Nutrition and Food Science: UO Foundations of Nutrition and Health (BIOL 1054)

UO Foundations of Nutrition and Health

This page will get you started finding information for your Assessment 1: Report

Always read all the information related to your assessments to understand exactly what you need to do. Make sure you check your:

  • Course website and outline
  • Assessment 1 Report Rubric

Cress [Image sourced from Pixabay, https://pixabay.com/en/bloom-catering-colorful-cooking-1239031/, copied under CC0 1.0, https://creativecommons.org/publicdomain/zero/1.0/deed.en]

Plan before you search

Sushi [Image source, adapted from: Sushi, https://pixabay.com/en/asian-black-chinese-cucumber-diet-1239271/, copied under CC0 1.0, https://creativecommons.org/publicdomain/zero/1.0/] Define any terms in your assessment you are not familiar with.

Sushi [Image source, adapted from: Sushi, https://pixabay.com/en/asian-black-chinese-cucumber-diet-1239271/, copied under CC0 1.0, https://creativecommons.org/publicdomain/zero/1.0/] Find out more about what types of chronic diseases Australian adults are at risk of. Scholarly books or authoritative websites can be good for getting overviews.

Sushi [Image source, adapted from: Sushi, https://pixabay.com/en/asian-black-chinese-cucumber-diet-1239271/, copied under CC0 1.0, https://creativecommons.org/publicdomain/zero/1.0/]

Plan how you are going to approach searching for information. Planning will give you the best chance to get the most relevant results. You might want to:

  • brainstorm,
  • map out (mind map),
  • or table

possible search terms to use in any searches.

Before you search take a few minutes to read the report's aims and description and then start to map out, table or brainstorm possible keywords you could search with.

 

Mind map chronic disease [Created using word, UniSA]

 

Tick [Image source: Pixabay, https://pixabay.com/en/download-successful-tick-expert-1013981/, copied under CC0 1.0, https://creativecommons.org/publicdomain/zero/1.0/deed.en]Tip - Think about how a particular concept may be expressed in the literature. This is important as sometimes not everyone refers to a particular concept in the same way.

 

Need more help with mind mapping? See:

Some mind mapping tools:

Tick [Image source: Pixabay, https://pixabay.com/en/download-successful-tick-expert-1013981/, copied under CC0 1.0, https://creativecommons.org/publicdomain/zero/1.0/deed.en]You might find it easier to start a table for each concept and add other possible keywords as you discover them.

 

chronic disease dietary habits Australia

chronic conditions

chronic illness

diabetes

diabetic

heart disease

cardiovascular disease

CVD

obese

obesity

BMI 30+

body mass index 30+

....[other chronic diseases]...

diet

diets

dietary

nutrition

nutritional

eat

eating

food

fruit

vegetables

junk food

Australian

Read the report's aims and description and then follow these steps:

  1. Define any terms you are unsure of. Use an introductory book, dictionary, encyclopedia, handbook or website.
     
  2. Identify main concepts in your question / assignment. These will form the foundation of your search.
    • Concept 1: chronic disease
    • Concept 2: healthy eating 
    • Concept 3: Australia
       
  3. Identify any synonyms or similar keywords for each main concept.
    • Concept 1: chronic illness, chronic conditions (or you may search for particular diseases such as diabetes)
    • Concept 2: eating, nutrition, diet, dietary, food, fruit, vegetables, junk food
    • Concept 3: Australian
       
  4. Consider any:
    • word plurals (diet or diets)
    • different word forms (obese or obesity / diabetic or diabetes),
    • different word spellings (colour or colour / celiac or coeliac),
    • common acronyms (BMI or Body Mass Index / CVA or cardiovascular diesease)

More help:

Loading

Search

Plate of Food [ Image source, adapted from: https://pixabay.com/en/eat-carrots-peas-healthy-of-course-547511/, copied under CC0 1.0, https://creativecommons.org/publicdomain/zero/1.0/]Try using a Library database
Databases are search tools that help you find articles, papers, book chapters and reports. The Library subscribes to a range of databases in different discipline areas.

The following two databases are good places to start your search:

Tick [Image source: Pixabay, https://pixabay.com/en/download-successful-tick-expert-1013981/, copied under CC0 1.0, https://creativecommons.org/publicdomain/zero/1.0/deed.en]Tip - More databases are available under Find the evidence on this guide. Try others if you are having trouble finding relevant information.

