Engineering: Find articles and papers

Some key databases

"ITEE_07" MDU Image Library Divisions ITEE http://www-p.unisa.edu.au/mdu/imagelib/images/divisions/ITEE/ITEE_07.jpg

 

Similar to the Library Catalogue, you can use databases to search for a range of online materials. These include full text journal articles, book chapters and papers.

Google Scholar

Search Google Scholar via the UniSA Library to see the Full Text @ UniSA links when off-campus.
 
The full text may not always be freely available. However, if the Library has an electronic subscription to the item you find, you may be able to link to the full text from the Full Text @ UniSA link.

Database search tips

Make a list of key concepts that relate to your topic. Combine these keywords using the search connectors OR, AND

Use this truncation symbol * to find word variations e.g. build* finds build, builds, builder, building...

Use double quotes for phrases "sustainable development"

Search example:        sustain* OR green
                                         AND
                                       construction OR build*

For more help try some of the short Library guides below:

Find articles, papers and other publications by searching:

Dia, 'Binoculars', CC Licence: CC BY-NC-ND 2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/deed.en), Image Source: flickr (http://www.flickr.com/photos/deanaia/2597970259/)The Library catalogue - the Library's search tool. Find information on any topic from journals, conferences, books and more.

Library databases -  search tools that index literature such as articles, papers, reports, books chapters and more. Find full text material, or the reference and abstract only.

Need to find scholarly works?

It is important to evaluate the articles/papers you find to make sure they are of a high quality. Sometimes you will be asked to use peer reviewed journal articles. See the following video and brief "How to" guide for help.