Human Resource Management: BUSS 5351: Recruitment and Selection - Assignment 1 - SP1 2017

Assessment 1

Assessment 1

2,400 words (+/10%)

Put yourself in the role of a recruitment consultant who has been commissioned by a senior manager of an organisation (your own place of work, one you may be familiar with or a fictitious example) to help in the filling of a vacant position you choose (any occupation, and one that you may be aware of within an organisation of your choice or a fictitious example). Prepare, as the body of your submission, a report for this senior manager that provides an explanation of the importance of sound recruitment and selection practices together with a recommended course of action for filling this particular position based on your research of the relevant literature. Also, prepare and attach to your submission (as an appendix so as for it not to count in the 2,400 words) an appropriate position description and job specification for the subject position.

You will need to prepare this documentation in a clear, logical format that can be easily read by a manager who does not have any familiarity with HR. The format of your presentation (i.e. in essay OR report format) is of your choosing.

Important: *For further information please refer to the Course Outline*

Finding information using the Library catalogue

Use the Library Catalogue to find books and articles

The Library Catalogue is a search tool that enables you to find relevant information on any topic from the Library’s collection of print and electronic books,  journals and theses, together with journal and newspaper articles from numerous academic databases. You can access the Catalogue from the Library homepage

Type your keywords into the Library catalogue search box to find books, journal articles, etc. which contain those keywords.

Catalogue search examples:

"selection strategy" AND "human resource management"

"job advertisement" AND recruitment

"recruitment process" AND "human resource management"

"employee selection"

"talent acquisition"

Finding too many results?

Try refining your search:

  • limit the Publication date to find only recent items eg. 2011 - 2016
  • limit by Format for example you can narrow your search to only show articles and/or books (to select more than one choose the 'more' option)
  • limit your search by Subject this way you can take out items not in your subject area (select 'more' to include or exclude more than one)

 

Want to find ebooks?

The Library has many eBooks which you can view online or download.

To find only eBooks limit your search results to:

  • Show Only: Full Text Online
  • Format: Books

* Here is an example search for "talent acquisition" with the limits applied *

To download an eBook:

  • you need the free software Adobe Digital Editions (link on our ebook guide)
  • if you are using an Apple device (iPhone, iPad) or an Android device you will also need an app such as Bluefire Reader or Aldiko (both available for free) 

For more information and links visit the downloading ebooks page in our Ebook guide

UniSA  Ebook guide

Loading

Finding information using databases and Google Scholar

Image source: Picjumbo.com

Use the library databases to find information

Search databases to find quality journal articles on your topic. By searching in a database in your subject area it will narrow your results allowing you to find more relevant articles. Databases also contain many ways to limit your results

The Library subscribes to many different databases, so it can be difficult to know which ones to use for your assignments.

To find which databases are best suited to your subject area, go to the Business and management subject heading at the right of the database listings and select the heading Human Resource Management.

Most databases have a limiting feature which will allow you to retrieve items published within a particular year or year range e.g. 2012-2016.

Key databases for Human Resource Management include:

Here are some sample searches using different databases:

ABI/INFORM - use the advanced search option

 

Business Source Complete

 

Emerald: insight - advanced search

 

ScienceDirect - advanced search.
TIP:
Select Business, Management and Accounting form the drop-down list to limit your search to articles published in these subject areas.

You can also find information your assignmentc using an internet search engine such as Google Scholar. Google Scholar searches only within academic or scholarly sites, rather than over the whole internet like a regular Google Search. For more information on using Google Scholar, have a look at our Beyond Google for your Research Guide.

By accessing Google Scholar from within the library website, you will be able link directly to articles that the Library has access to by clicking on the Full-text at UniSA link.

To use the advanced search option, select the down arrow in the search box. You can use many of the same search strategies you use to search the catalogue and databases to search the web.

.

Google Scholar advanced search

Here is an example of a search using in Google Scholar:

 
Articles with a Fulltext at UniSA link next to them are freely available to you through the Library - select this link to open a copy of the article you are interested in.
 
 
Many institutions make their research openly available to everyone, regardless of whether or not you are a student there. If you see a PDF link to a paper you should be able to access it, even if it doesn't have a Full-text at UniSA link next to it.
Loading

Textbook

Plan your search

Taki Steve 'Keys', CC Licence: CC BY 2.0, Image source: Flickr

To find information for your report you'll need to construct a search strategy. Identify the main concepts of the topic and think about what keywords you can use in your search.

Freepik 'Clapperboard', CC Licence: CC BY 3.0, Image source: Flaticon.com

 

  Watch our quick video Think.Plan. Discover. Why keywords matter

 

Combining keywords:

You can combine your keywords using OR, AND and NOT.

OR: will search for either or both of the words. i.e work OR job

AND: will search for both of the words. i.e manage AND employees

NOT: will search for first of your keywords and not the second. i.e  business NOT health

For phrases use double quotes. i.e "literature review". This will search for both of the words together.

Truncation, wildcards and phrases:

* will commonly search for endings of a word. i.e manage* will find manger, managers, managing, management etc
? will commonly find words spelled in a different way. i.e organi?e will find organise and organize.

Please note that all databases are slightly different. Refer to the How to guides below for more detail.

Evaluating your resources

Image source: Startupstockphotos.com

Not sure if the information you have found is good quality? It is important to evaluate before you use it in your academic work.

Freepik 'Clapperboard', CC Licence: CC BY 3.0, Image source: Flaticon.com  
  Watch our video You be the Judge - learn to evaluate

Get more help

Need more help?  Try one of these options