EndNote: Training, Help & FAQs

EndNote Technical Support

Phone help (freecall within Australia)
1800 007 214
Mon - Fri 9am - 6pm [GMT+10]

Online EndNote technical support (Knowledgebase) from Thomson Reuters

EndNote webinar schedule

Aaron Patterson 2011, Laptop, CC BY-2.0:https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/ , Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/40875537@N04/5659910644/Join the webinars run by EndNote Support. The "Sydney" times best suit users in Australia.

See the EndNote Training Channel on YouTube for recordings.

Loading

EndNote News on Twitter

Learn EndNote step by step



Quick Reference Guides give an overview. If you need more detail check the User manuals.

"Open Clip Art, 'Help Button', CC Licence: No Copyright, Image Source: openclipart.org"                 EndNote User Manuals

  • The latest Getting Started Guide (PDF) is a good starting point.
  • Use the comprehensive user manual (Windows and Mac) (4.34Mb)  if you encounter problems. It may be accessed from within EndNote by clicking on
  •  Phone help within Australia is available by freecall 1800 007 214 Mon - Fri 9am - 6pm [GMT+10] (Thomson Reuters / EndNote)
  • Online EndNote technical support (Knowledgebase) from Thomson Reuters

There are many help products available from EndNote:

For further information please contact the Academic Library Services team responsible for your Division.

 

Loading

Frequently asked questions (FAQs)

[By Japanese author, ‘3D Character and Question Mark’, 18 July 2008, CC License: CC BY-NC-SA 2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/deed.en), Image Source: flickr, http://www.flickr.com/photos/crystaljingsr/3914729343/][By Japanese author, ‘3D Character and Question Mark’, 18 July 2008, CC License: CC BY-NC-SA 2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/deed.en), Image Source: flickr, http://www.flickr.com/photos/crystaljingsr/3914729343/]FAQs

Have a question about EndNote?

We've grouped some of our frequently asked questions together.

Don't worry if you don't find the question you are interested in, contact us or try the Thomson Reuters FAQ page below.

Frequently Asked Questions

Product ID / Product Key

Q:  When trying to download EndNote to my computer/laptop I am asked for a product ID/key. What do I enter?

A: If you have been asked for a product ID something has gone wrong with the installation.Simplecon 'Key Tool', CC Licence: CC BY 3.0, Image source: Flaticon.com

  • Make sure you have uninstalled any previous versions of EndNote from your computer.
  • You cannot run the EndNote installation from your download folder. Make sure you unzip or save the EndNote folder to a different location on your computer e.g. on your desktop.
  • For more help refer to the step-by-step installation instructions provided on the Software Tab of this Guide. 
Missing EndNote tab in Word

Q: I have installed EndNote but the EndNote Tab is missing and no commands appear in the Word Tools menu. What has happened?

A: To reinstate the EndNote Tab in Word on a PC:

  • Click on the Office icon and select Word Options
  • Click on Add-ins
  • Change the Manage options to Disabled Items
  • Click Go.
  • Highlight any EndNote item(s) and click Enable
  • Click OK

If prompted, select to allow the file(s) to be loaded by Word, close and re-open Word when this is done

To reinstate the EndNote Tab in Word on a Mac:

  • Click on View > Toolbars
  • Click on the EndNote option if visible this should bring it back.
  • If there is no EndNote option visible follow the link below for further help:

For further help see the EndNote FAQ page below:

Transferring references from RefWorks into EndNote and EndNote Online

Q: How can I transfer references from RefWorks into EndNote and EndNote Online?

A: You will need to create a formatted text file in RefWorks and then import it into EndNote

Creating a formatted text file in RefWorks Import the text file into EndNote
  • In your RefWorks account, go to the References menu and choose Export.
  • Select the references you want to export (e.g., All, or by folder), verify the Bibliographic Software button is selected and click the Export to Text File button.
  • The next screen confirms the export is processing.
  • A new Web browser window opens with your references presented in a structured format. If the references do not appear in a new window automatically, click the Download It link.
  • Save your references to a text file on your desktop by selecting the File menu and Save As. Note: remember where the file is located for importing into EndNote.
  • Now you are ready to import your references to EndNote or EndNote Online.
  • Create a new EndNote library, or open an existing one to import the text file.
  • From the EndNote File Menu, choose Import and then File.
  • Click the Choose button next to Import File and locate the file saved from your RefWorks account.
  • Click Open
  • On the Import Option drop-down list, choose "Reference Manager (RIS)". The selections for Duplicates and Text Translation do not require adjusting unless your operating system is using a language setting other than English.
  • Click on the Import button. EndNote will present your references in a library window.

 

 

 

Merging EndNote Libraries

Q: I have two EndNote libraries but I only want to keep one?

A: Make sure you have 2 different names for your libraries so it is really clear to you which one you are keeping and which one you are deleting.

  • Open the EndNote library into which you will be importing (the one you want to keep).
  • From the File menu, select Import.
  • Select Choose file to locate the EndNote library that you wish to import (the library you will eventually delete).
  • Select EndNote Library from the Import Option drop down list
  • Select Discard Duplicates
  • Select Import

Once that process is complete you can then delete the library you do not want.

Frequently Asked Questions

Diacritics or diacriticals

Q: How do I add diacritics to my references in EndNote?         

A: Instructions on how to add diacriticals to Endnote can be found by typing diacritics in the Endnote Help section from within the Endnote Program

Naming a new reference type

Q: I cannot rename the default reference type (Unused 1) when creating a modified reference type.
How can I edit this field?

A: Place the cursor in the box below the one you want to edit. Use the Up arrow to move up to the
Unused 1 box. You can now edit this field

EndNote and laTeX

Q: If I have a list of references in EndNote can I import it into a LaTeX reference list?'LaTeX logo', Licensed under Public Domain via Wikimedia Commons

A: Yes, you can import EndNote references into LaTeX reference list. LaTeX is a document preparation system for high-quality typesetting. It is most often used for medium to large technical or scientific documents but it can be used for almost any form of publishing. It is typically used for typesetting of complex mathematical formulas, advanced typesetting of mathematics with AMS-LaTeX, and automatic generation of bibliographies and indexes.

Try these websites for detailed help:

Company name

Q: One of my references has a company name as an author but it is not displaying properly? How can I fix it?

A: To make a company name display you need to edit your reference and place a comma after the name e.g. The Australian Computer Society,

Author initials in in-text citation

Q: Some of my references are showing the Author's initials in the in-text citation? Is this is a error?

A: Harvard UniSA style will display an Author initial(s) if it is the same Surname as another Author you have referenced (see Q6 p.26 of the Harvard referencing guide UniSA). If you have referenced the same Author twice, initials are not necessary. Check your EndNote Library to see if the Author's name is listed differently in the references.

Frequently Asked Questions 

Using EndNote from Dropbox

Q: I’m trying to use EndNote from Dropbox but I get this error message: This library appears to be damaged. Another user might have write access... and was also asked if I wanted to recover my library. I did this but then the copy had the same problem.Dropbox Icon: Image source Icon archive CC BY-NC-ND 4.0(http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/4.0/) http://www.iconarchive.com/show/the-circle-icons-by-xenatt/App-Dropbox-icon.html

A: EndNote is not designed to work in a Cloud based, file sharing  environment. You can use Dropbox to store your EndNote Library or to move it from one location to another but do not try and use EndNote from within Dropbox. If you are trying to use EndNote from within Dropbox close the program, copy/move your EndNote files to a location on your computer and then open the EndNote program.

 

Online search feature

Q: Why does the Online search feature sometimes not work?

A: At UniSA, the Online search feature is not available for subscription databases, and is not widely used. Outside the University network the Online search feature works for most freely available resources. Within the University network you are only able to access the University of South Australia catalogue (U South Australia) and the PubMed (NLM) database. This is due to database access restrictions (ezproxy) and firewalls. See also related FAQ, Connecting to databases from within EndNote.
 

Frequently Asked Questions

Syncing 2 computers

Q: Is it possible to sync more than one computer? I have already synced my home computer can I also sync my work computer?

A: Yes it is possible to sync more than computer.

  • Open a blank EndNote library on the second computer.
  • Under the Sync preferences enter your email and password click Sync
  • The references will be downloaded to the blank library.

 

Frequently Asked Questions

Deleted library

Q: I have accidentally deleted my EndNote library but I still have .Data folder is there any way to get my library back?

A: Yes if you still have the .Data folder you can recreate your EndNote library

  • Open Notepad on your computer
  • Select File>Save As to save the blank document
  • Give the file the same name as your .Data folder change the ending from .txt to .enl
  • Save it in the same place on your computer where the .Data folder exists
  • The .enl file should now appear with an EndNote icon. You can now open your library.

Damaged library

Q: When I try to open my reference I get an error message. Is there any way to fix my damaged EndNote library?

A: Yes you may be able to repair your EndNote library.

  • Open EndNote but close your library.
  • Go to the Tools menu, click on Recover Library.
  • A pop up box will appear with more information, read and then click OK.
  • Select the EndNote library that needs repair and click Open.
  • A copy of the library will be created with the suffix -saved.enl make sure you use this library instead of the original damaged one.

Frequently Asked Questions 

Merging theses chapters

Q: I have nearly finished my thesis and each chapter is a separate Word document. I have used EndNote to insert in-text citations. How do I get the list of references to appear at the end of my thesis instead of at the end of each chapter?

A: It is possible to combine your word documents together and have a single bibliography at the end. You may want to make a copy of each chapter eg. Chapter1_copy, Chapter2_copy etc

  • Open each document in Word > EndNote X7 > Convert Citations and Bibliography dropdown select Convert to Unformatted Citations. Save the changes.
    • NOTE: This will remove the bibliography and will make the in-text citations appear like this {Fee, 2013 #2388}
    • If your documents are small you can copy and paste them in once they are unformatted (Skip to 'Now to reformat the citations' step)
  • Rename the first document this will now become your master document.
  • We will now add the other chapters to this document.
    • in Word > Insert > Object select Text from File file
    • Select document to add (add multiple documents by holding the CTRL key select in the order you would like them to appear eg. Chapter 2_copy, Chapter 3_copy) then click Insert.
  • Your documents should now be combined in to the master save this version.
  • Now to reformat the citations. In Word > EndNote X7> Update Citations and Bibliography.
  • The citations should now be appearing correctly and the bibliography will display at the end of the document
  • Any changes you should now be made in this master document.
Numbering Reference lists or bibliographies

Q: How do I add numbers to my reference list or bibliography?

A: You need to edit the style you are using: from within EndNote:

  • Go to the Edit menu and select Output styles and then select the style you want to edit
  • Open the style you want to edit and go to File, and Save as. Remember to rename the file eg Harvard modified date
  • In the left hand menu under Bibliography select Layout
  • Place your cursor in the box labelled Start each reference with and then go to the Insert field button. From the drop down list select Bibliography number
  • Go back to the drop down menu and select Tab (this will show in the text box as a small arrow)
  • Place your cursor in the box labelled: End each reference with and go to the Insert field button. From the drop down list select End of paragraph
  • At the bottom of the screen in the box labelled Hanging indent select All paragraphs if required by your style
  • Close to save the changes
displaying code

Q: My document is showing strange code how do I get my references back?

A: On your keyboard press ALT & F9 or Option & F9 on Mac. This should toggle between displaying the code and the normal view. If this does not fix the problem try the following:

Windows

  • Go to the File tab> Options
  • Select Advanced option> Show Document Content
  • Uncheck Show field codes instead of their values> Click OK

Mac

  • Go to the Word menu> Select Preferences
  • View menu> uncheck Field codes
  • Click OK
Loading