Electronic resource trials: Expired trials

Core Collections

Build a library with Core Collections

These guides help librarians build and maintain well-rounded collections of the most highly recommended reference, nonfiction and fiction books. With documented selection criteria and four levels of recommendation, the Core Collections products help librarians do their jobs better, faster and with more confidence.

The Core Collections include:

  • Fiction
  • Nonfiction
  • Graphic Novels
  • Nonbook Materials
  • Children's
  • Middle & Junior High
  • Senior High

Available until 10 March 2017

ClinicalKey Nursing

Drive better decisions with quick search access to trusted clinical content

  • Fast
    ClinicalKey for Nursing's Smart Search gets to work as soon as you start typing, helping you quickly find the answers you need throughout the nursing process, from assessment through evaluation.
  • Complete
    Content is indexed daily, so ClinicalKey for Nursing always offers the most complete and current collection of trusted nursing answers, evidence and multimedia.
  • Convenient
    With access from any mobile device, you can find relevant content to support better decisions at the point of care and on the go.
  • Trusted
    Now you can join the nurses and nurse educators around the world who trust Elsevier for current, relevant content to improve patient outcomes.

Available until 31 October 2016

Ceramic Review

Ceramic Review is the magazine for contemporary ceramic art and craft, and is read worldwide. Combining both practical and theoretical features, while presenting the latest news and views on ceramics internationally, it is an invaluable resource for ceramic artists, potters, collectors, curators, students, and anyone with a passion for and interest in ceramics.

Available until 11 October 2016

Passport Ethical Labels

Ethical Labels

Passport Ethical Labels is a new database created in response to the growing movement towards social responsibility and sustainability. It is designed to quantify the sales of products with ethical labels around three areas:

  • Environment/Sustainability: includes sustainable trade and farming initiatives, responsible forestry initiatives, sustainable palm oil certifications, recycling labels and carbon footprint labels.
  • People: includes the clean label category, origin labels, religious labels, as well as long term charity/sponsorship commitments present on the packaging.
  • Animal Welfare: includes free range, marine sustainability, bird/insect friendly and vegetarian/vegan friendly labels.

Available until 16 October 2016

AdisInsight

Find the latest drug treatments withAdisInsight

AdisInsight is a database containing more than 200,000 records of drug treatments being developed worldwide, including how well they work, how safe they are, who is working on them, and how soon they will be available. It is based on trusted data and is compiled and written by scientists.

AdisInsight includes powerful search tools which allow you to filter findings to deliver highly focused results, making it simple and easy to use.

Available until 30 June 2016

JoVE Science Education in Chemistry

Make chemistry experiments easy with JoVE

JoVE Science Education is a revolutionary video database dedicated to teaching laboratory fundamentals through simple, easy to understand video demonstrations. It now includes 45 video tutorials that demonstrate basic laboratory experiments and concepts in General, Organic, and Analytical Chemistry.

Academics and students can:

  • Watch and re-watch videos before and after class
  • Teach and learn the setup of experiments and equipment
  • Be fully prepared with a clear understanding of the experiment and concept
  • Save time on repeat demonstrations

Available until 31 May 2016

Australasian Literature Online

Explore our regional voices with

Australasian Literature Online optimizes the study of the region's literature by uniting nearly a century of quintessential literary works into one expansive online resource. With a strong focus on Indigenous Australians, Maori, Pacific Islanders, and female voices, the collection delivers the poetry and fiction that capture the vibrancy of life in Australia, New Zealand, and the Pacific Islands. It contains hundreds of the most influential literary works from across the region, penned from the 1930s to the present day.

Functionality makes it easy for students and scholars to locate the most relevant materials. With unprecedented ease and clarity, users can contrast texts, discover rare works, and explore new avenues of inquiry. No other resource makes it so easy for researchers to examine how Samoan writings on independence have evolved across the decades, isolate all descriptions of food that appear in Australian fictional works, or delve into historical descriptions of indentured labor practices in Fiji.

The interface provides dozens of additional features, including:

  • Semantic facet browsing: Zoom in on exactly the content you’re after, or discover new authors and writings while you search.
  • Shareable playlists: Add all of your favorite literary works and passages into an online playlist, then easily share the link, or slide it seamlessly into any syllabus or learning management system.
  • Easy citation export: Export, download, and email full, accurate citations in a range of formats.
  • Anywhere, anytime access: Explore content from your classroom, library, home computer, or mobile device.

Available until 15 October 2015

SAGE Video

Boost your classes withSAGE Video

SAGE Video combines originally commissioned and produced material with licensed videos and co-productions to provide a complete disciplinary resource for students, teachers, and researchers.

Videos available in these disciplines:

Media and Communication | Counselling and Psychotherapy | Education

SAGE provides a breadth of video types and lengths to support students of all levels:

  • Documentaries
  • Films
  • Case studies
  • Tutorials illustrating practical applications of methods
  • Lectures for course instruction, revision or a different viewpoint on a topic
  • Interviews with leading experts on key topics
  • Practitioner demonstrations of theories and techniques
  • Short definitions of key terms and concepts
  • Conference presentations

All videos can be easily embedded into Learnonline.

Available until 30 September 2015

AccessScience

AccessScience is an authoritative and dynamic online resource, containing incisively written, high-quality reference material that covers all major scientific disciplines. It offers links to primary research material, videos and exclusive animations, plus specially designed curriculum maps for teachers.

  • More than 8500 articles and Research Reviews covering all major scientific disciplines and encompassing the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology and the McGraw-Hill Yearbook of Science and Technology
  • 115,000-plus definitions from the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms
  • 3000 biographies of well-known scientific figures
  • 17,000-plus downloadable images and animations illustrating key topics
  • Engaging videos highlighting the life and work of award-winning scientists
  • Suggestions for further study and additional readings guide users to deeper understanding and research
  • Links to citable literature through DOIs help users continue their research using primary sources of information
  • Interactive citation generator saves time and effort when preparing papers
  • Curriculum maps tied to core content save time for educators

Available until 6 September 2015

Binumi Multimedia Library

Teach creatively! Make multimedia presentations usingBinumi

Binumi contains over 2 million multimedia elements with thousands more being added each month. Discover quality footage, music and images clip by clip, or choose from over 3000 curated education collections. Make your video with easy-to-use creation tools or download any multimedia clip to use on your existing editing software.

  • Content available in a variety of resolutions including Full HD (when available)
  • Industry standard file formats: MP4 (H.264), MP3, and JPEG
  • Supports multiple platforms and browsers: PC/Mac/Android/iOS, Chrome/Firefox/Safari
  • Rich metadata vocabulary for video specific searches
  • Over 8,000 audio tracks, 500,000 video clips, and 1,500,000 still images

All content on the platform is royalty free, so you can use them in your own projects. Personalise an existing storyboard or create a new one.

Binumi does not support Internet Explorer.

Access instructions: Use the Access Binumi link below, and copy the complimentary voucher code that you will see in the top right of the interface. Then use the Sign up to Binumi link, and paste the voucher code into the sign up form. Your account will then have access to storage, video creation and sharing tools.

Available until 31 August 2015

SAGE Research Methods Datasets

Master data analysis with

SAGE Research Methods Datasets can be used to support teaching and independent learning of quantitative and qualitative analytical methods used in the social sciences. These are datasets taken from real research projects, but edited and cleaned for teaching purposes. Each dataset is accompanied by a short, clear narrative description of the data and easy-to-follow instructions on how to apply the research method.

Available until 31 October 2016

Blueprint

Blueprint Magazine has now been bringing its readers an essential mix of critical, incisive, and entertaining architecture, design and art coverage for 30 years. Access complete issues online through this trial.

Available until 11 October 2016

APA Style CENTRAL

Write professionally

Consult the ultimate official resource for APA Style.

  • Learn
    Learn to write with grace and precision. Consult quick guides, tutorials, self-quizzes, sample papers, sample references, sample tables, and sample figures to master the art of scholarly writing.
  • Research
    Learn about research by viewing tutorials, dictionaries, and reference books. Discover research planning and tracking tools. Manage your reference library by searching for or creating APA Style references.
  • Write
    Select one of our paper templates to begin writing. Use integrated research tools to plan your work. Enjoy the ease of comprehensive paper formatting and checking for common APA Style errors.
  • Publish
    Get insider tips on publishing. Browse and search thousands of journals to identify potential publication outlets for your finished work. View tutorials to learn more about the publication process.

Available until 24 September 2016

CCH eBooks

Get the latest financial knowledge withWolters Kluwer CCH eBooks

You can now borrow the most trusted guides to Australian finance from the comfort of your own home. Get access to these five major titles:

  • Australian Master Tax Guide 2016
  • Australian Income Tax Legislation 2016
  • Australian Master Financial Planning Guide 2015/16
  • Australian Master Superannuation Guide 2015/16
  • Australian Corporations & Securities Legislation 2016

Borrow these ebooks for two weeks, read them online, or download them to your own computer, tablet or smartphone with convenient apps.

Available until 7 September 2016

MethodsNow

MethodsNowTM features step-by-step instructions for analytical and synthetic methods in areas like pharmacology, HPLC, food analysis, natural product isolation analysis and water analysis.

  • Saves time with easy access to method details from millions of disclosed procedures
  • Lets you quickly compare analytical methods side-by-side
  • Displays experimental details in easy-to-read table format
  • Includes materials, instrumentation, conditions and more
  • Covers synthetic preparations from top journals and patents

Available until 23 August 2016

Routledge Encyclopedia of Modernism

Routledge Encyclopedia of Modernism

The Routledge Encyclopedia of Modernism is the largest and most comprehensive resource available for all those involved in the study of modernism.

  • Over 1,000 articles from experts in the field, supported by over 100 images
  • Explore movements, places or time periods and the links between the disciplines
  • Regular updates ensure that the encyclopedia will remain a current and comprehensive resource
  • Intuitive functionality enables users to easily share their discoveries by social media and email

Available until 20 July 2016

CNKI Journal Translation Project

Access the latest Chinese research

The Journal Translation Project plans to translate into English selected articles from over 100 top Chinese academic journals allowing scholars access to the latest research outcomes from China.

Articles in the database show the English text alongside the Chinese original, allowing for comparative study. The selected journals cover a wide range of discliplines in science, engineering, humanities, economics, management, education and medicine.

Available until 30 June 2016

The Philosopher's Index

The Philosopher's Index

International in scope, The Philosopher's Index provides full text from philosophy's most esteemed journals. Covering all major fields of philosophy and including full-text journals from more than 30 countries, it is an invaluable resource for philosophy students and researchers around the world.

The majority of the full-text journals and magazines included in The Philosopher's Index are available with no embargo, and nearly all of the journals are peer-reviewed. Unique to the database, the complete backfile of The Journal of Philosophy from 1904 to present is included with no embargo. In addition, the database also includes hundreds of thousands of indexed records.

Available until 18 May 2016

Radiological Cross-Sectional Anatomy

Radiological Cross-Sectional Anatomy: Thorax, Abdomen, and Pelvis is an exciting new resource for anyone using cross-sectional anatomy or involved in the interpretation of radiological scans.

Thousands of clear and accurate images, in an intuitive digital format, provide you with an invaluable aid to cross-sectional anatomy, MDCT, and MRI interpretation, together with a stunning 3D anatomy image library.

Choose from 65 3D views of clear, accurate, and interactive anatomy models of the thorax, abdomen, and pelvis.

The Radiology section allows you to select a region, modality, plane, and contrast, and correlate high quality scans with labeled 3D cross-sections. Label any structure on either the 3D cross-sections or the scans and follow through all the available slices using a scrolling functionality.

Available until 7 October 2015

AccessEngineering

Get core engineering information with

AccessEngineering is an award-winning engineering reference tool for professionals, academics, and students that provides seamless access to the world's best-known, most-used collection of authoritative, regularly updated engineering reference information.

  • Fast, faceted search ensures easy discoverability of information
  • 690+ instructional videos, created by top engineering faculty, demonstrate step-by-step solutions to real-world engineering problems
  • Ready-to-use curriculum maps tie the most relevant content from our classic references to core engineering courses
  • Excel spreadsheet calculator tools save time by streamlining commonly used calculations
  • Business suite of references and videos help build management, presentation and process skills
  • Personalization tools allow for the organization, highlighting and annotation of critical information
  • 3900+ interactive graphs as well as thousands of downloadable tables make it easier to use and analyze key data
  • A global engineering news feed delivers cutting-edge news across all major disciplines

Available until 29 September 2015

Future Journals

Future Science publishes over 40 journal titles, delivering high-quality commentary and analysis in the key research areas of medicine, pharmacology and healthcare.

During this trial, all current and historical content of Future Science and Future Medicine journals is accessible through the links below, as well as through the Library Catalogue.

Available until 1 September 2015

PrivCo

PrivCoPrivCo (Private Company Financial Intelligence)

Available until 11 March 2015

PrivCo is the premier source for business and financial data on major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies. 

PrivCo Database covers over 700,000 privately held companies all over the world, with investor profiles and both private M&A deals and VC fundings added in real time. Reports are all downloadable and exportable to PDF or Excel, making it very convenient to distribute and present.