Education: EDUC 1088: Food and Society

Assignment 1 - Essay Parts 1 & 2

Finding resources for Assessment 1 - Essay

The task is to assist in developing ethical understandings and make judgment on sustainable production, marketing of food and food solutions for healthy eating.  You have four questions/topics to select from.

  1. Foods security can mean raising production, access, affordability and utilization of food. With the anticipated extra 2 billion people by 2050, what do you think the major issues regarding equity of access to food and food security will be?
  2. Discuss the assumption that expanding consumer choice automatically improves public health 
  3. Discuss the assumption that the population should be responsible for their own health
  4. Do you think the lack of personal food preparation skills are associated with the increased availability of pre-cooked, processed, ready to eat meals, do you see this as an issue for the future? Discuss 

 

Unpacking the question.

  • Decide on your topic.
  • What do you already know about the topic?
  • What are the key concepts?
  • What do you want to know about the topic? Ask yourself some questions.
  • Will you refine only to examples relating to a specific group? e.g. adolescents.
  • Will you look at Australian examples or international?
  • What date range will you include in the search? Last 5 years?
  • How does this relate to your teaching?
Loading

Keywords and Phrases

  1. food security, food production, food access, food affordability, food equity, food accessibility, increasing population, over population, food governance, issues, challenges
  2. consumer choice, food choice, public health, improve, influence, impact, effect, food and health, food access, health promotion, wellness programs, consumer attitudes, consumer behavior, food habits
  3. population health, responsibility, accountability, state, public, personal, individual, health citizenship, food consumption, consumers, health behaviour, health behavior
  4. pre-cooked food, processed food, food processing industry, convenience foods, fast food, easy meals, ready meals, food preparation, meal preparation, cooking, consumption habits, food-choice, meals, nutrition, lifestyle, time, marketing

Here are some, what other keywords can you think of?

Searching

To find journal articles you can either search the Library Catalogue or relevant Library Databases.

Catalogue search examples:

Think of ways to refine the results: date, subject, add another concept, peer reviewed, format (books or articles), change the words you are using. Look at the descriptors others are using in their publication.


Database search examples using EBSCOhost Research Databases

This collection searches a number of databases simultaneously including Business Source Complete, Humanities International. Education Research Complete, ERIC and Psychology and Behavioral Sciences.

Below are several databases that relate to this topic.  They are not all specific to Education so you may want to check the complete list of databases with Education content for more.

Google Scholar is another great resource for you. Always access Google Scholar through the Library pages so you will be directed to the full text document if we have it.

[Andrew Fitzsimon, "Thumbnail", Image Source: Open Clip Art Library http://www.openclipart.org/detail/25565, CC0 1.0 http://creativecommons.org/publicdomain/zero/1.0/]You will find books along with articles by searching the Library Catalogue. You can refine your search using the limiters in the left hand column.

For example:

"food supply" sustain*  - conduct the search. From the Refine options on the left hand side select Books under the heading Format.

Want help with managing ebooks?   Go to the Ebook Guide for help with downloading, printing and more.

Footprints [Image source: Open Clip Art Library, http://openclipart.org/detail/34681/architetto----tante-orma-sulla-neve-by-anonymous, CC0 1.0, http://creativecommons.org/publicdomain/zero/1.0/]

Tips for finding relevant journal articles!

   >> What are the most frequently used databases you are directed to when you do a catalogue search?
        Could you try searching in one of these databases?

   >>What subjects are appearing under the Search Terms menu in your Catalogue results?
        Could some of these terms be useful in further searches?

   >>If you have found a useful article, look at:
            - any author supplied keywords / subjects given.
            - any useful terms found in the Abstract or full text which you could use 
               to improve your search.
            - who the author has cited. Check the reference list!

[Horia Varlan, 'Question mark made of puzzle pieces', CC Licence: CC BY 2.0, (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/), Image source: flickr (http://www.flickr.com/photos/horiavarlan/4273168957/)]

 

Remember to look at the Help screens within the Library Catalogue and the Library's Databases for search tips and help!

OR

Ask the Library if you would like someone to help you.

 

 

Loading

Further information

The research process has a number of stages.  The four this guide focuses on are:

Plan | Search l  Evaluate  |  Record

Most people ignore planning and jump straight into searching, yet planning is essential for effective searching.  As part of the planning process consider:

  • What do you already know about the topic?  What do you need to explore further?
  • What types of information do you need?  Does it need to be current can you use websites?
  • Which theories will you focus on?
  • Which parts of your argument need references as supporting evidence?
  • Identify key concepts in your topic.  These will help you decide which keywords to use when searching.  Think of synonyms (related keywords) you could also use when searching.
  • Use the course readings, handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries or reliable websites to understand the key concepts.

Video icon by no real name given CCLicence Attribution 2.0 Generic, Image source: flickr  http://www.flickr.com/photos/xisha/5502041378/Watch - Think. Plan. Discover. Why Keywords Matter for tips about choosing keywords and searching for information (1 min 30 sec).

Need scholarly information? Not sure what that means or how to find it? 


Watch or read 

Although you may use the following resources to provide you with background information or an overview of your topic, avoid referring to them in your essay.

  • Course lecture and seminar notes
  • TV programs
  • Anecdotal comments or conversations
  • YouTube, Facebook

Is your information relevant or reliable?  Not sure whether to use the information you have found?   There are some simple ways to evaluate your results.


Watch   You be the Judge: learn to evaluate

You will find a range of material which need to be assessed to see if it is actually useful to include.  The following criteria will help you make decisions about the material that you are trying to assess.

The CRAAP Test was developed by the Meriam Library at California State University to help you evaluate the information you find. This information has been adapted from the Evaluating Information - Applying the CRAAP Test by California State University 

Jason Grant 'Roadmap to referencing', January 2013 [Image source: UniSA Library]

Need help referencing? Follow the roadmap!

Study Help

Study Help Resources include

  • Essay writing: An online workshop to help you understand the task, the structure and the content of an essay.
  • Academic skills: Further advice on writing, presenting and Academic Integrity
Loading