Accounting: BUSS 5397: Research for Business Decision Making - SP 5 2017

Assessment Details

Research Essay: Writing an article for Time Magazine Australia

Imagine that you work for Time Magazine Australia, and that the managing editor, Randall Lane, has asked you to write a story about the “State of the science: What organisational research about leadership has discovered in the past 5-years.” Randall also gave you a couple of other important pieces of information.

First, the article must be around 1800 words in length (+/- 10%). Second, since an enormous amount of research has been published in the past 5 years, it won’t be possible to summarise all of it in less than 1450 words. As a result, your will need to focus the article on one particular topic listed as below. Third, your submitted article must be extremely well written, easy to understand, visually appealing (can include graphics, call-out boxes, etc.), and formatted as if it would appear in print the next day (you may want to get a copy of the most recent edition of Time from the library to get a sense of how to format the article - you can access it here). 

Topics (please choose ONE topic):

  1. Abusive Supervision
  2. Responsible Leadership
  3. Gender Diversity in the Workplace
  4. Managing Change in the Workplace

To help you prepare to write this article, you are required to find and summarise at least five (5) research articles on your topic that have been published within the past 5 years (2013 - 2017). Please make your article interesting. Grab the attention of the audience with a story, counterintuitive facts, or some other memorable way of introducing your topic. Make sure you provide a clear definition from the academic literature of the construct you have chosen.

The cited articles MUST appear in the following journals:

  For full details of the assessment check your Assignment
  Guideline and Course Outline via your Course homepage.

Group Research Project Report

This is a group assessment.

The objective of this assessment is for students to work in a group to produce a comprehensive research report that contains the findings of their group's research project. This assessment has two parts:

1. Group Project Report
2. Peer Evaluation

In your group, you are required to collect primary and/or secondary data relevant to the research question, then analyse the data using appropriate research method(s) and report your findings with recommendations in a comprehensive report.

You are expected to provide samples of your recruitment and data collection material (e.g. recruitment flyers, surveys, interview protocols) as appendices.

The report should include:

  • Table of contents
  • Executive summary (250 words)
  • Introduction: What is your primary research question, why the raised question is important to the field of Business/Management studies, what are the expected contributions to academia or business practice.
  • Literature review: Summarising relevant literature in the field with key findings to date and gaps in literature to be addressed by this report highlighted.
  • Methods and analyses: Information about research methods used, how data was collected, and analyses
  • Findings: This is the same as results. Provide information about your findings in detail.
  • Recommendations and limitations
  • References: Your research report should be accompanied by a full reference list.
  • Appendices: Include any additional material which is not essential to the report but will enhance the readers' understanding.

Length (i.e. 3,600 words) does not include table of contents, reference list and appendices.

  For full details of the assessment check your Assignment
  Guideline and Course Outline via your Course homepage.

 
Loading

Beyond Google for your Research Guide

The Beyond Google for your Research Guide provides an introduction on creating your search strategy, searching the Library catalogue, Google Scholar and Library subscribed databases.

 

 

 

 

Here are links to some useful pages:

Company and industry information

          

The Company and Industry Information Guide can help you
to find public and private company and industry information.

 

Here are links to some of the pages you may find useful:

Searching for company and industry information?

image courtesy IBISWorld (http://www.ibisworld.com.au/)

  Try IBIS world!

IBIS contains a profile of each of the top 2000 Australian companies, including information about operating and legal structires, financials, personnel, industries of involvement and service providers.

IBIS also contains detailed reports analysing selected Australian industry sectors.

Some international company and industry information is available by selecting the Global Industry Research button.

Tip: You will need to take note of the access details from the library catalogue online link to access the database.

Can't find what you are looking for try some other suggestions on the Company and industry information guide.

Loading

What is a scholarly source?

A scholarly source, or academic source, is written by a qualified author who is an expert in their field. They are usually published in books or journals, rather than on websites. A scholarly source will likely have a reference list or bibliography at the end of it.

How can you tell if a source is scholarly?

Books: A scholarly book or eBook might be from an academic publisher or a University press. You can also find out information about the author and look for their qualifications.

Journals: Many academic journals are peer reviewed. This means that the article has been evaluated by experts on the subject before it was approved for publication.

For more information, read the guide linked below:

Harvard-UniSA Style Referencing

     You need to use Harvard-UniSA style referencing for your assignments.

 

Contact the UniSA Student Engagement Unit for help with referencing writing reports and more

For further assistance with the Harvard-UniSA referencing style look at the Roadmap to Referencing online guide

Managing references

What do you do with all those references you have found?  The Library has two bibliographic management tools that you can use to keep your references in order and all in the one location. 

The Library supports two Referencing tools:

Watch Manage your references - tools that can help you, decide which tool is best for you and then get started.

