Citation and Journal Metrics: ResearcherID

Strengths

  • Uses citation data from Web of Science 
  • UniSA subscription covers 1975 onwards
  • Automatically updates WoS h-index, citations per article and average citations
  • Can add your publications not indexed in Web of Science/Web of Knowledge via EndNote Web
  • Can create up to 3 lists to separate publications into, for example,  document types
  • Profile and publications can reflect whole of career, not just current affiliation
  • ResearcherID badge can be added to your staff home page
  • Profile and  publications list(s) can be made publicly viewable
  • Option to turn citation metrics on or off

Limitations

Limitations of ResearcherID include:

  • Indexes ~10 000 journals, mainly in the sciences
  • You need to manually create and update your profile
  • Few full text links

Creating your ResearcherID profile

 

ResearcherID logo [Image source: www.researcherid.com/]

ResearcherID is produced by Thomson Reuters.

Watch the presentation from Thomson Reuters (listed below) which covers

  • creating your profile
  • adding your publications
  • viewing your citation metrics

 OR

View the eight page summary - ResearcherID: Gateway to Researchers and their Published Works Quick Reference Card (listed below)  Create your profile. Connect to ResearcherID on the web or from the Library's ResearcherID database page, or via the Web of Knowledge group of databases.

Contact your Academic Library Services Team if you need assistance or have any queries.

Important tips to maximise your ResearcherID profile

When creating your ResearcherID profile

  • select your address as University of South Australia, UniSA from the drop down box
  • in the URL field, add a link to your staff home page
  • add Subjects - select from the categories listed, and Add
  • add keywords - these are free text words that you can use to describe your research, and these are searchable from the ResearcherID home page

Adding your publications

  • you can create up to three lists, and can choose to make them public or private, and to make the metrics public or private
  • you may want to have your peer-reviewed journal articles and conference papers in the My Publications list, and abstracts or patents in separate lists

Adding a ResearcherID badge to your staff home page - email your Academic Library Services Team so they can arrange for the link to be added

ResearcherID badge [Image source: ResearcherID]

 

 

 ResearcherID example [Image ource: UniSA www.unisanet.unisa.edu.au/staff/Homepage.asp?Name=Peter.Howe)