Nursing and Midwifery: NURS 5150: Leadership & Management in Nursing & Health Contexts

Assessments

This workshop will get you started finding resources and writing Assessment 1&2. You should use a range of quality sources to support the argument that you present in your paper. 

Read all information related to your assessment to understand what your lecturers and tutors are looking for when they are marking your assessments! Refer to:

  • Learnonline site
  • Course Outline
  • Marking Criteria and Feedback Form

This will help you gain an overall understanding of the assessment and will help you plan the structure and the content of your assignment based on assessment marking criteria.

This workshop consists of 6 sections:

  1. Understand your task
  2. Develop your Search Strategy
  3. Search for Information
  4. Evaluate and select resources
  5. Write your paper
  6. Cite and Reference

Follow the above sections in order and attempt the tasks in each section to get maximum benefit from this assignment help!

Assignment 1: Discussion paper (1500-2500 words) (Graded)

Discuss the topic: Why health service managers have to be leaders?

Points to consider in developing your paper:

  • While heath care organisations are complex entities, it is people who manage people
  • Managers manage processes, systems, structures, and the people who will deliver the outcomes expected in an organisation
  • Managers manage expectations of the organisation and of the people working there
  • Managers manage the talents, competencies and motivations of others- ignoring these elements can be disastrous for the organisation
  • Differentiate between management and leadership
  • Influential leaders use power effectively

Assignment 2 Case Study Analysis (2500 - 3500 words) (Graded)

Using leadership principles develop a proposal for a leadership development program for your organisation or clinical unit. The aim of the program is to provide a definite career pathway for individuals identified as having leadership potential to move into senior positions. The proposal should include discussion of:

  • Why the leadership development program is needed
  • How the proposed program links to the organisation's mission & strategic objectives
  • The target participant group/s and selection criteria for entry to the program
  • The capabilities/competencies to be developed by participants in the program (including emotional intelligence competencies) & why these are strategically important for the organisation
  • The outcomes/deliverables to be achieved for the organisation & the individual participants from the program
  • The assignment should be presented in a report format
  • The assignment will be marked according to the assessment criteria set out in the Assignment 2 Marking Criteria & Feedback Form. Ensure that you review the relevant marking criteria when planning &completing the assignment.
Loading

1. Understand your Task

To understand what is being asked of you for this assignment, consider the following:

  1. Task word(s) - what you need to do in your assignment- Consider: What does the word 'discuss' mean? This is not just about listing the similarities and differences. You need to analyse the information.

    According to your marking rubric, for a High Distinction:

    "Key concepts & issues beyond those obvious to the topic are identified, critically analysed, clearly explained & accurately applied with an excellent level of critical analysis"

  2. Find the content words in the task.  These words indicate the 'what' - the content area that you will be thinking about. You can identify these by taking the task word & adding the question “What?” (Specifically: Discuss What?)
     
  3. Identify the limits of the task:
  • Limiting words:  As you are reading, note what aspects are covered by the literature. Consider: What are you interested in? What has adequate information to support you? How will you choose how many points to cover? 

 "You are required to address a minimum of 2, no more than 3, of the above points in your paper".

  • Time limit:  Check your due date - How much time do you have?
  • Percentage limit:   How much time and energy should you invest?
  • Word count limit:  How much detail can you include in your paper? You have a 1500 - 2500 word limit. Penalties for not keeping to the word limit are identified in your marking rubric.
  • Limits on resources:  You have to use academic, scholarly resources - Where will you find these? You also need to use primary articles (original studies), such as randomised controlled trials.

According to your marking rubric, for a High Distinction:
"Extensive use of scholarly literature to support discussion"

vs for a Pass 2:
"Limited use of scholarly literature to support discussion. Overuse of secondary sources or evidence and/or some references that have limited relevance to the topic"

Your task: Make a 'guess-timate plan' of what and how much research you need, considering 1, 2, 3 above.

To understand what is being asked of you for this assignment, consider the following:

  1. Task word(s) - what you need to do in your assignment- Consider: What do the words 'develop' and 'discuss' mean? 

    According to your marking rubric, for a High Distinction:

    "Presents an extensive, thoughtful & well organised proposal that demonstrates an excellent understanding of leadership development linked to the organisation's missions & goals"

    and

    "Demonstrates high-level ability to critically analyse, evaluate & synthesise literature and apply the information to support the proposal"

  2. Find the content word in the task.  These words indicate the content area to cover. Identify this by taking the task word & adding the question “What?” (Specifically: Develop and Discuss What?)
     
  3. Identify the limits of the task:
  • Limiting words:  As you are reading, note what aspects are covered by the literature. Consider: What are you interested in? What has adequate information to support you? How will you choose how many points to cover? 
  • Time limit:  Check your due date - How much time do you have?
  • Percentage limit:   How much time and energy should you invest?
  • Word count limit:  How much detail can you include? You have a 2500 - 3500 word limit. Penalties for not keeping to the word limit will apply.
  • Limits on resources:  You have to use primary scholarly resources .

According to your marking rubric, for a High Distinction:
"Extensive use of scholarly literature to support the proposal"

vs for a Pass 2:
"Limited use of scholarly literature to support proposal. Overuse of secondary sources of evidence and/or some references that have limited relevance to the topic"

Your task: Make a 'guess-timate plan' of what and how much research you need, considering 1, 2, 3 above.
Loading

2. Develop your search strategy

Complex assessment questions need to be broken down into subtopics.

To search effectively in the Library catalogue, databases, and the internet, first break the question down into manageable subtopics. This video shows you how to this.

Your task: Now apply what you learnt from the video into your assignment and break it into individual components

Follow the steps in the next 3 tabs for each subtopic that you identified.

Identify key concepts in each subtopic that you identified from your assessment question.

To develop an effective search strategy you need to break each subtopic into concepts (or parts) and choose the important keywords (or topic words) from each concept.

Watch this video to learn how to break the each subtopic into concepts.

Lets apply what we learnt from the video to this example assignment topic: Is it ethical for a doctor to refuse treating a patient?

  Concept 1 Concept 2 Concept 3
Example Topic: Doctors refusal to treat ethics

Your task: Identify key concepts for each subtopic in your assessment question.

HINT: The dot points in the assignment question will give you some starting terms. You aren't likely to find a paper that talks about all of the issues however. You may need to do a few different searches- one on each topic.

Now you need to identify synonyms for the key concepts that you identified

The next step in the search process it to see whether there are alternative words or spellings for each concept that you identified.

Watch this video to learn how to do this:

Lets apply what we learnt from the video to this example assignment subtopic: Is it ethical for a doctor to refuse treating a patient?

  Concept 1 Concept 2

Concept 3

Example topic Doctors Refusal to treat ethics
Synonyms

physician

medical practitioner

clinician

Refusal of treatment

Refuse to treat

moral

morality

Your task: Now see whether you can identify synonyms for the key concepts that you selected

Here is how you combine the search terms that you identified before you start searching in databases.

First watch this video to learn how to connect and combine search terms

Lets apply what we learnt from the video to this example assignment subtopic: Is it ethical for a doctor to refuse treating a patient?

Doctors OR physician OR healthcare professional
AND
"refusal of treatment" OR "refusal of care" OR "refusal to treat" OR treatment refusal OR refuse* treatment
AND
ethic* OR moral OR morality
 

Your task: Develop a search strategy by combining the concepts and keywords that you identified

HINT: Still stuck? View our How To Guides below to learn more.

Loading

3. Searching for Information

Fast facts about Library databases:

  • Can be general (multidisciplinary) or subject-specific
  • May contain full text, or just index citation details
  • Some focus on primary papers (original research, i.e Randomised Controlled Trials)
  • Others focus on secondary (usually syntheses of research, i.e Systematic Reviews)
  • Many allow your search to be limited to a specific type of study

Useful databases to search

View our Evidence Based Practice guide, for a full list of Primary and Secondary Databases

Watch the following video to help you plan your search strategy and search for information.

