Information Management: INFS 5076 Managing Collections

Where to search

Once you have your search strategy you can use it to search for information in the:

benchmarking library collections

Search the Internet for different library collection and benchmarking or library collection development policiesFor example:

Library OR Libraries "collection development"

Here are some links that you may find useful:

Is it useful? Evaluate!

It is important to think about whether or not the information you find is of a good quality and useful.  To do this you will need to evaluate it before you use it in your academic work.

Video icon by no real name given CCLicence Attribution 2.0 Generic, Image source: flickr  http://www.flickr.com/photos/xisha/5502041378/
For help watch or refer to:

Referencing help

Visit the Referencing Website or the Referencing Forum (Student Engagement Unit). There is information about referencing, plagiarism and the Harvard Referencing Guide.

Software to help you - EndNote and RefWorks are the two bibliographic management software products available for UniSA staff and students.

Need more Help?

Your task

"Kamar Zard Buzhan - Nishapur" Image source: Wikemedia CC0 1.0 [https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Kamar_Zard_Buzhan_-_Nishapur_1.jpg]
For this course you need to find professional and academic literature relating to:
collection development policies; evaluating/benchmarking collections and preservation of a historical collection. This means searching for relevant journal articles, conference papers and material on the Internet and evaluating the information you find.

Remember, explore this Assignment Help, and other pages in this Subject Guide for help.

The Library is unable to provide support in relation to our collections:
·         usage statistics
·         evaluation
·         benchmarking against other collections

Always refer to your course outline and website for your assessment details.

Plan before you search

Begin by watching this short video: Think. Plan. Discover. Why keywords matter (1 min. 30 secs)

 

Before you start searching identify the main concepts/topic words - the keywords you use to search for information. For example:

"Why are benchmarking and assessing collections in academic libraries important aspects of managing change in the digital age?"

"What should be the fundamentals in building and managing a library collection where the emphasis is on digital resources?"


Then think of similar keywords or phrases (synonyms) you could use when searching. For example:

**Click on to see alternative keywords**

"Paper" Royalty free image source: Deathtostockphoto

Once you have your keywords use the connectors AND and OR to form search strategies. 
These are used in the
Library Catalogue and
A-Z Databases to help you find relevant results.

The following is one example of a search strategy:

   preservation OR preserve
   AND
   special collections OR historical collections
   AND
   public library
 

Library Catalogue search examples:

  • singular or plural words eg. policy / policies
     
  • words with alternative spellings eg. organiSation, organiZation
     
  • words that mean similar things/synonyms eg. academic, tertiary, higher education
     
  • Words that have commonly used abbreviations eg. www, world wide web
  • Use the truncation symbol * to find other forms of words e.g. librar* finds library, libraries, librarians

    Select the option AB Abstract to search within the Abstract only. This will help focus your search further.

    Limit your search to a particular date range

    Refine your results by Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.
  • How to find a full text article using Find It
  • How to save time searching databases with truncation, wildcards and phrases
Loading

Search these resources

The UniSA Library Catalogue cannot be searched by the Dewey range of call numbers, but can be searched by subject.
Watch the following video on how to search the Catalogue using subject headings:


Search the UniSA Library Catalogue using subject headings
(2.06 mins)

See the search example and use similar strategies to search for your  topic or subject. Eg: ethics

 

 

 



 

 

 

 

 

 

Check the Dewey range of subject in the Dewey Decimal Scheme to search the UniSA Library Catalogue by subject:

   











 

 

Check this link for a  List of Dewey Decimal Classes

 

Find more databases and search tips here

When you select one of the database titles above you will be linked to information about the database, including subjects it covers. Select the link under Access to search the database.

Search example: Academic Search Premier via the  EBSCOhost platform

 

Loading