Here is a brief overview which will help you understand some of the different types of articles available:

Popular  (magazine) articles They tend to be written by journalists or professional writers and discuss topics of interest for a general audience. They are shorter and rarely give citations or references. Are not considered scholarly.
Trade articles Come from a trade magazine or professional association publication. Articles target people within that particular profession and tend to keep them up-to-date with particular developments in the field. Are not considered scholarly.
Research articles Contain original (empirical) research therefore they are considered primary sources of information. Are considered scholarly and will most likely be peer reviewed.
Review articles Contain a critical evaluation or appraisal of studies within a particular field or on a particular topic therefore they are considered secondary sources of information. Review articles can include narrative literature reviews, scoping reviews, systematic review or meta-analysis. Are considered scholarly and will most likely be peer reviewed.

Tick [Image source: Pixabay, https://pixabay.com/en/download-successful-tick-expert-1013981/, copied under CC0 1.0, https://creativecommons.org/publicdomain/zero/1.0/deed.en]Tips to identify a research article:
 

  • Look for terms such as empirical research or original research in the article
  • What is the research methodology used? - e.g. randomised controlled trial, case-controlled study, cohort study, quantitative, qualitative, mixed methods etc.

To find out more about what a systematic review and meta-analysis is see:

Loading

Putting your search together

Kiwi Fruit [Image source: Pixabay, https://pixabay.com/en/kiwi-fruit-vitamins-healthy-eating-428080/, copied under CC0 1.0, https://creativecommons.org/publicdomain/zero/1.0/]Use the advanced search option. Start  by putting each different concept on a new line. Notice your different concepts are connected with AND.

Academic Search Premier search [Image source: Academic Search Premier]
 

Kiwi Fruit [Image source: Pixabay, https://pixabay.com/en/kiwi-fruit-vitamins-healthy-eating-428080/, copied under CC0 1.0, https://creativecommons.org/publicdomain/zero/1.0/]Try broadening your search by adding some synonyms or similar concepts to each line. Connect these with OR.

Academic Search Premier search [Image source: Academic Search Premier]
 

Kiwi Fruit [Image source: Pixabay, https://pixabay.com/en/kiwi-fruit-vitamins-healthy-eating-428080/, copied under CC0 1.0, https://creativecommons.org/publicdomain/zero/1.0/]If you need to look for a particular age group, gender (male or men / female or women) or geographic location (Australia) consider adding this to your search.

Academic Search Premier [Image source: Academic Search Premier]
 

Kiwi Fruit [Image source: Pixabay, https://pixabay.com/en/kiwi-fruit-vitamins-healthy-eating-428080/, copied under CC0 1.0, https://creativecommons.org/publicdomain/zero/1.0/]Alternatively explore what limits are available to you. For example Academic Search Premier will let you narrow your search by Geography (left menu).

Geography search limit [Image source: Academic Search Premier]

 

Need more help putting your searching together? See:

CAB Abstracts is available on the database platform EbscoHost which is the same platform that Academic Search Premier is available on.

You can search this database in the same way as you would search Academic Search Premier.

  • put each different concept on a new line and connect with AND
  • use OR to connect your synonyms or similar terms

CAB Abstracts [Image source: CAB abstracts]
 

Tick [Image source: Pixabay, https://pixabay.com/en/download-successful-tick-expert-1013981/, copied under CC0 1.0, https://creativecommons.org/publicdomain/zero/1.0/deed.en]Remember you can search for a particular population group such as women and a geographic location such as Australia.

Find it [Image source: Find it, UniSA]

If the database you are searching does not have the full text article available select the Find it icon if available. Find it is a software program which searches for the full text across the Library's collection.

Still haven't found the full text? Copy and paste the article title into the Library Catalogue or Google Scholar.

For more help see:

Loading

Is my information academic and credible?

Checklist [Image source: Pixabay, https://pixabay.com/en/yes-no-maybe-checklist-opportunity-1015483/, copied under CC0 1.0 Public domain dedication, https://creativecommons.org/publicdomain/zero/1.0/deed.en]Your report assessment instructions asks you to "use credible academic and other sources (e.g. government websites) which will give you correct and up-to-date information".

What is a credible academic source? An academic source is also sometimes referred to as an scholarly source or peer reviewed (refereed) article.

To find out how to make sure information is scholarly or peer reviewed see:

More help

Tick [Image source: Pixabay, https://pixabay.com/en/download-successful-tick-expert-1013981/, copied under CC0 1.0, https://creativecommons.org/publicdomain/zero/1.0/deed.en]Tip - Remember searching the literature takes time and effort. Also searching is an iterative (repetitive) process. You may need to try different searches and constantly change your search to find what you need.

For further help see: