Special and Archival Collections: Dr Gregor Ramsey

Gregor Ramsey Collection

Gregor Ramsey; Image source: UniSA Library

Access Conditions

Location: Digital collection only

Access & Further Information: Please contact the Academic Library Services Team for the Division of Education, Arts and Social Sciences

Search: Gregor Ramsey Collection in the UniSA Library Archives

Collection Overview

The Gregor Ramsey Collection covers Dr Ramsey's career in education, from his beginnings as a science teacher through to his current role as a national and international consultant on education. The collection includes correspondence, speeches, Hansard excerpts, articles, research notes and papers, published papers, reports, reviews, newspaper clippings and personal notebooks.

Biography

Dr Gregor Ramsey, AM has had a distinguished career in education spanning over 40 years. From his beginnings as a science teacher Dr Ramsey has been an advocate for curriculum development, later becoming an expert and policy maker on education.

In the 1970s Dr Ramsey was the principal of four colleges of advanced education. He was instrumental in the formation of the South Australian College of Advanced Education, through the consolidation of six colleges of advanced education in Adelaide in 1984. This merger led to the establishment of UniSA in 1991.

On moving to Canberra in 1984, Dr Ramsey held positions including Commissioner of the Commonwealth Tertiary Education Commission, Chair of the Higher Education Council and Chair of the National Board of Employment, Education and Training. Dr Ramsey went on to become the Managing Director of the New South Wales TAFE Commission, a position which saw him transform vocational education and training in that state.

Dr Ramsey has also been an advocate for indigenous education. In 2001 Dr Ramsey became the Project Director for the Desert Peoples Centre in Alice Springs, where he worked to improve indigenous education and services. 

In 2007 Dr Ramsey was made a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) in recognition of his service to education, particularly higher education, vocational education and training.

Since 1995 Dr Ramsey has provided consultancy services on education, particularly university and vocational education within Australia and internationally.

Further Information

National Library of Australia

Search TROVE

State Library of South Australia

Search the catalogue

VOCED plus - Tertiary education research database

Search the database