Business: Business Operations BUSS 2065 - Assignment 2, SP5 2017

Assessment 2

Assessment 2 - Business report

The purpose of this Assessment 2 is to help you explore the business operations of a company and critically analyse the issues and the challenges in a real world situation.

Report

Greasley (2013, p. 125) states, 'Technology can be used to enhance performance along the performance objectives such as improving delivery speed and increasing quality'. The author further states 'it is important that the form of technology investment matches the volume/variety requirements of the market and provides the appropriate trade-off between flexibility and cost'.

You are expected to analyse the role and application of technologies in business organisations. Your report needs to answer the following questions:

  • Identify and discuss the areas where technologies are/could be applied in business operations.
  • Describe the role of technologies in enhancing the performance objectives such as improving delivery service and speed.
  • Discuss how technology investments are matched with the volume/variety requirements to provide the appropriate trade-off between flexibility and cost.
  • Discuss the challenges in adopting new technologies in business organisations.

Research: It is expected that you will research widely using appropriate sources. It is also expected that you will use, as a minimum, six (6) academic references including three (3) scholarly journal articles and other references to present your analysis and the business report.

The references in the report should be in the Harvard UniSA referencing system. An omission to include three (3) academic journal articles (peer reviewed) or incorrect use of the Harvard UniSA referencing system will result in a failure for the Referencing component.

 

Please check your Course Outline for full details of assessment requirements 


For this assessment, research the relevant academic sources, critically review and answer the questions presented with supporting evidences.

The argument should be presented in a report format and the report needs to be supported by academic references. The report will consist of the following headings. Suggested headings to be used include the following:

  • Title page
  • Executive summary
  • Table of contents
  • Introduction
  • Discussion
  • Conclusion
  • References

Top Tip See the document below for tips on writing reports.

Academic Resources

Charles Clegg 'Book Shelves', CC Licence: CC BY 2.0, Image source: Flickr

For this assignment you will need to find information from academic / scholarly resources.

Not sure what that means or how to find it? 


Watch these quick videos

Read our Quick Guide about Peer Reviewed Journals

Keywords and key concepts

Taki Steve 'Keys', CC Licence: CC BY 2.0, Image source: Flickr

WHAT do I want to find out? What are the
main concepts and keywords?

To find information for your assignment topic you will need to identify some relevant keywords. You will then be able to use these keywords to search information resources such as the catalogue, databases and the internet.

What you need to consider:

  • What do I want to find out?
  • What keywords/phrases can I use to help me find information?

For this assignment, here are some keywords you might like to consider:

  • business operations, operations strategy, operations management, production management, service operations
  • technology, information technology, technological innovations, innovation
  • delivery speed, delivery of goods, delivery services, production planning
  • quality, performance measurement
  • flexibility, flexible manufacturing systems, manufacturing flexibility
  • costs, cost control
  • implementation

These are only some of the keywords or phrases you could use, there are many others you could use to identify the concepts you are looking for information about. Can you think of any others?

 

Jacqui Brown, ‘Keys’, CC BY-SA 2.0 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/), image source: flickr (https://www.flickr.com/photos/120600995@N07/14028600474) Once you've identified your keywords, you'll need to combine them together to find information on your topic.

Have a look at this guide, which will show you how to connect and combine your keywords to enable you to search the catalogue and databases effectively.

 

For more help with keywords, watch this short (2 mins) video.

**Please note: that this is a generic video and the keywords are not necessarily for your case study.**

Textbook

You can purchase an ebook copy of the textbook from the publisher here

Recommended references

Image source: Picjumbo.com

Click on the tabs above to find links to resources recommended for you in your Course Outline

Loading

Where can I search for information?

Image source: Unsplash.com

Click on the tabs above for information and tips on searching

You can find academic references for your report by searching the Library Catalogue

Catalogue search examples:

"operations management" AND "technological innovation" (limited to peer reviewed)

"delivery speed" AND technology AND operations

"manufacturing flexibility" AND technology AND costs (limited to peer reviewed)

"business operations" AND "information technology" AND implementation (limited to peer reviewed)

Try combining other keywords to find information relevant to you.

