Human Resource Management: BUSS 2043: Foundations of HRM - 2017 SP 2 Assessment Case Study

Assessment - Case Study

** Case Study to be advised **

This individual assessment has two parts. It requires you to provide comprehensive written case study responses.

During the course you will be given access a case study. You are required to review the case and respond to the questions included in the case. You are expected to demonstrate an in-depth understanding of relevant HRM concepts in your response.

In order to develop student knowledge and skills, this course employs a ‘fourfold’ approach to learning: concrete situations, reflection, analysis and action. The aim of this assessment is to help you develop your critical thinking skills. Case study analysis provides you the opportunity to enhance your understanding of HRM concepts by applying them to realistic scenarios.

Assignment objectives:

  • demonstrate knowledge of the variety of techniques available to HR practitioners in carrying out operational HRM activities
  • identify appropriate techniques for use in specific operational HRM situations.

This is a summary of the assessment, please consult the Outline for this Unit for further information.

What is a Case Study?

Businessman clients portfolio icon by Freepik.com, CC BY 3.0: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/, Flickr: http://www.flaticon.com/free-icon/businessman-clients-portfolio_46774Case studies are descriptions of situations which you will likely encounter within your chosen discipline. They provide you with the opportunity to think about the complexities, make connections between theory and real life examples and provide a practical solution to real life problems. (adapted from 'Case studies' document by Student Engagement Unit)

For help with reading and analysing case studies, have a look at these:

Case study analysis requires you to reflect (critically think about the case study questions and the HR concept/s the case study raises). This guide will help you get started:

Strategies

Taki Steve 'Keys', CC Licence: CC BY 2.0, Image source: Flickr

Freepik 'Clapperboard', CC Licence: CC BY 3.0, Image source: Flaticon.com   Watch our quick video Think.Plan. Discover. Why keywords matter

 

To find information for your assignment you'll need to construct a search strategy. Identify the main concepts of the topic and think about what keywords you can use in your search.

See our quick How to guides below for tips on keywords and how to connect and combine them in a search and wildcards and truncation which can help you find different spellings and alternative endings. For example: manag*  will find manage, managers, management, managerial

See the diagram below for the main concepts and keywords for 'fig. 7. HR metrics' from page 203 of : Ulrich,D & Dulebohn 2015, 'Are we there yet? What's next for HR?', Human Resource Management Review, vol.25, issue 2, June.

Notice that there are many similar words (synonyms) or related words that describe the main concepts.

keywords for fig.7

For help in connecting, combining and using search terms please see the guides below.

Charles Clegg 'Book Shelves', CC Licence: CC BY 2.0, Image source: Flickr

You are expected to find references from refereed/peer reviewed academic journal articles.

The articles in academic journals are by authors who have an in-depth knowledge and expertise in a discipline, and who are recognised as experts in their field. Some aspects of an academic journal article are:

  • name and affiliation of the author is listed
  • article includes an extensive reference list
  • academic articles are generally more current than books

**Not all academic journals are peer reviewed/refereed)**


           Freepik 'Clapperboard', CC Licence: CC BY 3.0, Image source: Flaticon.comSee our links below for a quick video and how to guide

Image source: Startupstockphotos.com

Not sure if the information you have found is good quality? It is important to evaluate before you use it in your academic work.

Freepik 'Clapperboard', CC Licence: CC BY 3.0, Image source: Flaticon.com  
  Watch our video You be the Judge - learn to evaluate

Loading

Where to search for information

Image source: Unsplash.com

Click on the tabs above for information and tips on searching

To find journal articles for your research you can either search the Library Catalogue or relevant Library Databases.

The Library Catalogue is a search tool that enables you to find relevant information on any topic from the Library’s collection of print and electronic books,  journals and theses, together with journal and newspaper articles from numerous academic databases. You can access the Catalogue from the Library homepage

Catalogue search example:

"human resource management" AND organisations  
This search has been limited using the following:

  • Limit to Format: Articles
  • Show only: Peer Reviewed
  • Date: 2012 to 2017
  • Limit Subject: Human Resource Management

  Tip: Limiting your search will help you to retrieve more relevant results 

Freepik 'Cloud computing', CC Licence: CC BY 3.0, Image source: Freepik.comWant to find ebooks?

The Library has many eBooks which you can view online or download. Find them via the Library Catalogue

An example search is: "human resource management" AND organisations
To find only eBooks limit your search results to:

  • Show Only: Full Text Online
  • Format: Books
  • The above search was also limited to the publication date range of 2012 to 2017

To download an eBook:

  • you need the free software Adobe Digital Editions (link on our ebook guide)
  • if you are using an Apple device (iPhone, iPad) or an Android device you will also need an app such as Bluefire Reader or Aldiko (both available for free) 

For more information and links visit the downloading ebooks page in our Ebook guide

UniSA  Ebook guide

You can search databases to find quality journal articles on your topic.  To find which databases are best suited to your subject area, go to the Business and management subject heading at the right of the database listings and select the heading Human Resource Management.

