Electronic resource trials: Successful trials

Thanks for your feedback on these trials! Due to the positive response, these resources have now been purchased by the Library.

Film Platform

See the finest documentaries on Film Platform

Film Platform is an innovative collaboration of leading filmmakers and agents around the world to bring the finest documentary films to an academic audience. Through these films people and ideas from the most far-flung, inaccessible corners of the world can be brought straight into the classroom to challenge and engage students.

Over 200 films are available for on-demand streaming through this platform. Each film can be linked to from course pages or reading lists for easy access.

Trial conducted April 2016

Story Box Library

Story Box LibraryStories read by storytellers

We'd like you to think of Story Box Library as an online ‘reading room’. It’s a place where the wonderful world of Australian Children’s Literature is on permanent exhibit and children can connect, engage and be inspired by a range of quality Australian stories read on film by some wonderfully engaging storytellers. 

Story Box Library provides a vibrant, interactive experience via a diverse range of everyday Australian storytellers - sportspeople, musicians, grandparents, teenagers, comedians, actors, with varying accents and from different cultures - each sharing past and present book titles. The result is meaningful, entertaining readings that focus on both teller and tale.

Trial conducted August 2016

PsychiatryOnline

PsychiatryOnline gives you access to a rich, well-rounded psychiatry and psychology collection. This comprehensive collection covers diagnosis and differential diagnosis, case vignettes to bring abstract concepts to life, multidisciplinary treatment guidelines, and the latest research — all within a single search and navigation interface that integrates journals and books.

A highlight of the collection is DSM-5 — the fifth edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders published by the American Psychiatric Association.

PsychiatryOnline also includes 16 textbooks, 6 study guides and 4 journals, making it an invaluable resource for any study or research in psychiatry.

Trial conducted September 2016

UpToDate

 The world's most widely used clinical decision support tool

UpToDate® is an evidence-based clinical decision support resource. More than 6,000 authors, editors, and peer reviewers use a rigorous editorial process to synthesize the most recent medical information into trusted recommendations that are proven to improve patient care and quality.

  • More comprehensive than any other individual resource, UpToDate contains the equivalent of over 77,000 pages of original, peer-reviewed text.
  • Its unique format and search capability allow you to access answers to clinical questions quickly and easily. You get the answer you need when you need it.
  • It is written, reviewed and continuously updated to ensure that the content remains current.
  • The expert faculty synthesizes all relevant information, including the latest evidence, and provides specific, practical recommendations for diagnosis and treatment.
  • It combines broad coverage of adult primary care, subspecialty internal medicine, obstretrics/gynaecology, general surgery and paediatrics.

Trial conducted September 2016

Access high-quality instructional videos on the latest software tools and skills

With more than 4,000+ courses taught by industry experts—and more added every week—lynda.com is designed for all levels of learners and is available whenever you’re ready to learn.

Courses cover skills from business, design, computing, photography, video, animation and more. Improve your teaching resources or coursework with guides to educational design.

Trial conducted August-September 2016

HSTalks Business & Management

HSTalks Business & Management

HSTalks provides video lectures and case studies delivered by leading experts from industry, commerce, the professions and academia. Watch them wherever, whenever and as often as you like.

UniSA staff, students and alumni can access the Business & Management collection, containing over 900 videos. Topics include:

  • Finance, Accounting, & Economics

  • Global Business Management

  • Management, Leadership, & Organization

  • Marketing & Sales

  • Strategy

  • Technology & Operations (including Information Management)

Trial conducted April-July 2016

The Social Work Toolkit

The Social Work Toolkit will help students acquire the knowledge, core skills and confidence they need to succeed on their social work course and throughout their placements.

Content is divided into five themes, linked to the modules on a typical social work course:

  • Communication Skills
  • Professionalism in Practice
  • Ethics, Values and Diversity
  • Assessment and Intervention
  • Lifecourse Perspectives

Resources within each theme include:

  • Expert opinions: commissioned from academics, social work professionals and service users, these pieces aim to expand knowledge and provide deeper insight into the subject
  • Quick guides: tools, frameworks and summary sheets on a wide range of topics for easy reference
  • Preparation for practice: including student and service user videos, these resources offer invaluable practice tips and professional guidance
  • Case studies: scenarios from a range of perspectives provide thought-provoking discussion points
  • Book chapters: selected chapters from our highly regarded list of published social work textbooks offer more depth on key issues and areas of discussion

The resources are presented in a variety of media, including audio, video and PDF downloads, to appeal to a wide range of learning styles. Learning objectives, reflective questions, links to policy and law and further resource suggestions all help students to critically engage with the subject, and build on their knowledge.

Trial conducted August-September 2016

DETAIL inspiration

Living architecture in 

DETAIL inspiration, the database for architects, is a new image and reference database with more than 3000 projects from the last 50 years of DETAIL.

The integrated search function, with numerous filters, allows you to find precisely the right information. Each project described in the database is accompanied by DETAIL project documents, which can be downloaded as PDFs.

Thanks to its large collection of images and project information on all important architectural topics, DETAIL inspiration is ideal for both research and inspiration.

Trial conducted September-October 2015