Business: Business Operations BUSS 2065 - Assignment 2, SP2 2017

Assessment #2

The purpose of this Assessment 2 is to help you explore business operations of a company and critically analyse the issues and the challenges in a real world situation.

Read one of the given case studies, critically review it and answer the questions for the case study.

When you are answering your case study you will have to Identify and describe at least one of the business operational issues/challenges facing the case organisation in any of the 4 main action areas (Direct, Design, Deliver & Develop) of the operations management (see Topic 1 of your study guide) and discuss how these issues may impact on the organisation’s business activities in addition to the answers.

Research: It is expected that you will research widely using appropriate sources. You can use team meetings to brainstorm and refine your ideas and concepts with your team mates, if you wish. It is also expected that you will use, as a minimum, six (6) academic references including three (3) scholarly journal articles and other references to present your analysis and the business report.

Please check your Course Outline for full details of assessment requirements 


The argument should be presented in a Business report format and the Business report needs to be supported by academic references. The Business report suggested headings to be used include the following:

  • Title page
  • Executive summary
  • Table of contents
  • Introduction
  • Discussion
  • Conclusion
  • Recommendations
  • References

Top Tip See the document below for tips on writing reports.

Case study: How a Zara Coat Went From Design to Fifth Avenue in 25 Days.

Discussion questions:

  1. Describe the core competencies of Zara 
  2. Identify and describe the operational management issues associated with Zara in this case study
  3. Why do other firms take longer to go from design to delivery? How can they improve?
  4. How can forecasting and planning methods to business operations be applied and improved to overcome these issues by other firms, and
  5. Evaluate business operations decision making, policies and strategies used by Zara and compare with other firms

Case study: Why Is the McFlurry Machine Down Again?

Discussion questions:

  1.  Describe the core competencies of McDonalds
  2. Identify and describe the operational management issues associated with McDonald in this case study.
  3. How can the process efficiency for cleaning be improved?
  4. How can forecasting and planning methods to business operations within this organisation be applied and improved to overcome these issues, and
  5. Evaluate business operations decision making, policies and strategies used by McDonald’s and compare with other fast-food companies
Loading

Academic Resources

Charles Clegg 'Book Shelves', CC Licence: CC BY 2.0, Image source: Flickr

For this assignment you will need to find information from academic / scholarly resources.

Not sure what that means or how to find it? 


Watch these quick videos

Read our Quick Guide about Peer Reviewed Journals

Where can I search for information?

Image source: Unsplash.com

Click on the tabs above for information and tips on searching

You can find academic references for your report by searching the Library Catalogue

Catalogue search examples:

"competitive advantage" AND "fast fashion"

strateg* AND "fast fashion" (refined date 2011 to 2017)

"operations management" AND "fast food" AND customer*

"service design" AND "competitive advantage" (limited to peer reviewed)

McDonalds AND (core competenc* OR operations)

Try combining other keywords to find information relevant to you.

Catalogue search tips:

  • You can limit your search results to articles only, if you would like to. Search for your keywords and then refine by Format > Articles
  • You can further limit your results to Show Only > Peer Reviewed
  • Use double quotes for phrases e.g. "layout design"
  • Use an asterix * to find alternate word endings e.g. strateg* finds strategies, strategy, etc.

 Google Scholar searches only within academic or scholarly sites, rather than over the whole internet like a regular Google Search. For more information on using Google Scholar, have a look at our Beyond Google for you Research Guide.

By accessing Google Scholar from within the library website, you will be able link directly to articles that the Library has access to by clicking on the Full-text at UniSA link.

To use the advanced search option, select the down arrow in the search box. You can use many of the same search strategies you use to search the catalogue and databases to search the web.

.

Google Scholar advanced search

Here is an example of a search using Google Scholar:

Google scholar search example
 

 

Loading

Evaluating your resources

Image source: Startupstockphotos.com

Not sure if the information you have found is good quality? It is important to evaluate before you use it in your academic work.

Freepik 'Clapperboard', CC Licence: CC BY 3.0, Image source: Flaticon.com  
  Watch our video You be the Judge - learn to evaluate

Referencing

Jason Grant 'Roadmap to referencing', January 2013 [Image source: UniSA Library]

Need help referencing? Follow the roadmap!

It is very important to that you acknowledge and reference all the information sources you use in your assignments. The referencing style used for BUSS 2058: Managing Services is Harvard UniSA.

You can find additional help with referencing at these sites:

Textbook

You can purchase an ebook copy of the textbook from the publisher here

Recommended references

Keywords

Taki Steve 'Keys', CC Licence: CC BY 2.0, Image source: Flickr

WHAT do I want to find out? What are the
main concepts and keywords?

To find information for your assignment topic you will need to identify some relevant keywords. You will then be able to use these keywords to search information resources such as the catalogue, databases and the internet.

What you need to consider:

  • What do I want to find out?
  • What keywords/phrases can I use to help me find information?

Jacqui Brown, ‘Keys’, CC BY-SA 2.0 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/), image source: flickr (https://www.flickr.com/photos/120600995@N07/14028600474) Once you've identified your keywords, you'll need to combine them together to find information on your topic.

Have a look at this guide, which will show you how to connect and combine your keywords to enable you to search the catalogue and databases effectively.

For more help with keywords, watch this short (2 mins) video.

**Please note: that this is a generic video and the keywords are not necessarily for your case study.**

How a Zara Coat Went From Design to Fifth Avenue in 25 Days.

Here are some keywords you might like to consider:

  • business operations, operations strategy
  • strategy
  • process efficiency
  • manufacturing, project processes, jobbing, batch,
  • manufacturing process type
  • apparel industry
  • clothing manufacturer
  • fashion retailer, fashion management, designer
  • fast-fashion, fashion trends
  • delivery time
  • forecasting
  • competitive advantage

These are only some of the keywords or phrases you could use, there are many others you could use to identify the concepts you are looking for information about. Can you think of any others?

Masterbrand Golden Arches logo, McDonalds logos, internet: <http://corporate.mcdonalds.com/mcd/newsroom/image_and_video_library/logos.html> accessed 13th Feb 2017

Why Is the McFlurry Machine Down Again?

Here are some keywords you might like to consider:

  • business operations, operations strategy
  • forecasting, operations planning
  • maintenance
  • delivery time, process efficiency, reliability
  • fast food, McDonalds
  • fast food industry, restaurants, franchises

These are only some of the keywords or phrases you could use, there are many others you could use to identify the concepts you are looking for information about. Can you think of any others?

Loading

Searching databases

 

Databases help you to find publications (e.g. journal and newspaper articles, conference papers, book chapters) by a particular author, from a specific publication or on a topic.

They can provide either the full text to a publication or the reference and abstract only. You can access databases from the Library homepage. Choose the A-Z Databases link underneath the catalogue search box to see the full listing of database titles.

Top Tip See the individual database tabs in this box for help with finding resources for your report - these are the best databases for this assignment.

Business Source Complete

Provides information covering all areas of business including accounting and finance; banking; finance and insurance; construction; computer science; economics and more. Includes country economic reports as well as detailed company profiles

This is an example of a search using Business Source Complete.

example BSC

Tip:

  • You can limit your search by date range and to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals from the box on the left hand side of the results screen.

                                       peer review example

Emerald: insight
An excellent source of management and business information. All content in Emerald is peer-reviewed.

Tips:

  • Use the advanced search option.
  • Narrow your search by date range

This is just one sample search - try searching on your own keywords to find articles for your report.

ScienceDirect

Don't be fooled by the name - ScienceDirect is an excellent source of information on business and management. And, as an added bonus, all articles are peer-reviewed!

Tips:

  • Use the advanced search option.
  • You can limit your search to information related to Business, Management and Accounting selecting them from the subject area box.

Try searching using some of your own keywords to find information relevant to you.

LSE Library, ‘Collecting books for readers in the reserve stacks, 1964’, no copyright restrictions, source: flickr (http://www.flickr.com/photos/lselibrary/3925726691/)
 
There are other databases you could search in to find information. These include:
 
APAFT
Australian multidisciplinary database with an excellent coverage of economic and social issues, including information on indigenous affairs and Australian business.
 

Informit Business Collection
Business Collection is an Australian database which covers all broad business fields. It's a great resource for Australian content.

 
International indigenous research database covering a wide range of topics, including community development, economics, etc. 
 
Loading

More help

If you need more help
                                      try one of these options:
"Open Clip Art, 'Help Button', CC Licence: No Copyright, Image Source: openclipart.org"