Finance: BANK 5035: Research 1 - SP2 2017

Assessment Details

Research [Image: suttonhoo, 2006, research, http://www.flickr.com/photos/suttonhoo22/305806118/, CC BY-NC-SA 2.0, http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/2.0/deed.en, source: flickr] Assessment Details

Assessment Details

In this course, three related individual assessments are designed to assist you to produce a research proposal for a research project in Finance and/or one of the specialist areas of business. This research proposal demonstrates your understanding and application of the material covered in this course. It is also the basis for the research project that you will do in another course (Research 2-BANK 5036).

A typical research proposal has three main components; introduction, literature review and research plan. The first assessment is to write an introduction for a research project in which you choose your research topic and explain your research question(s). The second assessment is a research project proposal that includes an updated introduction (based on the lecturer's comments and feedback), a literature review and a research plan for your research project. The third assessment is continuous throughout the study period and includes 5 short quizzes on what you have learnt in the course.

Details of assessment submission and return are listed under each assessment task. Assessments will be returned to you within two weeks of submission. Please refer to the Assignment Guideline (Internal) document for specific instructions regarding all assessments in SP2 2017.

** Please refer to the course outline for complete assessment requirements **

 

Assessment 1 Introduction

Weight: 30%
Word limits: 1500 words
Due Date: Friday, 14 April 2017 at 17:00:00, Adelaide time

In this assessment, you are required to write an introduction for your research project in which you propose at least one research question in Finance and/or one of the specialist areas of business. You will be given specific guidelines that will assist you to find a research question. Please note that this research question is for the research project report that you will write some in this study period with the rest to be completed in the next course (Research 2-BANK 5036).

You may want to consult with one of the members of the Finance Discipline at the School of Commerce to choose your topic. The details of the staff and their research areas can be found here (http://www.unisabusinessschool.edu.au/commerce/).

You need to study journal articles and popular press reports around topics of your interest to identify research question/s. You can use a range of sources including academic journal articles via catalogues in library to conduct the required literature review.

Ensure that the study you are proposing in the introduction of this report can be started and completed during the next course (Research 2-BANK 5036). Particularly, you should consider the availability of data to answer your research questions. A list of potential data sources is available on the course homepage. You may want to consider other credible data sources. Please check with the Academic Library Team (Library-business-team@unisa.edu.au) if you have any queries about data sources.

 

**A minimum of 5 academic references (other than the textbook) are expected in this assessment.**

  For full details of the assessment check your Assignment
  Guideline and Course Outline via your Course homepage.

Assessment 2 Research Proposal

Assessment #2 - Research Proposal

Weight: 60%
Word limits: 3000 words
Due Date: Monday, 5 June 2017 at 17:00:00, Adelaide time

The objective of this assessment is to write a research project proposal of no more than 3000 words. The proposal includes three main sections. In section one, you write an updated version of the introduction that you had submitted as assessment 1. This section does not count in the 3000 word limit of your proposal.

In section two, you write a critical literature review related to your research question, and in section three, you propose your research plan to conduct the project. The whole report, excluding the introduction, should be no more than 3000 words.

This report is a research proposal for your research project that you will complete in the next course (BANK 5036).

 

**A minimum of 15 academic references (other than the textbook) are expected in this assessment.**

 

  For full details of the assessment check your Assignment
  Guideline and Course Outline via your Course homepage.

Assessment #3 - Continuous assessment (Graded)

Continuous assessment: quizzes (total weighting = 10%)
In selected weeks, you will be asked a short question (quiz) related to the previous session. There are 5
quizzes in total, and each quiz has a weighting of 2% of your total mark for the course. The first assessment will
be in week 2, followed in weeks 4, 6, 9 and 10. To answer these questions, you do not require any additional preparation time beyond normal expectations for class participation. The question is asked at the beginning of each class and you can use your course materials and slides to answer the question.

Loading

Literature review: overview

Image source: unsplash.com

Jesson, Matheson and Lacey (2011, p. 165 - Doing your literature review: traditional and systematic techniques) provide the following definitions:

Traditional narrative literature review - 'A research method which involves reviewing published and unpublished material. It usually begins with a rationale for the review and is written in a narrative style'

A few of the key initial steps in conducting a literature review include:

  • developing your research statement or question
  • defining any parameters or criteria
  • choosing appropriate search tools
  • searching with appropriate keywords and subject headings (descriptors)
  • selecting relevant material

The Student Engagement Unit (formerly called the Learning and Teaching Unit LTU) guide provides a quick introduction on how to produce a traditional review. This is a useful resource and includes how to begin, write and structure a literature review.

You might find other Library help about Literature Reviews are useful. Be aware that some aspects are specific to Health or Social Sciences and may not be relevant for Literature Reviews in Business.

Path [Adapted from CC0 Public Domain image sourced from Pixabay]

Loading

Online Resources

Think. Plan. Discover. Why Keywords Matter (1 min 30 sec)

View this video for some tips about choosing keywords and searching for information.

Scholarly Sources Explained video

Learn why to use scholarly sources and how to find them

Learn more watch

You be the judge: learn to evaluate video

What is a scholarly source?

A scholarly source, or academic source, is written by a qualified author who is an expert in their field. They are usually published in books or journals, rather than on websites. A scholarly source will likely have a reference list or bibliography at the end of it.Graduate Cap by Freepik. CC BY-3.0: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/, FlatIcon.com: http://www.flaticon.com/free-icon/graduate-cap_62627

How can you tell if a source is scholarly?

Books: A scholarly book or eBook might be from an academic publisher or a University press. You can also find out information about the author and look for their qualifications.

Journals: Many academic journals are peer reviewed. This means that the article has been evaluated by experts on the subject before it was approved for publication.

For more information, read the guide linked below:

Plan your search

It is important before you begin your research to plan your search. You can't search by just typing a sentence into the Library catalogue, databases or Google Scholar.

Consult the Beyond Google For Your Research guide > Construct a search plan section for information on how to develop your literature review search strategy.

Once you decide on your research question/business problem or issue you will need to deconstruct it for keywords, concepts and ideas. You will need these keywords to effectively search in the Library catalogue and databases.

TIPS:

Combing keywords:

You can combine your keywords using OR, AND and NOT.

 

OR will search for either or both of the words. i.e liquidity OR liquidity risk
AND will search for both of the words. i.e liquidity AND Australia
NOT will search for first of your keywords and not the second. i.e  Finance NOT Management
Phrases use double quotes. i.e "literature review". This will search for both of the words together.

Truncation, wildcards and phrases:

* will commonly search for endings of a word. i.e financ* will find finance, finances, financial, financing etc
? will commonly find words spelled in a different way. i.e organi?e will find organise and organize.

IMPORTANT: Please note that all databases are slightly different. Refer to the How to guides below for more detail.

How to find... articles for your literature review

To find journal articles for your research you can either search the Library Catalogue or relevant Library Databases.

Image Source: UniSA Library

The Library Catalogue is a search tool that enables you to find relevant information on any topic from the Library’s collection of print and electronic books,  journals and theses, together with journal and newspaper articles from numerous academic databases. You can access the Catalogue from the Library homepage

Catalogue search example:

"liquidity risk" AND "stock prices" AND Australia
This search has been limited using the following:

  • Limit to Format: Articles
  • Show only Peer Reviewed
  • Date: 2012 to 2017

Tip: Limiting your search will help you to retrieve more relevant results 

 

By limiting by peer review you may exclude industry data so you will need to review your results.

You can search databases to find quality journal articles on your topic.  To find which databases are best suited to your subject area, go to the Database subject list, and select the + next to the Business and Management heading. For this course choose the Finance databases.

Most databases have a limiting feature which will allow you to retrieve items published within a particular year or year range e.g. 2012-2017.

NOTE: Most of the databases can be accessed from outside the UniSA computer network by entering your UniSA network username and password. Some databases and journals require different passwords. These can be accessed from the specific Database page.


Business Source Complete is a large international database which includes many premium peer-reviewed, business related journals and indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals, dating back as far as 1886.

Content covers the areas of finance, accounting, economics, international business, management, marketing and tourism. It's also a good source of company information.

Just enter your keywords into the search box to start searching.

Business Source Complete research for the phrase "liquidity risk" OR liquidity AND the phrase "stock prices" OR "equity prices"

You can limit your search to retrieve only peer-reviewed articles by ticking the Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals option. You can also limit your search by date range if you would like to.

For more help with searching Business Source Complete, please see these short videos.

Try the key databases below for Finance or look at the databases for  Acounting and Economics.

