Pedagogies in Practice

The collection aims to support pre-service teachers. It contains the latest physical and digital resources that can be used to plan for field placements within schools. The collection is held at both the Mawson Lakes and Magill Libraries and organised by the Australian Curriculum Learning Areas (ACARA).

Video length: 1 min 48 sec

Special Collection

A browsing view with pictures of all items but limited search functionality:

Library Collection - online

A more advanced search interface with all the limits and functionality of the Library collection.

Try searching by Subject area, theme or age group e.g. science, mathematics, literacy, numeracy, high school, secondary school, primary school.

NOTE: Subject searches may also retrieve older materials from the History of Primary Education (HOPE) Collection (identified by a call number with the prefix HOPE). To exclude these from your search results, sort by date to see the most recent items, or use the Collection limit to exclude them.

To search beyond the Pedagogies in Practice collection, either select Reset filters or the X alongside the filter under Active filters. This will extend your search across the full library collection.

Other filters you may be interested in applying include:

Children's Book Council of Australia (CBCA)

To find CBCA nominated titles, you can search the Library Collection using "Children's Book Council of Australia" OR CBCA OR "Book of the year".

Or, search for different categories, EG:

• "Book of the year: older readers"
• "Book of the year: younger readers"
• "Book of the year: early childhood"
• "Picture book of the year"
• "Eve Pownall Award"
• "CBCA Award for new illustrator"

Library Collection - physical

Each item record in the collection tells you its Availability e.g. online or shelf location.

For items on the shelf you need to:

• Note the location - Mawson Lakes or Magill Library
• Note the category colour, number and letter sequence this is the location to go to within the Pedagogies in Practice collection

• Find the category colour (ACARA Learning Area) Yellow
• Follow the number sequence until you locate the number 790
• Look at letter sequence at the end to find it FNSC

Modern Teaching Aid Pty Ltd 2020, Flexible nylon sports cones., Modern Teaching Aids Pty Ltd, Brookvale, New South Wales.

ClickView

Reading Australia

Story Box Library

The University of South Australia aims to empower all teachers to integrate Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander histories and cultures in their teaching using curriculum resources that incorporate Indigenous knowledge.

Request

Resources from the collection may be requested and collected at another campus, just sign into the Library using your user name and password.

Video length: 2 min 52 sec

NOTE: Limits/refinements in video are now located on the right of the search results.

Borrow

1. Take the items to a self check machine:

Mawson Lakes - located on Level 1 in the foyer opposite the AskLibrary/AskIT Service Point

Magill - there are two, immediately to the left or straight ahead as you enter the Library, next to the AskLibary/AskIT Service Point

2. Scan your Student ID card

3. Place items on the bench

4. They will automatically scan and appear on the screen

5. Double check the number of items match what you are borrowing

6. Select finish

Return

Before returning items, ensure they are in the same condition you borrowed them in – that means please clean the item, either with disinfectant wipes or a spray. If parts of the item break or pieces go missing, contact Ask the Library so we can repair or arrange replacements.

At Mawson Lakes:

1. Through the returns chute in the glass foyer before you enter the Library
2. Oversized items place directly in the Returns bin in the Returns Room - a sign on the chute shows how to find the Returns Room (NOTE: after hours scan your Student ID card to enter the building)

At Magill:

1. Through the returns chute on the left of the entrance before entering the Library
2. Oversized items will need to be returned manually via the self check machine (NOTE: after hours scan your Student ID card to enter the building)
3. Select the “Return” function and place in the wire basket provided

At City East/City West

• Return during Library hours: 9am-6pm. Please call Ask the Library for assistance.

Borrow, Return, Request

Resources from the collection may be requested and sent to you, just sign into the Library collection using your user name and password.

Video length: 3 min 0 sec

NOTE: Limits/refinements in video are now located on the right of the search results.

Suggest a resource

If you see or use a resource while you are on placement we want to know. Contact Ask the Library or fill in the below form.