More help

If you need more help
try one of these options:
"Open Clip Art, 'Help Button', CC Licence: No Copyright, Image Source: openclipart.org"

  • Contact Ask the Library (via Chat, email or phone)
  • If you are studying outside of Adelaide, living remotely or have difficulty in using the Library in person the Off Campus Library Service can help
  • Have a look at our Researchers page and online videos
  • Use the Help, Tips or Hints screens within the Library Catalogue and the databases

 

Online Resources

Check out the video

Think.Plan.Discover.Why Keywords Matter

Scholarly Sources Explained video

Learn why to use scholarly sources and how to find them

Learn more watch

You be the judge: learn to evaluate video

Plan your search

It is important before you begin your research to plan your search. You can't search by just typing a sentence into the Library catalogue, databases or Google Scholar.

Once you decide on your research question you will need to deconstruct it for keywords, concepts and ideas. You will need these keywords to effectively search in the Library catalogue and databases.

Watch - Think. Plan. Discover. Why Keywords Matter (1 min 30 sec) for some tips about choosing keywords and searching for information.

 

 

 

TIPS:

Combining keywords:

You can combine your keywords using OR, AND and NOT.

OR: will search for either or both of the words. i.e work OR job

AND: will search for both of the words. i.e manage AND employees

NOT: will search for first of your keywords and not the second. i.e  business NOT health

For phrases use double quotes. i.e "literature review". This will search for both of the words together.

Truncation, wildcards and phrases:

* will commonly search for endings of a word. i.e manage* will find manger, managers, managing, management etc
? will commonly find words spelled in a different way. i.e organi?e will find organise and organize.

Please note that all databases are slightly different. Refer to the How to guides below for more detail.

How to find...

To find journal articles for your research you can either search the Library Catalogue or relevant Library Databases.

The Library Catalogue is a search tool that enables you to find relevant information on any topic from the Library’s collection of print and electronic books,  journals and theses, together with journal and newspaper articles from numerous academic databases. You can access the Catalogue from the Library homepage

Catalogue search example:

  "managing change" AND workplace  
This search has been limited using the following:

  • Limit to Format: Articles
  • Show only Peer Reviewed
  • Date: 2013 to 2017
  • Subject heading: Organizational behavior

  Tip: Limiting your search will help you to retrieve more relevant results 

 

Limit to a date range eg 2013 to 2017 or Show Only: Peer Reviewed to limit your results to only peer reviewed journal articles. TIP: by limiting by peer review you may exclude industry data so you will need to review your results.

You can also search for articles published in specific publications by using the Advanced search option in the catalogue.

Catalogue search example:

   "abusive supervision"

Advanced search:

  • Keywords: "abusive supervision"
  • From this publication: Leadership Quarterly

This search has been limited using the following:

  • Date: 2013 to 2017

  Tip: Limiting your search will help you to retrieve more relevant results

 

You can search databases to find quality journal articles on your topic.  To find which databases are best suited to your subject area, go to the Database subject list, and select the + next to the Business and Management heading. You can then select particular databases by discipline such as Acounting, Business, Economics, Finance, Human Resource Management, Hospitality, Management, Marketing or Tourism.

Most databases have a limiting feature which will allow you to retrieve items published within a particular year or year range e.g. 2010-2015.

NOTE: Most of the databases can be accessed from outside the UniSA computer network by entering your UniSA network username and password. Some databases and journals require different passwords. These can be accessed from the specific Database page.


Business Source Complete is a large international database which includes many premium peer-reviewed, business related journals and indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals, dating back as far as 1886.

Content covers the areas of management (including arts and cultural management, human resource management and sport and recreation management), marketing, economics, finance, accounting, international business and tourism. It's also a good source of company information.

Just enter your keywords into the search box to start searching.

You can limit your search to retrieve only peer-reviewed articles by ticking the Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals option. You can also limit your search by date range if you would like to.

For more help with searching Business Source Complete, please see these short videos.

Try the key databases below for Business or look at the databases for  Acounting , Economics, Finance, Human Resource Management, Hospitality, Management, Marketing or Tourism.

Find books and articles by searching the Library Catalogue. You can refine your search using the limiters in the left hand column.

 

Catalogue search example:

  "human resource management" OR "personnel management"
This search has been limited using the following:

  • Limit to Format: Book/
  • Subject heading: Personnel management
  • Date: 2010 to 2015

Tip: Limiting your search will help you to retrieve more relevant results

        

Want help with managing ebooks? Go to the Ebook Guide for help with downloading, printing and more.

Loading

Primary data sources

Primary data is collected by the researcher themselves. Examples of primary data can include:

  • Questionnaires
  • Observations
  • Interviews

See the:

Secondary data sources

Secondary data tends to be readily available and not collected by the researcher themselves.

Many of the Subject Guides will help you to find data such as statistics from organisations like the Australian Bureau of Statistics. As a start you may want to look at the statistics pages in the Business or Marketing Subject Guides.

Other sources of secondary information will be available from your course site.
 

References

Loading