M&S Textiles Australia is a manufacturer of quality cotton fabrics. Due to increased competition from cheaper imported goods, the company is contemplating the establishment of a manufacturing plant in Asia to reduce the cost of manufacturing at home. The company has identified Bangladesh, Thailand, Philippines, and Indonesia as potential countries for the establishment of the overseas manufacturing plant. As a complement of the current production in Australia, this new facility will supply products to customers around the world (include Australia), but it will not sell products itself. The headquarters of M&S Australia is responsible for sales and marketing at home and abroad.
You, as the task force of International Business Department in M&S Australia, are required to choose ONE of these countries, and write a report to the Board of Directors. In the report, you need to identify the advantages and disadvantages of operating in that country. Based on your findings, some relevant strategies should be suggested to benefit from the advantages and mitigate the disadvantages. The Board of Directors will decide where the company will go.
When preparing your report, you are required to link your arguments to the course content, and to use relevant data to support your suggestions such as why you would select the country, why you would choose an entry mode, and how the new foreign manufacturing plant would enhance M&S’s current sales, etc.
Please check the Course Outline for full details of requirements
Suggestions: Make a plan at the beginning of this study period
** IMPORTANT: Please see the Course Outline for further assignment requirements **
Word Count: 2,000 ~ 2,500 words in length. The word limit excludes the executive summary AND
the list of references
A case study is "a written record of a real-life situation, it differs from other types of stories as it only includes facts and requires the reader to analyse the issues" (Gilmore 2005).
For help with reading and analysing case studies, have a look at these:
Search databases to find quality journal articles on your topic. By searching in a database in your subject area it will narrow your results allowing you to find more relevant articles. Databases also contain many ways to limit your results
The databases listed below will be particularly useful. You can find other business related databases on the databases page.
Here is a search example using the Business Source Complete database with the results limited to 2009-2016:
Not sure if the information you have found is good quality? It is important to evaluate before you use it in your academic work.
Watch our video You be the Judge - learn to evaluate
Watch our quick video Think.Plan. Discover. Why keywords matter
To find information for your assignment you'll need to construct a search strategy. Identify the main concepts of the topic and think about what keywords you can use in your search.
See our quick How to guides below for tips on keywords and how to connect and combine them in a search and wildcards and truncation which can help you find different spellings and alternative endings. For example: manag* will find manage, managers, management, managerial
Finding too many results?
Try refining your search, here are some of the options available:
Here is an example search for "international business" ethics using the dropdown to search in subject and then limited to 2009-2016
Some key journal titles for International Business.
Identify other online journals by searching the Library Catalogue for keywords/phrases eg "international business" and limiting to Format > Journals
Need help referencing? Follow the roadmap!
You can find additional help with referencing at these sites:
If you need more help try one of these options: