Pharmacological Sciences: Assignment Help

PHAR 1005: Pharmaceutical Industry

This workshop will get you started finding resources for the Group Project. Read all information related to your assessment to understand what your lecturers are looking for when marking:

  • Learnonline site
  • Course Outline
  • Marking Criteria / Feedback Form

This will help you gain an overall understanding of the assessment and will help you plan the structure and the content of your assignment based on assessment marking criteria.

This workshop consists of 6 sections:

  1. Understand your task
  2. Develop your Search Strategy
  3. Search for Information
  4. Evaluate and select resources
  5. Write your Report / Presentation
  6. Cite and Reference

Follow the above sections in order and attempt the tasks in each section to get maximum benefit from this assignment help!

Assignment: Group Project and Presentation (Graded)

 Assessment Activity

 Sub-weighting

 Due date (Adelaide Time)

 Submit via

Typed report

All activities equally weighted

7 Nov 2017, 5:00 PM

learnonline

Oral presentation

All activities equally weighted

To be advised

In person

 
The length of the written report should be such that there will be a maximum of 2,000 words per student. If a less wordy report can be submitted, that would be preferred. The oral presentation should be no more than about 4 min per student. Marks will be taken off for excessive use of time. The dossier will be allocated 70% of overall group mark for this assignment and the oral presentation 30%. The group mark will be individualised following peer review.
 

Weekly Workshop assignment content:

  • Develop a 3 min to 4 min oral presentation that delivers key information on your company
  • Present an overview of the company and any positions currently available
  • Discuss key issues relating to your company that may affect the job application process
  • Provide information on your product, critically analyse the information sources used
  • Highlight quality control issues associated with your product
  • Find one report or journal article of a human study involving your product/drug, discuss this with reference to Good Clinical Practice

Suggested headings for the report:

  • Product information – name of medicine, chemical properties, product description, pharmacology (dynamics, kinetics), clinical trial evidence, indications, contraindications, precautions, adverse effects, dosage, administration, overdosage, presentation & storage conditions, poison schedule, name and address of sponsor, date of approval (Australia)
  • Marketing information, including SWOT analysis
  • Intellectual property, patents
Loading

Understand your Task

To understand what is being asked of you for this assignment, consider the following:

  1. Task word(s) - what you need to do in your assignment (e.g. develop, present, discuss)
  2. Find the content words in the task.  These words indicate the 'what' - the content area
    For example: "discuss key issues relating to your particular company that may affect the job application process"
  3. Identify the limits of the task:
  • Time limit:  Check your due date! Penalties for exceeding the presentation time apply.
  • Percentage limit:   How much time and energy should you invest?
  • Word count limit:  How much detail can you include in your paper? Penalties will apply for exceeding the limits.
Your task: Make a 'guess-timate plan' of what and how much research you need, considering 1, 2, 3 above.

2. Develop your search strategy

Identify key concepts in each subtopic that you identified from your assessment question.

To develop an effective search strategy you need to break each subtopic into concepts (or parts) and choose the important keywords (or topic words) from each concept.

Watch this video to learn how to break the each subtopic into concepts.

Lets apply what we learnt from the video to this example assignment topic: Find one report of journal article of a human study involving Lexapro, discuss this with reference to Good Clinical Practice.

  Concept 1 Concept 2 Concept 3
Example Topic: Lexapro human Good Clinical Practice

Your task: Identify key concepts for each aspect of your assessment.

HINT: The dot points in the assignment question will give you some starting terms. You aren't likely to find a paper that talks about all of the issues however. You may need to do a few different searches- one on each aspect.

Now you need to identify synonyms for the key concepts that you identified

The next step in the search process it to see whether there are alternative words or spellings for each concept that you identified.

Watch this video to learn how to do this:

Lets apply what we learnt from the video to this example assignment subtopic: Find one report of journal article of a human study involving Lexapro, discuss this with reference to Good Clinical Practice.

  Concept 1 Concept 2

Concept 3

Example topic Lexapro Human Good Clinical Practice
Synonyms

Escitalopram

Adults

Children

GCP

best practice

Your task: Now see whether you can identify synonyms for the key concepts that you selected

Here is how you combine the search terms that you identified before you start searching in databases.

First watch this video to learn how to connect and combine search terms

Lets apply what we learnt from the video to this example assignment subtopic: Find one report of journal article of a human study involving Lexapro, discuss this with reference to Good Clinical Practice?

lexapro OR escitalopram
AND
human OR adult* or child*
AND
"good clinical practice" OR GCP OR "best practice"
 

Your task: Develop a search strategy by combining the concepts and keywords that you identified. Consider adding an extra concept related to the drug's purpose (e.g. for lexapro, add depression)

HINT: Still stuck? View our How To Guides below to learn more.

Loading

3. Searching for Information

Fast facts about Library databases:

  • Can be general (multidisciplinary) or subject-specific
  • May contain full text, or just index citation details
  • Some focus on primary papers (original research, i.e Randomised Controlled Trials)
  • Others focus on secondary (usually syntheses of research, i.e Systematic Reviews)
  • Many allow your search to be limited to a specific type of study

 

View our Find Information page, for a full list of Pharmacological Sciences databases

Australian Public Assessment Reports for prescription medicines (AusPARs) Includes TGA approval notes. Browse by active ingredient orproduct name. May be the only source of information for your drug, especially if it is new.

Medicines Complete – Collection of drug information handbooks

MIMS online (5 user licence) – Australia's medicine database which includes full medicines information, product images, consumer medicines information and The Australian Prescriptions Product Guide (APP Guide). 

Scopus - a multidisciplinary database

 

Hint: More drug information sources are listed on the Pharmacological Sciences Database subjects list or the Drug Information page of this guide.

Business Source Complete allows you to find company profiles and reports, and market analysis reports from Medtrak or Marketline.

Company Profiles search
Go to the More tab and select Company Profiles

Search for the company you are interested in, e.g. Bayer
Click on the PDF to see the full report. Sections include SWOT analysis (required for your assignment) and Business description

Company information search
Now try searching the Company information tab. 

This searches the whole database and limits to relevant publication types – see the Related Information box once you select the company name. You can use these options to reduce your search results to market research reports, SWOT analyses etc. 

 

No results? Check:

  • Has the name of the company changed? - eg Sanofi Aventis is now known as Sanofi
  • Have you searched the full name and abbreviations? - eg GSK OR GlaxoSmithKline
  • Have you made a typo?
  • Have you tried searching for just one name word if the exact company name doesn't work? - eg for Boeringher Ingelheim try searching for Ingelheim
  • Have you tried searching for the parent company, except where specifically stated that the company is Australian

 

Hint: Additional sources of Company information are detailed on the Company and Industry Information Tab

Business Source Complete has information about the pharmaceutical industry in addition to company information.

To find information about the Australian pharmaceutical industry, try:

  • Using double quotes around the industry name, and the Truncation symbol * to find endings for the word australia* (Australian, Australia's)
  • Limiting the search to a Publication date range -  2012 onwards
  • Limiting the search to Industry Profiles

Search:

 Results

 

IbisWorld contains industry data in the form of Industry market research reports as well as some individual company reports. Most of these you can access in full including:

  • Pharmaceutical Product Manufacturing in Australia
  • Global Pharmaceuticals & Medicine Manufacturing
  • Pharmaceuticals Wholesaling in Australia

Once you have logged on to the database, search for the title of the report you are after. Note the date of the report.

 

Hint: Additional sources of Company information are detailed on the Company and Industry Information Tab

Consult the Patents guide for sources of Patent information.

Media coverage
Newspapers may be a source of information about products and companies. The News Media guide will provide you with relevant database to search. Newsbank newspapers - gives full text access to many newspapers from around the world

Hint: when entering terms, change All text to Lead/First paragraph to increase relevance.

 

Search engines

Google Scholar – looks for scholarly sources eg gov., edu. Try Advanced Scholar Search

Google - Use to find “grey literature”, such as government websites.

Google Advanced search example

  • Limit to Australian government sites by adding .gov.au to the 'site or domain' box

 

HON Code
 Health on the Net (HON) is a non-profit, non-governmental organization, accredited to the Economic and Social Council of the United Nations. You can search for web pages that display the logo and can be sure that the content has been verified as good quality.

  • From Google search screen add the word honcode

Google Scholar Advanced Search honcode

Loading

4. Evaluate and Select your Resources

You should use academic literature for your assignments. 

Academic literature are materials written by researchers for an academic audience. Some are from Peer reviewed journals, meaning that such articles must pass an quality assurance process by experts before being published. The term refereed is also used.

Watch the Scholarly sources explained video or the video below.

NCSU Libraries, Peer Review in 3 minutes (Creative Commons 3.0 BY-NC-SA US ) 
 

Your task: Apply what you learnt from the video to ensure that references that you selected are academic/peer reviewed.

It is important that you evaluate websites to ensure the information presented is reliable. Consider:

  • Authority
    • who wrote it?
    • what are their qualifications/credentials?
    • is it from an authoritative source?
  • Timeliness
    • when was the information published?
    • is it updated regularly?
  • Bias
    • is it fact, opinion or propaganda?
  • Relevance
    • is the information relevant to the assignment topic?
    • does the information actually cover your topic?
Your task: Apply what you learnt from the video to ensure that references that you selected are reliable
Loading

5. Write your Report / Presentation

Use the marking criteria and your knowledge of the assessment to plan the structure and content of your assignment.

Select the Assignment box on the Study Help page for information from Learning Advisors on writing reports and on delivering oral presentations.

6. Cite and Reference

You MUST acknowledge ("cite") each time you use someone else’s ideas in your paper, including when paraphrasing, summarising, quoting or reproducing a diagram, graph or table etc.
 

 Each reference must appear in two places:
 1. shown in the text of your assignment each time it is used (the in-text reference)
 2. listed in entirety once in the reference list at the end of the assignment. 
 

Use the Harvard UniSA referencing system as explained in the UniSA resources. See:

Your task: make sure that your references are formatted correctly