Special and Archival Collections: Bob Hawke

Bob Hawke Collection

Access Conditions

Location: Bob Hawke Prime Ministerial Library - City West campus

Loan: Not for loan

Access & Further information: Please contact the Academic Library Services Team for the Division of Education, Arts and Social Sciences

Search: Bob Hawke Collection in the UniSA Library Archives

Photo Stream

Bob Hawke at Niagara Falls

Bob Hawke and Dr. Kevin Threlfall (Geelong FC President)

Bob & Hazel Hawke with George & Barbara Bush

Bob Hawke & Premier John Cain at the Australia Games announcement

Collection Overview

The Bob Hawke Collection focuses on items of historical and political interest and includes Hawke's personal papers, photographs, newspaper clippings, audio and video recordings including oral history, posters and original artworks.

The collection also includes a large, varied selection of realia, including a motorcycle, sculptures, state gifts, campaign memorabilia and commemorative items.

Biography

The Hon Robert James Lee (Bob) Hawke AC was born in Bordertown, South Australia in 1929. He was educated at the University of Western Australia, Oxford University and the Australian National University (ANU). Prior to completing his studies at ANU, Hawke joined the Australian Council of Trade Unions (ACTU) as a research officer, later becoming the ACTU president from 1973 to 1980.

Hawke joined the Australian Labor Party (ALP) while he was at university and in 1983 was elected as the ALP Leader. Later that year Hawke won the election and became prime minister. Under his leadership, the ALP went on to win the next three elections, making Hawke the longest-serving Labor prime minister in Australian history.

Throughout his term, Hawke focused on public health care (establishing Medicare), education, human rights and reforms in economics, environmental policy and international affairs.

In 1991, Hawke resigned as prime minister and in 1992, he resigned from politics. Since then Hawke has continued to campaign for public issues, such as Australia becoming a republic. In 1997 the Bob Hawke Prime Ministerial Centre was established, along with the Hawke Research Institute and the Bob Hawke Prime Ministerial Library. Hawke is the chairman of the Hawke Research Institute Advisory Board at the Bob Hawke Prime Ministerial Centre.

In 2009 Hawke helped to establish the International Centre for Muslim and non-Muslim Understanding.

In the Library Collection

Videos

Further Information