Project Management: Find articles and papers

Some key databases

Start by searching the following:

More databases

You will also find articles in multidisciplinary databases such as

Scopus

Academic Search Premier

ProQuest Central

For articles related to a particular field, for example engineering or computer science, try the:

Find journals

Need to find scholarly works?

It is important to evaluate the articles/papers you find to make sure they are of a high quality. Sometimes you will be asked to use peer reviewed journal articles. See the following video and brief "How to" guide for help.

Find articles, papers and other publications by searching:

Dia, 'Binoculars', CC Licence: CC BY-NC-ND 2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/deed.en), Image Source: flickr (http://www.flickr.com/photos/deanaia/2597970259/)The Library catalogue - the Library's search tool. Find information on any topic from journals, conferences, books and more.

Library databases -  search tools that index literature such as articles, papers, reports, books chapters and more. Find full text material, or the reference and abstract only.

Is the article peer reviewed? See the guide How to find peer reviewed journal articles (2 p.)

Find articles with case studies

  • Add the term "case studies" to your search within a database or the Library catalogue.
     
  • Emerald Insight - select the Case Studies tab
     
  • Business Source Complete - before you search under Search Options select Document Type: Case Study and Publication Type: Case Study

Search tips

Make a list of key concepts that relate to your topic

Combine these keywords using the search connectors OR, AND

OR: combines similar keywords - quality control OR quality assurance
AND: combines different concepts - project management AND quality control

Use this symbol * to find word variations e.g. strateg* will find strategy, strategic etc.

Use double quotes for phrases "project management"

Search example:       "quality control" OR "quality assurance"
                                        AND 
                                   "project management"

     AND

   strateg*

For more help try some of the short Library guides below:

Tips for searching effectively

Note any subjects terms given in the Library Catalogue or database records.

Found a relevant article? Look at:

  • author supplied keywords / subjects given
  • terminology found in the Abstract or full text
  • references listed by the author(s)
  • references which cite the article ("cited by" references)

This information may be useful when doing further searching.