Special and Archival Collections: History of Primary Education in South Australia (HOPE)

History of Primary Education in South Australia

HOPE collection; Image source: UniSA Library

Access Conditions

Location: Offsite Warehouse

Access: To request items, search the Library Catalogue and place a hold on the required item (expected retrieval time is 48 hours)

Community Access: At the discretion of the Academic Library Services Team for the Division of Education, Arts and Social Sciences

Loan: most items 8 weeks, selected items 4 hour in-library use only

Search: All items are available through the Library catalogue and can be identified by the prefix HOPE

Collection Overview

The HOPE collection was created for the purpose of facilitating research in South Australian educational history. The collection was started in 1972 by academic and library staff at the Wattle Park Teachers' College, which was one of the predecessor institutions to the University of South Australia.

The HOPE collection includes over 7000 items which were used in South Australian Primary Schools from the 19th Century. These include textbooks, curriculum documents, audiovisual and kit material. The collection also includes a small sample of teachers' lesson plans, school roll books and students' copy books.  

Non-fiction material published in or about South Australia and developed for primary education and with educational research significance, is included in the collection. The collection includes electronic formats. Material is added to the collection when it is removed from the Library's Teacher Resource collection. Some collection material is very fragile and rare and access is at the discretion of the Manager, Academic Library Services

Further Information

Australian Council for Educational Research

Australian Education Index

Australian Association for Research in Education (AARE)

AARE Conference Papers Database