Children's Literature: Journal articles

Journals

Geralt, Image Source pixabay, CC0 Creative Commons What are they?

  • present current research/debate
  • provide highly focused information
  • contain research findings/opinions of experts
  • contain information not found elsewhere
  • contain information about new research areas
  • may be peer reviewed

Some Australian journals

Loading ...

Think critically

It is important to evaluate the articles and papers you find to make sure they are useful and of a high quality.

At University you should be using peer reviewed journal articles. This can be checked by using Ulrichsweb global serials directory. See the following for further help:

How to Search for journal articles

Library Catalogue

1. Title search: If you have been directed to locate a specific article, use a title search. In this instance you will use the title of the article.  select the 'Title option' from the drop down menu and type in the correct title. 3dman_eu,  Image Source pixabay, CC0 Creative Comm

e.g. Issues of exceptionality, gender, and power

Common title? Add extra information (e.g. author's surname), or try the Advanced Search.

2. Topic search: enter key terms such as: "children's literature" australia

Use double quotes to search for phrases e.g. "children's literature"  

Keyword search example:

  "Children's Literature" australia [Source: UniSA Library] Limits [Source: UniSA Library]

To refine your search:3dman_eu,  Image Source pixabay, CC0 Creative Comm

  • Add another term
  • Limit by date range or sort by Date (newest)
  • Limit by Format: Articles (left) - select 'more' to see all options
  • Find electronic articles only - select Full Text Online
  • Limit to Peer Reviewed

If you have found a useful article, look at:

  • author supplied keywords / subjects given.
  • any useful terms found in the Abstract or full text
  • the reference list. Who the author has cited?

3. Want a particular journal?

  • Search via the 'Journals' link on the Library Home Page
  • Enter the journal title into the search box e.g. Children's literature review or browse the A-Z list
  • If you cannot find what you need then try searching a database

4. Library Databases: for either the full text to an article/document or the reference and abstract

Try one of these key databases in the field of Education.

Or try one of these Multidisciplinary databases.

Organising Your References

What do you do with all those references you have found?  

It is important to save and organise references.  Use EndNote software to organise your references and create bibliographies. Find out more from Managing References

The Library Catalogue and most databases allow you to save your references, and also export them into EndNote. Look at the Help feature within databases for more information. 

Need help with referencing?

Look at the Referencing webiste for Referencing Styles, or ask a question via the Referencing Forum.