NEW: The following databases have recently been subscribed to by the Library. These databases may assist you with your Report and Research Proposal:

Global Finanial Data:
Global Financial Data is a collection of financial and economic data provided in ASCII or Excel format. Data includes: long-term historical indices on stock markets; Total Return data on stocks, bonds, and bills; interest rates; exchange rates; inflation rates; bond indices; commodity indices and prices; consumer price indices; gross domestic product; individual stocks; sector indices; treasury bill yields; wholesale price indices; and unemployment rates covering over 200 countries

  • Note that you will need to create an account to access Global Financial Data and that the subsequent verification email you receive may be located in your email junk folder

Orbis Bank Focus:
Orbis Bank Focus contains detailed information on banks worldwide, providing ‘as reported’ financial items available both in English and local languages, local GAAP and IFRS formats whenever available

You may also find suitable academic references for your topic using an internet search engine such as Google Scholar. Google Scholar searches only within academic or scholarly sites, rather than over the whole internet like a regular Google Search.

For more information on using Google Scholar, visit our guide:

Beyond Google for your research subject guide

To use the advanced search option select the down arrow in the search box. You can use many of the same search strategies you use to search the catalogue and databases to search the web. Google Scholar - tips

Google Scholar Search Example: "liquidity risk" AND "stock prices" AND Australia

You could add the term Australia to your search if you want to limit to Australian articles.

Image Source: UniSA Library

Access Google Scholar from the Library homepage to access the full text of our subscription materials.

Loading

Company and industry information

Trey Ratcliff 'Work in Tokyo', CC Licence: CC BY NC-SA 2.0, Image source: Flickr

          

The Company and Industry Information Guide can help you
to find public and private company and industry information.

 

Here are links to some of the pages you may find useful:

Searching for company and industry information?

image courtesy IBISWorld (http://www.ibisworld.com.au/)

  Try IBIS world!

IBIS contains a profile of each of the top 2000 Australian companies, including information about operating and legal structires, financials, personnel, industries of involvement and service providers.

IBIS also contains detailed reports analysing selected Australian industry sectors. For example type the word finance in the top left hand search box to finance industry related reports.

Some international company and industry information is available by selecting the Global Industry Research button.

Tip: You will need to take note of the username and password and access from the access link

Can't find what you are looking for try some other suggestions on the Company and industry information guide.

Loading

Social Science Research Network (SSRN) - Useful for finding working papers

SSRN logo

  • enter your search terms in the top right search box eg liquidity AND "stock prices"
  • IMPORTANT: You may need to create a free username and password in order to download working papers etc.

Primary data sources

Primary data is collected by the researcher themselves. Examples of primary data can include:

  • Questionnaires
  • Observations
  • Interviews

Select this link to see some articles on primary data.

The "Constructing graphs, tables and diagrams" document produced by the Student Engagement Unit (formerly the Learning and Teaching Unit) will give you information about how to display and analyse your data.

construction graphs, tables and diagrams

Secondary data and hard data sources

Secondary data tends to be readily available and not collected by the researcher themselves.

Many of the Subject Guides will help you to find data such as statistics from organisations like the Australian Bureau of Statistics. As a start you may want to look at the statistics page in the Business Subject Guide.

Other sources of secondary information will be available from your course site. There are some databases that you can use to download hard/raw data as per your research question, and analyse those data using statistical packages.

Hard data in the context of this course is any research question that relates to investments eg

  • Capital expenditure
  • Research and Development
  • Business Acquisitions

Usually this information is located in the Balance Sheet of the particular resource.

Hard data may be found in sources such as DatAnalysis Premium, Eikon / Datastream Professional, Global Finanial Data and Orbis Bank Focus.

Refer to the document on your course site for a complete list of these and other hard data sources.

Referencing

Need help referencing? Follow the roadmap!

Jason Grant 'Roadmap to referencing', January 2013 [Image source: UniSA Library]

The Roadmap to Referencing site gives you examples of how to reference using the Harvard-UniSA style.

Harvard Referencing-UniSA Guide

View the StudyHelp site for more information

 

What do you do with all those references you have found?  The Library has two bibliographic management tools that you can use to keep your references in order and all in the one location. Manage your references video

Visit our Managing References guide and watch Manage your references - tools that can help you video to decide which tool is best for you and then get started.

Loading

References

Loading

More help

If you need more help try one of these options:"Open Clip Art, 'Help Button', CC Licence: No Copyright, Image Source: openclipart.org"

  • Contact Ask the Library (via Chat, email or phone)
  • Access the Service points at any of our Libraries
  • If you are studying outside of Adelaide, living remotely or have difficulty in using the Library in person the Off Campus Library Service can help
  • Have a look at our Researchers page and online videos
  • Use the Help, Tips or Hints screens within the Library Catalogue and the databases