Property: Find resources

Where to Start?

You can find them online

via the Library Catalogue

Check out the video

Think.Plan.Discover.Why Keywords Matter

Scholarly Sources Explained video

Learn why to use scholarly sources and how to find them

Learn more watch

You be the judge: learn to evaluate video

Books

Books can provide:GoXunuReviews ' eBook reader', CC Licence: CC BY 2.0, Image source: Flickr

  • definitions
  • overviews
  • step-by-step guides
  • in-depth information on a topic

...and much more comprehensive coverage of a topic than a webpage targeted at the layperson.

Many books in the Library's collection are written or edited by people with expertise in the relevant field.

The Library Catalogue is the best place to search for books

eBooks in library catalogue, copyright UniSA library

Catalogue search tips:

  • If you know the exact title select Title from the drop-down list e.g.
    International encyclopedia of housing and home
  • If you are searching for a title with a common name add the author's name to your search
  • Use double quotes for phrases e.g. "South Australia"
  • To narrow your results to eBooks refine your search
    • Format = Books
    • Show Only = Full Text Online

 

Other sources for books:

If you would like to browse the shelves for items you can search the collection using call numbers. Most Property related books are located at the City West Library under the following numbers:

Subject Heading Call Number
Real estate management 333.5068
Real property 333.3
Government property 333.1
Lease and rental services 333.5
Loading

Case studies

Binuri Ranasinghe, ‘The case study’, CC License: CC BY-NC-ND 2.0 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/), Image source: Flickr (https://www.flickr.com/photos/binuri/5106411271/)

 

Case studies are written accounts that give detailed information about a person, group, or organisation and their development over a period of time, with a view to making generalizations.

Many textbooks and recommended readings contain case studies, and you can also find them in the Library's databases.

[State Library of New South Wales, ‘Library confusion, 23/12/1952, by Sam Hood’, no known copyright restrictions, source: flickr (http://www.flickr.com/photos/statelibraryofnsw/5748745311/)]

How to find case studies in books

You can search for case studies using the Library catalogue:

  • add the phrase "case studies" to your search
  • limit by format/content type eg book or eBook 

Try these Library catalogue searches below to find case studies within books and eBooks.

Case study journals

The Journal of Business Case Studies is an open access journal which allows you to search for case studies across a range of topics, including property. All case studies are fully downloadable as pdfs.

 

Finding case studies in databases

You can search for case studies in the following databases:

You can also add the phrase "case studies" to your database search in other databases to find case study articles.

Try the following searches in the Business Source Complete database to find case study articles or chapters:

  • "property investment" AND "case studies"
  • recruiting AND "case studies"

Need to know how to respond to a case study? Consult the Student Engagement Unit (SEU) case studies online resource for more information.

Loading

Conference Papers

[Sam Hames, ‘Writing Thesis’, CC BY-SA 2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/deed.en), source: flickr (http://www.flickr.com/photos/samhames/4699360569/)]What are they and why use them?

Conference papers are the written version of presentations given at conferences or meetings of professional/scholarly bodies and organisations. Conference proceedings are a collection of these papers from a specific conference/meeting. The papers are generally reviewed by peers and collected together by the editors before being made available.

Conference papers can be a great way to find up to date information, research trends and innovations on a specific topic. Researchers often present their research findings first at conferences. This can allow you to get a better understanding of the findings from the Researcher themselves.  

Where to find them

You can find conference papers and proceedings in a variety of locations. The Library subscribes to many databases which contain conference papers including:

[Tico_24 'Wedding Album' CC Licence: CC BY-NC-ND 2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/deed.en) Image source: flickr (http://www.flickr.com/photos/95962284@N00/2796728878/)]

Tips on How to Search

If you know the title of a specific Conference paper or the name of the Conference you can search using the name alternatively you can search using keywords related to your topic. To narrow your results add keywords to your search e.g proceedings, conference, symposium.

In the Catalogue you can limit your results by 'Format' and select Conference Proceedings.
When searching UniSA Research Archive using the Advance Search you can select 'Resource Type' from one of the additional drop down menus and type Conference Paper which will limit your results.

