Business: International Business Environment BUSS 2067 - Assessment 1 - OSP1 2017

Case Study Report

M&S Textiles Australia is a manufacturer of quality cotton fabrics. Due to increased competition from cheaper imported goods, the company is contemplating the establishment of a manufacturing plant in Asia to reduce the cost of manufacturing at home. The company has identified Bangladesh, Thailand, Philippines, and Indonesia as potential countries for the establishment of the overseas manufacturing plant. As a complement of the current production in Australia, this new facility will supply products to customers around the world (include Australia), but it will not sell products itself. The headquarters of M&S Australia is responsible for sales and marketing at home and abroad.

You, as the task force of International Business Department in M&S Australia, are required to choose ONE of these countries, and write a report for the Board of Directors, identifying the advantages and disadvantages of operating in that country. Based on your findings, some relevant strategies should be suggested to benefit from the advantages and mitigate the disadvantages. The Board of Directors will decide where the company will go.

In preparing your report, you are required to link your arguments to the course content, and to use relevant data to support your suggestions such as why you would select the country, why you would choose an entry mode, and how the new foreign manufacturing plant would enhance M&S's current sales, etc.

  • Students are allowed to complete this assignment either individually or in a team of up to 5 students.
  • Both team-completed and individually finished reports follow the same requirements.
  • An assignment group should only have students from the same tutorial class or the same external class.
  • The report will be due 6 March 2017

Please check the Course Outline for full details of requirements

 

Suggestions: Make a plan at the beginning of this study period

  • Choose a country that you are interested in;
  • Break the assignment down into tasks for group members to share;
  • Make a plan of a due date for each task;
  • Fill in the form “Assignment Plan” (Appendix 3) and talk with your teacher about the plan;

Requirements:

  • Be aware that the assignment is in the style of a report
  • You may use both real information of M&S Textiles Australia and “presumed” information to complement the real information for supporting your arguments. Wherever “presumed” information is used, some reasonable justification is required
  • All resources used in your report must be dated no earlier than 2010, and no undated resources may be used
  • Your arguments should be based on facts and evidence. So it is important that you have used relevant reports, articles, and figures from reliable and reputable sources
  • The Harvard system of referencing is to be used. Failure to use or adequately use the Harvard system of referencing will result in a grade of fail being awarded for this assessment.
  • It is suggested to use 15 to 18 references in the assignment, although more or less than this amount will not influence your marks.

Word Count: 2,000-2,500 words (excluding the executive summary and list of references) 

What is a Case Study?

Businessman clients portfolio icon by Freepik.com, CC BY 3.0: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/, Flickr: http://www.flaticon.com/free-icon/businessman-clients-portfolio_46774

A case study is "a written record of a real-life situation, it differs from other types of stories as it only includes facts and requires the reader to analyse the issues" (Gilmore 2005).

For help with reading and analysing case studies, have a look at these:

Library databases

Use the library databases to find information?

Search databases to find quality journal articles on your topic. By searching in a database in your subject area it will narrow your results allowing you to find more relevant articles. Databases also contain many ways to limit your results

The databases listed below will be particularly useful. You can find other business related databases on the databases page.

Here is a search example using the Business Source Complete database with the results limited to 2009-2016:

International Business page

For more information see the International Business page on the Business guide. This page contains a wealth of information including links to useful organisations and web resources such as Columbia FDI Perspectives.

International business page on the Business guide

Evaluating your information

Image source: Startupstockphotos.com

Not sure if the information you have found is good quality? It is important to evaluate before you use it in your academic work.

Freepik 'Clapperboard', CC Licence: CC BY 3.0, Image source: Flaticon.com  
  Watch our video You be the Judge - learn to evaluate

Planning your search

Taki Steve 'Keys', CC Licence: CC BY 2.0, Image source: Flickr

Freepik 'Clapperboard', CC Licence: CC BY 3.0, Image source: Flaticon.com

 

  Watch our quick video Think.Plan. Discover. Why keywords matter

To find information for your assignment you'll need to construct a search strategy. Identify the main concepts of the topic and think about what keywords you can use in your search.

See our quick How to guides below for tips on keywords and how to connect and combine them in a search and wildcards and truncation which can help you find different spellings and alternative endings. For example: manag*  will find manage, managers, management, managerial

Library Catalogue


Not sure where to start your searching?


Try the Library Catalogue

Finding too many results?

Try refining your search, here are some of the options available:

  • limit the Publication date to find only recent items eg. 2009 - 2016
  • limit by Format for example you can narrow your search to only show articles or books (to select more than one choose the 'more' option)
  • limit your search by Subject this way you can take out items not in your subject area (select 'more' to include or exclude more than one)

Here is an example search for "international business" ethics using the dropdown to search in subject and then limited to 2009-2016

Referencing

Jason Grant 'Roadmap to referencing', January 2013 [Image source: UniSA Library]

Need help referencing? Follow the roadmap!

You can find additional help with referencing at these sites:

More help

If you need more help
try one of these options:
"Open Clip Art, 'Help Button', CC Licence: No Copyright, Image Source: openclipart.org"

  • Contact Ask the Library (via Chat, email or phone)
  • If you are studying outside of Adelaide, living remotely or have difficulty in using the Library in person the Off Campus Library Service can help
  • Have a look at our Online training workshops and videos
  • Contact the Student Engagement Unit (formerly the UniSA Learning and Teaching Unit) for help with referencing, writing reports and essays and plagiarism
  • Use the Help, Tips or Hints screens within the Library Catalogue and the databases