Knowing where to search is just as important as knowing how to search. The following video will help you to understand why and when to use different search tools.
Video Length: 2 minutes 14 seconds
The Library Collection is a great place to start finding information.
Too many search results? Use the Refine my Results menu (on the left hand side) to refine your search.
Want to know more?
The Library Collection does not list everything we have access to. Try a database when you are not finding relevant results in the Catalogue, or in order to restrict your results to a specific discipline, topic area or material type.
Here is an example within Informit Indigenous Collection. The Informit Indigenous Collection brings together a broad range of international Indigenous research resources and offers a variety of content on both historical and topical issues within Indigenous studies.
Example Advanced Search
More Aboriginal, Torres Strait Islander and Indigenous Studies databases
Want to Know More?
You can access a wide range of video content through a number of key video databases, including:
OR When searching the library collection, use the Refine my Results menu to refine the Resource Type to Audio Visual
Explore the links below to find items in the Library collection by these Indigenous Filmmakers:
The Library's News Media Guide provides help searching and evaluating a wide range of Australian and International news media including newspapers, television, radio and media releases. Start your search with:
A huge range of statistical resources can be found via the Library collection and databases.
OR when searching databases or the collection for statistics, simply add the word 'statistics' into your search.
Primary sources and information on Aboriginal, Torres Strait Islander and Indigenous studies can often be found in special and archival collections. To find out more, visit the following links:
Please note: When searching special and archival collections, you may come across words and descriptions in resources that are culturally insensitive and not used in today's context.
Conference papers or proceedings are the written version of presentations given at conferences or meetings or professional or scholarly bodies and organisations. Conference papers can be a great way to find up to date information, research trends and innovations on a specific topic because researchers often present their findings first at conferences.
To search for conference papers:
While you are finding references, you need to think about whether they are appropriate to use in your assignment. You may be asked to use Scholarly or Peer Reviewed material to support your arguments.
You should evaluate all resources before including them in your assignment - even if you found them through the Library Collection or Databases.