Information Management: INFS 5079 Accessing Resources

INFS 5079 Post-Test

Watch - to help start your research

Play video - click hereFind information in the UniSA Library
(1.59 mins)

 

Academic vs Other Libraries

Academic Libraries have:

  • extensive content available electronically (UniSA has a Digital Strategy)
  • significant depth.  UniSA Library collections reflect its teaching and research
  • extremely large collections
  • search tools that allow complex/advanced searching
  • collections rich in scholarly information aimed at students, academics and researchers
  • reference interviews may be in depth and complex

Databases

[Andrew Fitzsimon, "Thumbnail", Image Source: Open Clip Art Library http://www.openclipart.org/detail/25565, CC0 1.0 http://creativecommons.org/publicdomain/zero/1.0/]

Some databases to start searching:


When you select one of the database titles above you will be linked to information about the database, including the subject it covers. Select the link under Access to search the database.

Visit Find articles and conference papers in this guide for more databases to search and more search tips.

Need more help?

What you need to do

For this course you need to find and evaluate professional and academic literatureFAQs on Keyboard by Photosteve101 (https://www.flickr.com/photos/42931449@N07/5397530925/)  CC 2.0 /image source flickr.com to support your reports and reflective journal. Use this assignment help to save yourself time and find relevant material.


Remember, explore the other pages in this Subject Guide for further help
and always refer to your course outline and website for your assessment details.

 

Follow these steps...

Begin by watching this short video on using keywords in your searching: 
Think. Plan. Discover. Why keywords matter (1 min. 30 secs)

To find relevant information (articles, books, papers, reports) you need to plan/construct some search strategies. Once you have your search strategy you can use it to search for information in the:

The first step in planning your search is to identify the main concepts/topic words - the keywords you use to search for information. Some possible topic areas could be:


Example search questions: key concepts [screenshot]

Once you have your keywords you can combine/connect these keywords or phrases into search strategies using the AND or OR connectors. These are used in the Library catalogue and databases to help you find the most relevant results for your topic.

The following is one search example. For more help see the Library's guide on Connecting and combining search terms.

body language OR non verbal cues        
                     AND
reference interview OR reference services

  - OR combines concepts with similar meanings to broaden
     your search. Find results with either one or both words.

  - AND combines difference concepts to narrow your
    search. Find results with both words.

 
Library catalogue search examples:

         Search tip: Narrow results by Format (e.g. book/ebook, journal article), Date and a relevant Subject.

Think of other similar keywords or phrases, also known as synonyms, for your main concepts.

Here are some examples of keywords and phrases you could use, can you think of others?

**Click to see alternative keywords**

Loading

Is it useful? Evaluate!

It is important to think about whether or not the information you find is of good quality and useful. To do this you will need to evaluate it before you use it.

Video icon by no real name given CCLicence Attribution 2.0 Generic, Image source: flickr  http://www.flickr.com/photos/xisha/5502041378/
For help watch or refer to:

Referencing help

Visit the Referencing website   of the Student Engagement Unit (SEU) for information on referencing, plagiarism and the Harvard Referencing Guide.

Software to help you - EndNote and RefWorks are the two bibliographic management software products available for UniSA staff and students.  Access these through the Subject Guides link in the Library Home page