. Be aware that some aspects are specific to Health or Social Sciences and may not be relevant for Literature Reviews in Business.

Path [Adapted from CC0 Public Domain image sourced from Pixabay]

Loading

Plan your search

It is important before you begin your research to plan your search. You can't search by just typing a sentence into the Library catalogue, databases or Google Scholar.

Once you decide on your research question/business problem or issue you will need to deconstruct it for keywords, concepts and ideas. You will need these keywords to effectively search in the Library catalogue and databases.

Video icon by no real name given CCLicence Attribution 2.0 Generic, Image source: flickr  http://www.flickr.com/photos/xisha/5502041378/

Watch - Think. Plan. Discover. Why Keywords Matter (1 min 30 sec) for some tips about choosing keywords and searching for information.

 

 

 

TIPS:

Combing keywords:

You can combine your keywords using OR, AND and NOT.

  • OR: will search for either or both of the words. i.e stock market OR stock exchange
  • AND: will search for both of the words. i.e oil prices AND stock market
  • NOT: will search for first of your keywords and not the second. i.e  Finance NOT Management

For phrases use double quotes. i.e "oil prices". This will search for both of the words together.

Truncation, wildcards and phrases:

* will commonly search for endings of a word. i.e market* will find market, markets, marketed, marketing, marketplace etc
? will commonly find words spelled in a different way. i.e organi?e will find organise and organize.

IMPORTANT: Please note that all databases are slightly different. Refer to the How to guides below for more detail.

Harvard-UniSA Style Referencing

Write Free by Freepik. CC Licence: CC BY-3.0, Image source: FlatIcon.com: http://www.flaticon.com/free-icon/write_46395#term=write&page=1&position=1You need to use Harvard-UniSA style referencing for your assignments.

Contact Campus Central to arrange an appointment with a Learning Adviser who can provide assistance with referencing, writing reports and more

For further assistance with the Harvard-UniSA referencing style look at the Roadmap to Referencing online guide

References

Loading

US Energy Information Administration

The U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA) collects, analyzes, and disseminates independent and impartial energy information encouraging sound policymaking, efficient markets, and public understanding of energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment. Useful sections of the website include:

  • Sources & uses - information is included for petroleum and other liquids, natural gas, electricity, consumption & efficiency, coal, renewable & alternative fuels, nuclear & uranium and total energy
  • Tools > Data tools & Models - EIA has data, reports, forecasts, analytical content, and documentation to assist researchers.

    Select the Tools link to access data tools & models

  • Statistics can be accessed from here

 

How to find... articles for your literature review

The major articles for your assessment are accessible from your course site e-reader.

To find journal articles for your research you can either search the Library Catalogue or relevant Library Databases.

The Library Catalogue is a search tool that enables you to find relevant information on any topic from the Library’s collection of print and electronic books,  journals and theses, together with journal and newspaper articles from numerous academic databases. You can access the Catalogue from the Library homepage.

Catalogue search example:

"oil prices" AND "stock market"
This search has been limited using the following:

  • Limit to Format: Articles
  • Keep search refinements
  • Show only Peer Reviewed
  • Keep search refinements
  • Date: 2011 to 2016

Tip: Limiting your search will help you to retrieve more relevant results 

 

By limiting by peer review you may exclude industry data so you will need to review your results.

Remember to evaluate your search results

You can search databases to find quality journal articles on your topic.  To find which databases are best suited to your subject area, go to the Database subject list, and select the + next to the Business and Management heading. For this course choose the Finance databases.

Most databases have a limiting feature which will allow you to retrieve items published within a particular year or year range e.g. 2011-2016.

NOTE: Most of the databases can be accessed from outside the UniSA computer network by entering your UniSA network username and password. Some databases and journals require different passwords. These can be accessed from the specific Database page.


Business Source Complete is a large international database which includes many premium peer-reviewed, business related journals and indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals, dating back as far as 1886.

Content covers the areas of management (including arts and cultural management, human resource management and sport and recreation management), marketing, economics, finance, accounting, international business and tourism. It's also a good source of company information and country economic reports.

Just enter your keywords into the search box to start searching.

Business Source Complete database search for oil price/s as a phrase (use double quotes to force a phrase) and stock market/s as a phrase (use double quotes to force a phrase)

You can limit your search to retrieve only peer-reviewed articles by ticking the Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals option. You can also limit your search by date range if you would like to.

For more help with searching Business Source Complete, please see these short videos.

Try the key databases below for Finance or look at the databases for  Acounting and Economics.

Remember to evaluate your search results

Loading

Google Scholar

You may also find suitable academic references for your topic using an internet search engine such as Google Scholar. Google Scholar searches only within academic or scholarly sites, rather than over the whole internet like a regular Google Search.

For more information on using Google Scholar, visit our guide:

Beyond Google for your research subject guide

To use the advanced search option select the down arrow in the search box. You can use many of the same search strategies you use to search the catalogue and databases to search Google Scholar.

Google Scholar Search Example: "oil prices" AND "stock market"

Use double quotes around "oil prices" in the with all of the words field to force a phrase search.

Google Scholar search for all of the words "oil price" (use double quotes for a phrase) AND with the exact phrase stock market

 

Access Google Scholar from the A-Z Database page to access the full text of our subscription materials.

Remember to evaluate your search results

Company and industry information

Trey Ratcliff 'Work in Tokyo', CC Licence: CC BY NC-SA 2.0, Image source: Flickr

          

The Company and Industry Information Guide can help you
to find public and private company and industry information.

 

Here are links to some of the pages you may find useful:

Searching for company and industry information?

image courtesy IBISWorld (http://www.ibisworld.com.au/)

  Try IBIS world!

IBIS contains a profile of each of the top 2000 Australian companies, including information about operating and legal structires, financials, personnel, industries of involvement and service providers.

IBIS also contains detailed reports analysing selected Australian industry sectors. For example type the word finance in the top left hand search box to finance industry related reports.

Some international company and industry information is available by selecting the Global Industry Research button.

Tip: You will need to take note of the access details from the library catalogue online link to access the database.

Can't find what you are looking for try some other suggestions on the Company and industry information guide.

Loading

Managing references

What do you do with all those references you have found?  The Library has two bibliographic management tools that you can use to keep your references in order and all in the one location. Manage your references video

Visit our Managing References guide and watch Manage your references - tools that can help you video to decide which tool is best for you and then get started.

Direct export for EndNote

Direct export allows you to mark items in a database or catalogue, then export them directly into your EndNote library. Many databases now have this feature.

See the PDF file below for detailed information on exporting from specific databases.

For further information regarding EndNote refer to the EndNote guide > Training help & FAQs > Learn EndNote step by step box.

Always check the results of your direct exports for reference type, field data and completeness.

More help

If you need more help try one of these options:"Open Clip Art, 'Help Button', CC Licence: No Copyright, Image Source: openclipart.org"

  • Contact Ask the Library (via Chat, email or phone)
  • If on campus visit the service points at our campus libraries
  • If you are studying outside of Adelaide, living remotely or have difficulty in using the Library in person the Off Campus Library Service can help
  • Have a look at our Researchers page and online videos
  • Use the Help, Tips or Hints screens within the Library Catalogue and the databases