 

Try searching for Conference Papers on:

Loading

Journals and journal articles

 

Wiley Asia Blog, ‘business-management-journals’, CC License: CC BY-NC-ND 2.0 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/), Image source: Flickr (https://www.flickr.com/photos/wiley-asia-blog/7772194822/)

 

Journals enable you to keep up to date with the latest - research, trends, events, conferences, projects, theories...and to gain an historical perspective by accessing material published in previous decades.

Journal articles usually focus on a very specific aspect of a topic, and may be the only source of information on that aspect.

UniSA Library subscribes to thousands of journals on behalf of UniSA students and researchers. Most are available as fulltext online from your desktop, laptop or mobile device.

JamesWoolley5, ‘My Telescope’, CC License: CC BY-SA 2.9 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/), Image source: Flickr (https://www.flickr.com/photos/xtrato/5371363462/)

How to find journal articles on a topic

  • Browse journal issues (can be interesting, but takes time, and you won't find everything written on the topic)
  • Search the Library Catalogue
  • Search a database

The Library Catalogue lets you search inside many journals, but does not cover all relevant publications. It also covers every discipline. If you're looking for something specific to a discipline, it can be faster to go straight to an appropriate database.

Catalogue search tips:

  • To find articles on a subject, type in your keywords and then refine by Format > Articles e.g. "real estate" AND Australia
  • To search for articles from a specific journal, try Advanced Search
  • Use double quotes for phrases e.g. "south australia"
  • Use an asterisk * to find alternate word endings e.g. manag* finds manager, managers, management, managing, managerial, etc.

These are a few journals with articles relevant to study and research in Property. There are many more!

Access full text online by selecting these links.

Databases

Databases help you to find publications (e.g. journal and newspaper articles, conference papers, book chapters) by a particular author, from a specific publication or on a topic.

They can provide either the full text to a publication or the reference and abstract only.

These databases will help you locate material relevant to  Property:

Database subject list via the Database page

Access many more databases via the subject listings, including:

Loading

Why can't I just Google

Video provided courtesy of La Trobe University Library

News and newspapers

The latest news media services available through the UniSA Library

You can search for newspaper articles in the Library catalogue.

Enter your search terms and then to include newspaper articles in your search select 'Newspapers' under Additional Resources. Then narrow your search down to newspaper articles only under Format.

The following results appear in the Catalogue search:

australia AND (property OR "real estate") limited to newspapers, sorted by date, with selected Subjects

 

Property Council of Australia has media, press releases and articles which can be sorted by date including:

Jerryang, 'It's Shanghai', CC licence: CC BY-ND 2.0, Image Source: Flickr

[James Yu, ‘Newspaper’, CC BY-NC-SA 2.0 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/2.0/), image source: flickr (https://www.flickr.com/photos/jamesyu/61784469/)] To find newspaper articles on a particular topic look at the Library databases listed under the News subject heading. These databases contain both Australian and international content and include:

Want to find Property related Australian newspaper articles?

Use the NewsBank Newspaper database to search for specific Australian articles by selecting the Australia's Newspapers link. If you know the name of the article you can search for the article by Headline (change from the default option of All Text).

Loading

What is a scholarly source?

A scholarly source, or academic source, is written by a qualified author who is an expert in their field. They are usually published in books or journals, rather than on websites. A scholarly source will likely have a reference list or bibliography at the end of it.Graduate Cap by Freepik. CC BY-3.0: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/, FlatIcon.com: http://www.flaticon.com/free-icon/graduate-cap_62627

How can you tell if a source is scholarly?

Books: A scholarly book or eBook might be from an academic publisher or a University press. You can also find out information about the author and look for their qualifications.

Journals: Many academic journals are peer reviewed. This means that the article has been evaluated by experts on the subject before it was approved for publication.

For more information, read the Finding peer reviewed journal articles guide.

Video icon by no real name given CCLicence Attribution 2.0 Generic, Image source: flickr http://www.flickr.com/photos/xisha/5502041378/ Watch - Scholarly Sources Explained (approx 3 mins) - Learn why scholarly sources are important to use and how you can identify them.