Education: Literature reviews

Tips and resources for literature reviews

Literature review

Conducting a literature review?

To find material on the topic and manage what you find you will need to:

  • determine your selection criteria
  • search a variety of different search tools
  • search using a variety of keywords and subject headings (descriptors) in various combinations
  • capture and organise your search results using a tool such as EndNote

Face-to-face workshops and assistance

Study Help

Study Help: Online resources

Guidance on conducting a literature review

Databases and thesauri - tutorials/information

ERIC (on Ebsco) Thesaurus. the following video was produced by The Gertrude Gilmer Odum Library from Valdosta State University in Valdosta.

 

A few relevant databases

Capturing your search strategy

All of the databases listed on this page have a Search History function.

This enables you to view all of the searches that you have perfomed in a search session (including any limits applied), edit and re-run searches, variously combine searches and save searches for future reference. You may need to select 'Search History' to reveal the table.

Details can be copied from the Search History to demonstrate the search strategy used for your review.

E.g. for ERIC

ERIC search history

Special research collections in the UniSA Library

The Library's special collections support particular areas of teaching, learning and research and contain rare, fragile, archival or culturally sensitive material. The collections have limited access conditions which vary according to the purpose and nature of each collection. Follow the links below for descriptions of the collections and guidelines on their access.

For further information about these collections contact Ask the Library (via Chat, phone or email).