Here’s an example of a search in Medline. We have done a unique search for each search concept and then used the search history to combine these:

Refining the results

It can be useful to limit to only Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals), and to a Publication Date range or language

Finding full text

  • Where possible, links to the full text will appear as PDF attachments.
  • When there is no immediate access to the PDF, use the Find it link. This will search the Library Catalogue for your reference, and may provide some access options
  • For more information, read the Find a full text article using Find it guide.
Your task: Use the search plan you developed to search the databases. 

The Library Catalogue can be a useful place to quickly locate some information. It searches across the Library’s entire collection.

Use the Library Catalogue:

  • to find a book or electronic journal article by title
  • to find other materials on a topic

Our example topic:

  Is it ethical for a doctor to refuse treating a patient?

To do a search on this topic, try using double quotes for phrases. E.G. doctor "refusal to treat" ethics

At the result list, you can limit to Peer Reviewed, Date or Subject

See the full text for electronic items by selecting the title, then the Online link. There may be several options to choose from due to database duplication.

The internet can be a useful source of information for this assessment. Use the key concepts and synonyms that you identified in step 2.

Useful internet sources include:

Tips when searching in Google Scholar

Try Google Scholar to find additional scholarly material. Google Scholar provides access to full text of many articles if you connect via the link above, or from the Library home page.

Loading

4. Evaluate and Select your Resources

You need to use academic literature for assessment 1&2. 

Academic literature are materials written by researchers for an academic audience. Some are from Peer reviewed journals, meaning that such articles must pass an quality assurance process by experts before being published. The term refereed is also used.

Watch the Scholarly sources explained video or the video below.

NCSU Libraries, Peer Review in 3 minutes (Creative Commons 3.0 BY-NC-SA US ) 
 

Your task: Apply what you learnt from the video to ensure that references that you selected are academic/peer reviewed.

It is important that you evaluate a web site to ensure that the information is reliable. Consider:

  • Authority
    • who wrote it?
    • what are their qualifications/credentials?
    • is it from an authoritative source?
  • Timeliness
    • when was the information published?
    • is it updated regularly?
  • Bias
    • is it fact, opinion or propaganda?
  • Relevance
    • is the information relevant to the assignment topic?
    • does the information actually cover your topic?
Your task: Apply what you learnt from the video to ensure that references that you selected are reliable

Stairs [Image source: adapted from Unsplash, https://unsplash.com/search/stair?photo=V-kGjUkCoeQ, copied under CC0 1.0, https://creativecommons.org/publicdomain/zero/1.0/]Have you found the most authoritative evidence for your topic?

Some study types are considered less authoritative than others, due to limitations in their design. Many models exist which show the different levels of evidence. 

Consider where your papers sit in one of the below Hierarchies:

  • Brian Haynes 6S Hierarchy of Evidence Based Resources
  • Developed in 2009 this is a useful model for guiding clinical decision making.
     
  • CEBM 2011 Levels of Evidence System
  • Designed so that in addition to traditional critical appraisal, it enables clinicians and patients to answer clinical questions quickly and without resorting to pre-appraised sources.
     
  • Levels of Evidence FAME
  • The Joanna Briggs Institute, its Collaborating Centres, and Evidence Translation Groups currently assign a level of evidence to all conclusions drawn in JBI Systematic Reviews.
     
  • NHMRC Levels of Evidence
  • This table outlines the designations used by the Australian National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC)
Loading

5. Write your Paper

Use the marking criteria (rubric) and your knowledge of the assessment to plan the structure and content of your assignments.

For assignment 2, also refer to the Example Case Study for guidance and view the guide to writing Case Studies, as written by UniSA Leaning Advisors

More writing tips are available here: Study help: Online resources hub

6. Cite and Reference

You MUST acknowledge ("cite") each time you use someone else’s ideas in your paper, including when paraphrasing, summarising, quoting or reproducing a diagram, graph or table etc.
 

 Each reference must appear in two places:
 1. shown in the text of your assignment each time it is used (the in-text reference)
 2. listed in entirety once in the reference list at the end of the assignment. 
 

Use the Harvard UniSA referencing system as explained in the UniSA resources. See:

Your task: make sure that your references are formatted correctly