Performing Arts: Home

Performing Arts [Chris Smith, 'Rialto Theater', Image source: flickr https://www.flickr.com/photos/cjsmithphotography/15339256394/, licence CC BY-NC-SA 2.0 https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/2.0/]

University of South Australia 2017 Library Client Survey

2017 University of South Australia Library Client Survey

Performing Arts resources in Lynda.com

Pixabay, 'Concert Performance', CC Licence: CC0 Public Domain, (https://pixabay.com/en/service/terms/#usage), Image Source: https://pixabay.com/en/concert-performance-audience-336695/

Image source: UniSA Library

Training videos to develop digital, technology, creative and business skills.

Spotlight on - Ask the library

Your Library is available on demand, regardless of location and device

Need help? Contact the Library via phone, email, chat or the UniSA app. You may find us popping up around campus or come into one of our libraries and use the Ask Library / IT service points.

Ask the Library

After hours learning support

Access through your course Learnonline site. Chat live - 3pm-midnight.
Or submit online to get feedback.

Essentials

The Library Catalogue is a good place to start. Use this search box to find materials within the library catalogue.

Top tips for the supersearcher


Reflect and planMap [tzunghaor, 'treasure map', CC License: CC0 1.0 http://creativecommons.org/publicdomain/zero/1.0/, Image Source: Open Clip Art Library http://www.openclipart.org/detail/120607/treasure-map-by-tzunghao]"

Planning your search can save time by helping you to find appropriate, relevant material more quickly.

  • What do you already know about your topic? What do you need to explore further
  • Do you need a particular type of information? For example: first-person account or historical overview, policy documents or peer-reviewed articles on the most current research, an early theorist's original writings...? 
  • Define key terms using a subject-specific reference such as a dictionary
  • What relevant theories apply to your topic?
  • A general overview of the topic or an aspect of the topic can be a good starting point - use your readings and reference/introductory books
  • Have tutors, lecturers or other students recommended author names/publication titles?
  • If you need up-to-date facts and figures, try a reliable website
  • Which parts of your argument need references as supporting evidence?

The search terms you use can make a big difference to what you find

  • What are the key concepts/ideas in your topic? The key concepts will help you to decide which 'keywords' to use when searching
  • What alternative terms and synonyms might help to find relevant material? Consider:
    • alternative spellings
    • professional and discipline-specific vocabulary
    • how different people might refer to the same idea (e.g. representation OR portrayal OR depiction)
    • changes in language over time

Defining key terms and reading brief overviews of key aspects (e.g. theories) with which you are unfamiliar will help you to locate appropriate resources and put together your response to an assessment.

The Library has many reference and introductory works. The following are examples.

The collection includes works published in many countries (especially the US, UK and Australia), and in various centuries/decades. They may also differ in policy, legislation, culture and other factors. Make sure that the work you are using is appropriate.

Find the 'right' information


Do you need scholarly information? Is what you have located relevant and reliable? Are you uncertain whether to use the information you have found?

These guides will help in locating scholarly information and evaluating what you find.

Save and organise your references


Save time by capturing the details of your references.

This will help you to:

  • find resources again
  • put together your bibliographies with the required details
  • create a personal 'library' of references to use throughout your studies and professional practice

Most search tools - including the Library Catalogue, Google Scholar, and databases such as Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts allow you to easily save the details of references of interest. No need to write these down or copy and paste - create your own 'library' of references with a few clicks!Watch the Library video 'Manage your references: tools to help you' [Image source: UniSA Library]

There are tools that will help you do this. Use EndNote or RefWorks to organise your references and create bibliographies.

Before using these tools, you will need to learn the basics of the referencing style (e.g. Harvard UniSA, APA) that you have been asked to use.

Need advice on writing or presenting? Not sure how to organise your ideas? L3: Language, Literacies and Learning can help!

L3 student resources hub [Image source: UniSA]

  • Assignments - how to approach different types of assignments e.g. essays, reports, case studies, literature reviews
  • Discipline-specific resources - Language and Learning Resources for the Division of Education, Arts and Social Sciences
  • Workshops and drop-ins - e.g. workshop 'Developing your Academic Vocabulary'
  • Referencing forum - a place for all UniSA students to discuss referencing and share questions and answers (facilitated by Language & Learning Team)

The Library collection also includes many resources on academic writing and study skills - example search

Loading

Have you seen these related guides?

Ask the Library

Loading chat availability

Australian Council for the Arts