The major assessment i.e. the argumentative presentation in this course provides and opportunity for students to develop the skills of developing and presenting an argument about a management accounting issue based on research-based evidence, persuading an audience, constructively critiquing possible opposing arguments and responding to questions from members of the audience. The purpose of this assignment is to develop students' ability to create a persuasive argument - a core skill for any professional. Such an argument is, effectively, a report to support management decision making.
Topics/issues will be randomly assigned to groups. There is no change to the allocated issue or question without the permission of the course coordinator. Any individual or group that chooses not to respond to the allocated questions without the prior written permission of the course coordinator, will receive a zero mark for this assessment. Note that tutors (unless they are the course coordinator) do not have the authority to make any variation to any part of the assessment structure for this course.
** For full assessment details please consult your course outline. **
** For full details of the assessment criteria please refer to the course outline.
** For full details of the assessment criteria please refer to the course outline**
Management accounting by Charles T. Horngren, S. M. Datar, M. V. Rajan, M. B. Wynder, W. A. A. Maguire, Rebecca Tan & Kym Thorne
Publication date: 2016
Pearson, Melbourne, Australia
WHAT do I want to find out? What are the main concepts and keywords?
To find information for your assignment topic you will need to identify some relevant keywords. You will then be able to use these keywords to search information resources such as the catalogue, databases and the internet.
What you need to consider:
For more help with keywords, watch this short (2 mins) video.
Here are some keywords you might like to consider:
These are only some of the keywords or phrases you could use, there are many others you could use to identify the concepts you are looking for information about. Can you think of any others?
Once you've identified your keywords, you'll need to combine them together to find information on your topic.
Have a look at this guide, which will show you how to connect and combine your keywords to enable you to search the catalogue and databases effectively.
Click on the tabs above for information and tips on searching
The Library Catalogue is a search tool that enables you to find relevant information on any topic from the Library’s collection of print and electronic books, journals and theses, together with journal and newspaper articles from numerous academic databases. You can access the Catalogue from the Library homepage.
Catalogue search example:
"management accounting" AND industry
Tip: Limiting your search will help you to retrieve more relevant results
You can search databases to find quality journal articles on your topic. To find which databases are best suited to your subject area, go to the Business and management subject heading listed under Browse by Subject on the right of the database listings and select the heading Business.
Most databases have a limiting feature which will allow you to retrieve items published within a particular year or year range e.g. 2012-2016.
Here's an example of a database search using Business Source Complete
You can refine your search by date range and Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) journals if you have too many results
You may also find suitable academic references for your topic using an internet search engine such as Google Scholar. Google Scholar searches only within academic or scholarly sites, rather than over the whole internet like a regular Google Search. For more information on using Google Scholar, visit the Beyond Google for you Research Guide.
IMPORTANT: By accessing Google Scholar within the library you are entitled to access UniSA's licensed resources and may be able to link directly to articles by clicking on the Full-text at UniSA link.
If you need more help try one of these options: