Citation and Journal Metrics: Other metrics

Other metrics

Joris Lootens, ‘Numbers & structures - structures & numbers', Creative Commons 2.0 Generic CC BY-NC-ND 2.0 (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/deed.en) , Image source: Flickr (https://www.flickr.com/photos/the_jorr/315733940/)

Publish or Perish

Publish or Perish is a software program created by Anne-Wil Harzing of University of Melbourne. The program analyses your Google Scholar raw citations and presents you with a variety of statistics, including

  • total number of citations
  • total number of references
  • average numer of references
  • h-index
  • g-index

Publish or Perish may be most useful for three of the Google Scholar categories:

  1. Business, Administration, Finance & Economics;
  2. Engineering, Computer Science & Mathematics;
  3. Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities

BiomedExperts

BiomedExperts is a life sciences social network where you can research, collaborate, and connect with researchers and medical experts worldwide. Produced by Elsevier, it contains over 1.8 million "computed profiles", of which 409,000 have been "claimed" by authors.

Profiles are based on PubMed publications and citation rates. Profiles can be previewed without registering, displaying top three publications, co-author network and a publication list. Free registration is required to view full profiles and update your own.  

SSRN

The Social Sciences Research Network (SSRN) is comprised of a number of specialised research networks in business, law and some social sciences. The site includes submitted abstracts and some full text (327,000 papers). Free registration is required to download some full text, submit a paper, view references and citations, and interact with other researchers in your field.

See the SSRN FAQs for more information.

Subject databases

Some subject databases include citation counts. These counts may only appear in the record for a work if it has been cited at least once. The counts of cited references may be drawn from one database or multiple databases.

ACM Digital Library - computing

Business Source Complete

CINAHL - nursing and allied health

IEEEXplore - electrical/electronic engineering and computing

PubMed - biomedical sciences

ScienceDirect - multidisciplinary (uses Scopus citation data)

Many databases available via ProQuest include times cited counts drawn from the complete suite of ProQuest databases, e.g.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals

ARTbibliographies Modern

ERIC - education 

Design and Applied Arts Index

Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA)

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)

Some databases do not list times cited, but allow you to search for citing references.

PsycINFO - psychology