Special and Archival Collections: Rosemary Crowley

Rosemary Crowley Collection

 Rosemary Crowley; Image source: UniSA Library

Access Conditions

Location: Bob Hawke Prime Ministerial Library - City West campus.

Loan: Not for loan

Access & Further Information: Please contact the Academic Library Services Team for the Division of Education, Arts and Social Sciences

Search: Rosemary Crowley Collection in the UniSA Library Archives

Collection Overview

The Rosemary Crowley Collection includes personal papers, publications, correspondence, speeches, reports, books, photographs, audiovisual material and realia from her time as an ALP senator. There is a strong focus on public health and social issues, particularly affecting women, children and families.

Biography

Dr Rosemary Crowley was the first South Australian female senator for the Australian Labor Party to serve in federal parliament, which she did from her election into office in 1983. Crowley was the Minister for Family Services from 1993 to 1996 and the Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for the Status of Women in 1993. Crowley was involved in the implemented the Child Care Rebate Act 1993 as well as reforms to Medicare.

Prior to entering politics, Crowley had a career as a medical practitioner and as such, she had a strong interest in community health issues including women's heath, childcare and parent education. She was also involved in school and community organisations and was a foundation member of the South Australian Mental Health Tribunal. Throughout her political career Crowley was dedicated to social justice and democracy. Crowley also headed a government enquiry into Women, Sport and the Media, which was instrumental in increasing funding and support to women's sport.

Crowley retired from politics in 2002 after 19 years of service.

Further Information

National Archives of Australia

Search the collection

State Library of South Australia

Search the catalogue

Parliamentary Library of Australia

Search for parliamentary records

Wikipedia

Rosemary Crowley