Mathematics: Mathematical Communication MATH 2024

Expository Paper

Expository Paper and project presentation  (50%)

For more information please refer to the Course outline

Find books

Books / ebooks  

Search the Library catalogue and narrow results by:

      
Format  > Books

TIP: Try searching for the keywords from your assignment concepts 

Example search: Indigenous community culture 

Find journal articles and conference papers

The Library Catalogue - can also be a great starting point for finding journal articles and conference papers for your report

Databases -   are large collections of journal articles, papers, book chapters, reports, case studies and other material

What databases could I search? Try databases that have an Australian Focus - Informit Indigenous databases or an Education Focus - ERIC 

For the subject area of mathematics, try searching:

More help

You can get help through:

Research starter

Tips for getting started

What keywords do I use to search?

"Logo 200" by Pierre Rattini CC BY-NC-SA 2.0 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/2.0/) Image source: [http://www.flickr.com/photos/43501249@N06/5276765020/]Watch this video for tips on identifying your key concepts and selecting keywords: 
Think. Plan. Discover. Why keywords matter (1 min. 30 secs) 

-  Plan/construct some search strategies to find information for your report

-  identify the main concepts/topic words

-  use the Library Catalogue and some of the Library's Databases and ejournals to search for the
   above

Example topics:

Discuss the history behind Sudoku or Origami

Mathematics in Indigenous cultures

 

undefined

Combine/connect  these keywords or phrases into search strategies using the AND or OR connectors.

 One example of a search strategy:

- sudoku OR magic square AND solutions  - mathematics  OR math  AND Indigenous cultures


AND will combine keywords with different meanings -   will only find items containing both of your keywords/ will narrow your search.

Example:

sudoku AND solution   / mathematics AND Indigenous cultures

 

OR will combine keywords with similar meanings - will find items containing either or both keywords / will broaden search.
  
Example:

sudoku OR magic square     / mathematics OR math OR arithmetic

For more help see the Library's guide on Connecting and combining search terms.

 

Finding alternative word endings and spellings made easy

Search for plurals and other forms of words by using a feature called a truncation symbol - * .

Example:

math* will find maths, mathematics, mathematical

For alternative spellings of words use feature called a wildcard symbol.

Example:

organi?ation will find organization and organisation

EbscoHost databases - (Academic Search PremierGreenFILE)

Image source [Courtesy of Academic Search Premier]

 

Search tips

  • Use the help guides and tips within the databases
  • Use refinement options to narrow results. e.g. Book/eBooks, Date range or Subject.
Loading

Search results

"Logo 200" by Pierre Rattini CC BY-NC-SA 2.0 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/2.0/) Image source: [http://www.flickr.com/photos/43501249@N06/5276765020/]
It is important to evaluate the quality of the information you have found for your assignment.

 

Watch the following videos to learn how to evaluate the information you find: 

You be the judge: learn to evaluate (3.45 mins.) 

Scholarly Sources Explained (2.45 mins.)

 

What is peer reviewed?

 Look at the How to...guides link to Find peer reviewed journal articles

 Search for a journal title to check if it is peer reviewed in:

  Ulrichsweb global serials directory  

Jason Grant 'Roadmap to referencing', January 2013 [Image source: UniSA Library]

 

 
Use the Roadmap to Referencing to help you decide what your source is and how to reference it according to Harvard-UniSA style.

Is there software to help me with my references?

In Math 2024 (Mathematical Communication), you will learn to use the BiBTeX referencing system within the mathematical typesetting software package, LaTeX.

-  For help on importing EndNote references into BiBTeX, click here 

-  For a step by step guide here

EndNote and RefWorks are the two bibliographic management software products available for UniSA staff and students.
For more information on these refer to Managing references.

Loading