Special and Archival Collections: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Collection

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander collection; Image source: UniSA Library

Collection Overview

The Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Collection has been separated from the main collection for a variety of reasons. The collection contains material which may be racist, sexist, derogatory or abusive and may cause offence to Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal people. The collection also includes material which is secret, sacred, dated and has been separated for reasons of cultural sensitivity. Other items have been included in the collection because they are fragile, rare or valuable.

Local Aboriginal people have been consulted in creating this collection. The collection has been created in accordance with the principles in the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Protocols for Libraries, Archives and Information Services (ATSILIRN).

The collection includes relevant material from the Margaret Carnegie Gift received by the Library in 1992. This collection includes 1600 books, periodicals, art exhibition catalogues, correspondence and papers.

Access Conditions

Location: Jeffrey Smart Building - City West campus

Access: UniSA staff and students, for 4 hour in-library use only

Community Access: At the discretion of the Academic Library Services Team for the Division of Education, Arts and Social Sciences

Loan: Can be borrowed for teaching purposes

Search: All items are available through the Library Catalogue and can be identified by the prefix SP