Catalogue search tips:

  • You can limit your search results to articles only, if you would like to. Search for your keywords and then refine by Format > Articles
  • You can further limit your results to Show Only > Peer Reviewed
  • Use double quotes for phrases e.g. "layout design"
  • Use an asterix * to find alternate word endings e.g. strateg* finds strategies, strategy, etc.

 Google Scholar searches only within academic or scholarly sites, rather than over the whole internet like a regular Google Search. For more information on using Google Scholar, have a look at our Beyond Google for you Research Guide.

By accessing Google Scholar from within the library website, you will be able link directly to articles that the Library has access to by clicking on the Full-text at UniSA link.

To use the advanced search option, select the down arrow in the search box. You can use many of the same search strategies you use to search the catalogue and databases to search the web.

.

Google Scholar advanced search

Here is an example of a search using Google Scholar:

Sample search from Google Scholar
 
Articles with a Fulltext at UniSA link next to them are freely available to you through the Library - select this link to open a copy of the article you are interested in.
 
Google Scholar search results
 
Many institutions make their research openly available to everyone, regardless of whether or not you are a student there. If you see a PDF link to a paper you should be able to access it, even if it doesn't have a Full-text at UniSA link next to it.
Loading

Searching databases

 

Databases help you to find publications (e.g. journal and newspaper articles, conference papers, book chapters) by a particular author, from a specific publication or on a topic.

They can provide either the full text to a publication or the reference and abstract only. You can access databases from the Library homepage. Choose the A-Z Databases link underneath the catalogue search box to see the full listing of database titles.

Top Tip See the individual database tabs in this box for help with finding resources for your report - these are the best databases for this assignment.

Business Source Complete

Provides information covering all areas of business including accounting and finance; banking; finance and insurance; construction; computer science; economics and more. Includes country economic reports as well as detailed company profiles

This is an example of a search using Business Source Complete.

Business Source Complete search example

Tip:

  • You can limit your search by date range and to Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals from the box on the left hand side of the results screen.

                                       peer review example

Emerald: insight
An excellent source of management and business information. All content in Emerald is peer-reviewed.

Tips:

  • Use the advanced search option.
  • Narrow your search by date range

Search example using Emerald

This is just one sample search - try searching on your own keywords to find articles for your report.

ScienceDirect

Don't be fooled by the name - ScienceDirect is an excellent source of information on business and management. And, as an added bonus, all articles are peer-reviewed!

ScienceDirect search example

Tips:

  • Use the advanced search option.
  • You can limit your search to information related to Business, Management and Accounting selecting them from the subject area box.

Try searching using some of your own keywords to find information relevant to you.

LSE Library, ‘Collecting books for readers in the reserve stacks, 1964’, no copyright restrictions, source: flickr (http://www.flickr.com/photos/lselibrary/3925726691/)
 
There are other databases you could search in to find information. These include:
 
APAFT
Australian multidisciplinary database with an excellent coverage of economic and social issues, including information on indigenous affairs and Australian business.
 

Informit Business Collection
Business Collection is an Australian database which covers all broad business fields. It's a great resource for Australian content.

 
International indigenous research database covering a wide range of topics, including community development, economics, etc. 
 
Loading

Evaluating your resources

Image source: Startupstockphotos.com

Not sure if the information you have found is good quality? It is important to evaluate before you use it in your academic work.

Freepik 'Clapperboard', CC Licence: CC BY 3.0, Image source: Flaticon.com  
  Watch our video You be the Judge - learn to evaluate

Referencing

Jason Grant 'Roadmap to referencing', January 2013 [Image source: UniSA Library]

Need help referencing? Follow the roadmap!

It is very important to that you acknowledge and reference all the information sources you use in your assignments. The referencing style used for BUSS 2058: Managing Services is Harvard UniSA.

You can find additional help with referencing at these sites:

More help

If you need more help
                                      try one of these options:
"Open Clip Art, 'Help Button', CC Licence: No Copyright, Image Source: openclipart.org"