Citation and Journal Metrics: Web of Science

Fast facts about Web of Science

The Web of Science Core Collection:

  • provides access to scholarly literature in the sciences, and some social sciences
  • all journals that are included are subject to a rigourous selection process, with ~11 000 journals indexed
  • some conference proceedings are included

The UniSA Library subscription consists of:

  • Science Citation Index Expanded, 1975-
  • Social Sciences Citation Index, 1975-
  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1975-
  • Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Science, 1990-
  • Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Social Sciences & Humanities, 1990-

 

Registering for a personal account

To use some of the features of Web of Science, you will need to create your own personal account.

Follow the prompts at the Registration screen, by first entering your email address, then filling in the form. Your password will need to consist of a minimum of 8 characters, and include a number and a symbol.

If you already have a personal account with ResearcherID or EndNote Web, the same details can be used, as they are all Thomson Reuters products.

Creating alerts

Keep up to date and see who cites a particular publication by using the Create Citation Alert feature.


When looking at an individual publication, in the right hand menu look for Create citation alert

The results will be sent to your email, or use the RSS feed.

You will need to sign in to use this feature.

Accessing Web of Science

When accessing Web of Science, it is important to select the Web of Science Core Collection.

Access this database via the Database title listing, then select Web of Science Core Collection from the drop down menu.

Access Web of Science Core Collection

Tracking citations

Search the Web of Science Core Collection to see how often a publication has been cited, and see if there has been any subsequent research (or refutation) since it has been published. Here's an example:

Basic search screen

Note that * has been used to broaden the search, eg universit* will find university or universities.

At the results screen, you can:

  • refine the search if too many results, eg limit by date, or add another keyword
  • scan the publication details, and potentially identify more keywords, or authors you may want to search to see all their publications

Results screen

To see more information about the publication, click on the title link.

Reference

  • Look at the keywords to identify other search terms that could be used to make your search results more comprehensive, or more relevant.
  • Read the abstract
  • Find the full text using the Full text options, or the Look up full text on Google Scholar

This publication is very new, so has not yet been cited, but the authors referred to 45 publications.By scanning those references, idenitfy other publications that may be of interest, for example:

Publication

This publication has been cited 21 times since being published, and referred to 77 other publications.See the next section to see how you can track a publication both forwards and backwards.

Using citation mapping feature

Citation mapping is a powerful feature in Web of Science where you can visually track a reference, see the references that were referred to when the publication was written, then go forwards to see who has cited the publication since it was published.

Watch this short video (see link below) to see how to use this feature.

In the right hand menu of any publications screen, look for View Citation Map.