Most databases have a limiting feature which will allow you to retrieve items published within a particular year or year range e.g. 2012-2016.

Key databases for human resource management:

Here's an example of a database search using Business Source Complete

Business Source Complete Search Example

Refine your search by date range 2012 - 2017 and Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) journals

You may also find suitable academic references for your topic using an internet search engine such as Google Scholar. Google Scholar searches only within academic or scholarly sites, rather than over the whole internet like a regular Google Search. For more information on using Google Scholar, visit the Beyond Google for your Research Guide.

Beyond Google for your Research guide

IMPORTANT: By accessing Google Scholar via the library website you are entitled to access UniSAs licensed resources and may be able to link directly to articles by clicking on the Full-text at UniSA link.

To use the advanced search option:select the down arrow in the search box. You can use many of the same search strategies you use to search the catalogue and databases to search the web.

Google Scholar Search Example:
**This search has been limited to items since 2012**

If you use Google Scholar to locate an article, include date viewed and URL.

For example:

Murray, N 2012, 'A report on a pilot English language intervention model for undergraduate trainee nurses', Journal of Academic Language & Learning, vol. 6, no. 1, pp. 48-63, viewed 7 December 2013, http://journal.aall.org.au/index.php/jall/article/view/135/128 .

Refer to the Roadmap to Referencing resource for more information.

Loading

Recommended references

Image source: Picjumbo.com

Click on the tabs above to find links to resources recommended for you in the Unit Outline


A great resource for finding articles as it is a refereed academic journal, so it contains  articles of high quality. Other excellent HRM academic journals you could use for your case study include:

Please note:

  • Sometimes a journal is available through more than one database. In these cases, choose the link which includes the most recent articles.
  • Once you're in a journal, you can then search the contents to find articles relevant to your assessment.
Loading

Other sources

Image source: Startupstockphotos.com

Finding newspaper articles via databases
"Jan Kromer, 'Novinky: the news', CC Licence: Attribution 2.0 Generic, image source: flickr"
A great place to search for newspaper articles is via one of the databases. You can find newspaper databases listed under the News subject heading under multidisciplinary on the right of the A-Z database listings page.

The databases listed below contain both Australian and international content:

Finding newspaper articles via the Library Catalogue.

The catalogue automatically excludes newspaper articles but you can add them back in to your results after searching:

Catalogue search example:

"human resource management"

This search has been limited using the following steps:

  • Additional resources: Newspaper articles (this adds newspapers articles to your results)
  • Format: Newspaper articles (this limits your search to newspaper articles only, and excludes all other formats from your results - you add them in and then take out everything else)
  • Date: 2012-2017


For more information about finding newspaper articles check out:

There are several ways that you can find case studies:

  • many textbooks and recommended readings include case studies
  • add the phrase case studies to your search
  • limit by format/content type eg book or eBook 

Try this Library catalogue search below to find case studies within eBooks from 2012 to 2017.

You can also try the above search in our databases (see our tab on databases above for links and tips).

Here are some database examples:

Kim Davies, ‘Parliament of South Australia’, CC BY-NC-ND 2.0 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/), image source: flickr (https://www.flickr.com/photos/kjd/2095788804/)

 

Professional associations are another source of excellent information. They provide both research and applied material, as well as the views of practitioners, and the help to market HRM as a key aspect of business practice.  

You can find links to professional HR associations such as the Australian Human Resources Institute (AHRI) as well as international equivalents here

Loading

Referencing

Saving links to your references

When citing links to your references from databases, you should where possible use the permanent link. The URL from your browser session may not provide future access to the article.  Alternatively you can use the DOI (Digital Object Identifier) as an alternative to URLs, see the example from the Roadmap to Referencing. If no DOI or Permalink is available, still include the URL.

Not all databases offer this option.

Need help referencing? Follow the roadmap!

Jason Grant 'Roadmap to referencing', January 2013 [Image source: UniSA Library]

The Roadmap to Referencing site gives you examples of how to reference using the Harvard-UniSA style. It is recommended by your lecturer that you download a hard copy.

Get more help

Need more help?  Try one of these options ...

~ Explore our Human Resource Management and Management Subject Guides

~ Contact Ask the Library (via chat, phone or email)

~ If you are studying externally, living remotely or have difficulty in using the Library in person the Off Campus Library Service can help

~ Check out our How To Guides and Videos

** Need help with the assessment? **

Go to the Student Engagement Unit's Study Help guide and click on 'Improving your academic skills' for information on academic  writing